The Heroine’s Journey of Carmen Joie Chen

What is the best thing that I love about my work?

I love how I can work in two different worlds that allow me to help others. Whether that be through solving their problems from a set of rules in an office setting. Or physically creating and inspiring others through a screen. I’m not the kind of person to stay in one place or be predictable and my work reflects that.

What is my idea of perfect happiness?

My idea of perfect happiness is not to achieve perfection at all. Money isn’t everything to me. It is to live in the moment with the people I love without any regrets. Somewhere near the beach, the sand stuck under my fingernails and between my feet. Where I can always escape to nature from the daily stresses.

What is my greatest fear?

Being stuck in one place, knowing I hate it and not moving on. I’ve made a lot of mistakes in my life and have gone through a lot of hard times. So I like to think I’ll be able to find ways to get myself out of situations that are toxic to my wellbeing.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself?

I stay very loyal to the ones I look up to, whether that be family or friends. Growing up, I learned how to separate the people who use me and the people who help me become a better person.

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire?

I have two:

Jasmine Glass, the creator of Glassbook. She has a very interesting back story and I have been following her since the beginning of her online magazine now print. She has since moved to New York.

Justice Kirby, the judge who always opposes the majority opinion. He has very contemporary opinions which are commendable.

What is my greatest extravagance?

I’ve always been the person who dabbles in everything, to learn and put my own twist on things.

On what occasion would I lie?

I have learned that lies are not lies. It’s just your perspective on things. If you believe it, it’s truth and other people will follow suit.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work?

Definitely not being able to connect with my family back home as much.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work?

 

Not so much when and where. But the moment I know that I have given what my client wants and they understand their situation. That is when I feel the most adrenaline and happiness.

If I could, what would I change about myself?

I sometimes make rash decisions. So, thinking before I act in a strategic sense.

What is my greatest achievement in work?

I actually keep track of all my little achievements on my office wall, none of which are better than the other. I learned from all of them.

Where would I most like to live?

Australia.

What is my most treasured possession?

Family photos.

What is my most marked characteristic?

I try to see the joy in everything.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city?

That would have to be the glow worm cave in Springbrook.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city?

Any Japanese or Italian restaurant.

What books influenced my life and how?

Napoleon Hill’s “the Law of Success” influences how I approach my life and work.

Who are my favorite writers?

I have one: Stephan King. I was introduced to him in my Gothic Literature class and was so inspired how he can mesh romance with gore with just words.

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day?

Blue Moon by Many Voices Speak.

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction?

I always loved the idea of Wonder woman.

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life?

My greatest hero is my own mother.

Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime?

V for Vendetta.

What role plays art in my life and work?

I was a very shy kid back in the day. So once high school hit I did drama classes, which I discovered I was very good in. The big advantage of not having 20/20 vision is that when I’m on stage, the lights shine only on me, the room goes black and it’s as if I’m the only person in the world without anyone to judge me. I also got into drawing, dancing and singing. Now I manage my own fashion blog.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime?

My boyfriend.

Whom would I like to work with in 2017?

I would like to collaborate with Jasmine Glass, even picking her brain for a while would suffice.

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on?

My Whither Fashion blog. We will be doing workshops, runway shows, and seminars.

We have had a lot of interest in it, and I am excited to see where it takes us.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017?

I work in Australia but you can see my work on Facebook or Wix @ Whither Fashion.

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me?

Art to me is not a stagnant definition. It encompasses everything we do in every field of discipline. It also means that getting started is a long process, but determination to succeed takes resilience. Achieving this is where all great things and great people rise.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story?

Jasmine Glass, creator of Glassbook.

How can you contact me?

https://www.facebook.com/ceejoiechen

Leave a Reply

