The Heroine’s Journey of Agi Horvath

What is the best thing that I love about my work?

I love that I can think about problems that everyday life or another kind of work would not let me to. It helps me to understand who I am and what I think about certain issues, so the whole process gives me more confidence. On the other hand, I can create things that would not exist if I did not make them.

What is my idea of perfect happiness?

I was thinking a lot about this lately… In my opinion, the perfect physical and mental health is the highest level of freedom that anybody can reach, and that freedom is happiness. Until I can consider myself healthy, I am faultlessly happy.

What is my greatest fear?

My greatest fear is that I am going to exist somehow after I die. This is because I hope that death is the absolute end, and this is the last thought I hold on to when I want to calm down because I find it difficult to manage my smaller fears.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself?

Certain types of weaknesses I have. For example, I can hardly manage my time.

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire?

So many… It is hard to highlight a few but let’s try: László Fehér, Anish Kapoor, Richard Serra.

What is my greatest extravagance?

I don’t know if I have at all… But people say about me that I’m not a quitter, neither in sport nor in eating

On what occasion would I lie?

I am sure that everybody lies much more times than they would confess, or even know about it. When I have to lie, it’s for keeping somebody’s secret or protecting my loved ones.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work?

I love my work, but of course, there are difficulties in every kind of profession. In art and design, what I dislike the most is that it is accidental most of the time. As the work itself, also opportunities are. You cannot have an instant confirmation whether your work is good or not.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work?

Previously at the exhibitions during my university years. After that, at the defense of my Master thesis. Since then I am constantly happy in my work, because my mind is always busy with ideas, problems and solutions, visual things that are good to think of.

If I could, what would I change about myself?

I would like to be much more conscious. It would result in better management of time and more effective concentration.

What is my greatest achievement in work?

I always consider the last one the greatest.

Where would I most like to live?

In a place where it is always hot, with sandy beaches and nice people… I don’t know yet which city it could be.

What is my most treasured possession?

My health and my studio.

What is my most marked characteristic?

I may not be the right person to answer. They say that I am of an inquiring nature and accurate.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city?

To me, being next to a river or lake is the best, especially, if the weather is hot. Considering that I live in Budapest, anywhere along the riverside of the Danube, or next to a smaller lake is the perfect location for being inspired.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city?

There is a strange place near the Petőfi Bridge, on the Buda side, that is famous for its Vietnamese food. It gives the best pho I’ve ever tried. I also like Wok’n’go chain, their profile is Thai fast food.

What books influenced my life and how?

I have to confess I dislike few things more than reading. So I haven’t read many books… But there were some of them that made exception to this rule and made reading a pleasure for me. These books had a really great influence on me. One of them is A Hundred Years of Solitude. It broadened my horizon, and gave me a confirmation that by mixing imagination with reality we can achieve a greater freedom of mind and soul.

Who are my favorite writers?

As mentioned before I don’t have many favourite writers but rather poets. So let me say some of them too. My favourite writers are Gabriel García Márquez, Milan Kundera, Ingvar Ambjørnsen. Favourite poets are János Pilinszky and Attila József.

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day?

The greatest of all, Michael Jackson. I love not only his music, but also the atmosphere he could create. He had a unique personality. I love to think of his moves, his character on stage. But one day is long enough in order to listen to some of Bobby McFerrin, FKA twigs and some selection of hip-hop, rap, reggae, trap, classics and electro.

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life?

I have so many… I admire people easily. I have enormous appreciation for anyone who does their work with love and professionality, or have a skill I will never achieve. Like acrobats, singers, actors…

Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime?

A lot! But just to mention a few of my favorites: Billy Elliot, Léon: The Professional, Terminator series, Dogville, Salon Kitty, Jagten/The Hunt, Kill Bill series, Reservoir Dogs, One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest (1975), Fanny and Alexander, Volver, Some Like It Hot (1959), 12 Angry Men (1957), Postřižiny (1980), and so many others.

What role plays art in my life and work?

Since a very young age I knew I wanted to become an artist. From the beginning it was a natural part of my life, then it became my ’work’, too. On one hand, I do not consider it a thing beyond my control. It is rather a way of thinking, a way of living. On the other hand, it is a profession that requires expertise, effort, sometimes even body strength. It is a complex question.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime?

I don’t know any fans of mine yet . My greatest help is my fiancé. He understands all my aims and fears, and helps to get the problems solved. I have a very good relationship with my sisters too, we can discuss everything. And I have a great friend since I was seven, who is always there when I need her.

Whom would I like to work with in 2017?

My fiancé and I often discuss we should work together not only in the field of applied arts as we often do, but also in the field of fine arts. Hope to realize it this year!

Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017?

I admire many people in my profession. It would be a pleasure to get to know László Fehér, especially considering that we live close to each other.

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on?

I am just starting to work on how I could imitate the atmosphere of photograms by using layers of pigment. I have many ideas on the themes and can’t wait to be in the process!

Where can you see me or my work in 2017?

Me and my works can be seen at my studio in Budapest. My professional online presence is in process.

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me?

It means we should not care how old we are, because until we have passion, we have a valuable life.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story?

Two Hungarian painters of my age: Lilla Benkő and Éva Szakál. I appreciate their work so much.

How can you contact me?

Currently through my personal Facebook profile: https://www.facebook.com/agi.horvath.796

Leave a Reply

