The Heroine’s Journey of Eléna Schnitzler Salotchkaya

What is the best thing that I love about my work?
The freedom to plan my own schedule and the freedom to choose how I’ll do it. Since I work in several artistic domains (writing, directing, singing and photography) it varies a lot but still makes sense for the artist that I am.
La liberté de gérer mon temps et de choisir ce que je veux faire et la façon dont je vais le faire. Étant donné que j’oeuvre dans plusieurs domaines, l’écriture, la réalisation, le jeu d’actrice, le chant et la photo, c’est varié et à la fois un tout cohérent pour l’artiste que je suis.
What is my idea of perfect happiness?
A perfect happiness cannot exist, for me, as long as I know that living creatures are tortured and killed every second. Still, I do experiment little moments of happiness sometimes, such as the smell of the grass freshly cut in the gardens at dusk, the smell of pine woods in the summer which always leads me back to the carefree days of my youth. Swimming in the ocean, spending time with my beloved, reading a book with my cat around purring, watching sunbeams on blue gravel….
Le bonheur parfait ne peut pas exister, pour moi, tant qu’à chaque seconde que nous vivons je sais que des êtres doués de sensibilité sont torturés et massacrés. Mais il y a des petits moments d’émotion et de légèreté qui me remplissent de bonheur, bien que fugaces (le bonheur ne peut être que fugace), tels que l’odeur de l’herbe fraîchement coupée dans les jardins au crépuscule, celle de la pinède en été qui me rappellera toujours les vacances insouciantes de mon enfance, nager dans l’océan, partager avec l’être aimé, lire un roman qui me passionne avec mon chat qui ronronne, un rayon de soleil sur les graviers bleus…
What is my greatest fear?
Tidal waves! The funny thing is that I live in the seaside.

Les raz de marée ! Et le comble de l’histoire est que j’habite au bord de la mer.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself?
The fact that I’m always balancing, for almost everything: should I stay or should I go? Shall I have a sweet? I believe I do think too much! Being undecided. About almost everything. Should I take dessert or not? Should I leave or should I stay? I’d like to switch my brain off sometimes, so I could rest a little!

Le fait d’être indécise. Pour tout ou presque ! Un dessert ou non, partir ou rester ? Je pense que cela a à voir avec le fait que je réfléchis trop : j’aimerais qu’il existe un bouton pour mettre mon cerveau en off afin de pouvoir me détendre et me reposer !

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire?
I love it when the drama is combined with beautiful photography and melancholy. That’s why I loved “Time of the Gypsies” from Emir Kusturica, “Lost River” from Ryan Gosling, “Betty Blue” from Jean-Jacques Beineix, “Savage nights” from Cyril Collard, “Élisa” from Jean Becker, “Dos à la mer” from Steve Moreau or “Twentynine palms” from Bruno Dumont….actually I even had a musical duo named that way, in tribute to this movie. I can’t talk about any director specifically, I’m first moved by a movie, a story! I fell in love with the song “Ride” from Lana del Rey and its wonderful video directed by Anthony Mandler. Same for her song “Born to die” and its video directed by Yoann Lemoine (Woodkid). When I saw these two masterpieces, I thought: “my god, there’s nothing better than that!” I’d love my movie “Errances”/ “Wandering” to look like that and I suppose this is why I struggle to finish it, for fear of being disappointed… In terms of music, my tastes are ecclectic: Nirvana, Francis Cabrel, U2, Benjamin Biolay, Lana del Rey… Actors : Grégoire Colin, Vincent Cassel who has such a wide range of skills.

J’aime quand le drame se mêle à l’esthétisme et à la mélancolie. C’est pourquoi j’ai adoré « Le Temps des Gitans » d’Emir Kusturica, « Lost River » de Ryan Gosling, « 37°2 le matin » de Jean-Jacques Beineix, « Les Nuits fauves » de Cyril Collard, « Elisa » de Jean Becker, « Dos à la mer » de Steve Moreau, « Twentynine Palms » de Bruno Dumont… J’ai d’ailleurs eu un duo musical qui portait ce nom en hommage au film. Je ne peux pas citer un réalisateur en particulier, ce sont avant tout des films, des histoires qui me touchent. Je suis tombée amoureuse de la chanson « Ride » de Lana del Rey et de son clip magnifique réalisé par Anthony Mandler. Idem pour « Born to die » de Lana del Rey dont le clip a été réalisé par Yoann Lemoine dit Woodkid. Quand j’ai vu ces deux clips qui sont des bijoux esthétiques j’ai pensé « My god, que peut-on faire de plus ? » Je voudrais qu’ « Errances », mon film, ressemble à cela, et je crois que c’est pour cette raison que j’ai tant de mal à le finir, par peur d’être déçue… En matière de musique j’ai des goûts tout à fait éclectiques : Nirvana, Francis Cabrel, U2, Benjamin Biolay, Lana del Rey…Acteurs : Grégoire Colin, Vincent Cassel qui sans cesse se renouvelle.

What is my greatest extravagance?
My greatest extravagance? It’s hard to say, I’ve got quite a collection! I don’t care for rules and standards. I’ve been raised by artists and doctors. I’m excentric and extravagant, still people often see me as a bit of a nonchalent dreamer while it’s quite the opposite. I think I’m logical, rational and lucid.

Ma plus grande extravagance ? Difficile de le dire, je crois que j’en suis pétrie. Je ne me soucie pas des conventions ni de la norme. J’ai été élevée par des artistes et des médecins. Je suis excentrique et extravagante mais les gens sont souvent surpris dans la mesure où ils m’imaginent un peu nonchalante et dans la lune alors qu’au contraire je pense être cartésienne et lucide.

On what occasion would I lie?
I would lie in an audition. What matters for an actress is not how old you are but how old you look. After getting my first small part, the producing crew called me ’cause they thought I had miswritten my social security numbers (which contains the year of birth). They couldn’t believe I had lied about my age.

Lors de castings. Car ce qui est important en tant que comédienne n’est pas l’âge que l’on a mais celui que l’on paraît. Cela m’a d’ailleurs valu une anecdote suite à mon premier petit rôle : les personnes de la production m’ont recontactée car ils pensaient que je m’étais trompée dans mon numéro de sécurité sociale (par rapport au nombre de l’année de naissance). Ils n’ont pas cru que j’avais menti sur mon âge.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work?
Motivation is not always there and I have to use self-discipline to get myself to work. Writing comes to me by itself though, it’s the other way around. I go through different phases: productive and contemplative. But contemplation gives the inspiration for the productive part! Directing is a different story though: I have to find the courage to go from the abstract idea to its fulfilment ’cause this is the part of the process that turns dreams into nightmares. That might be the starting point of a new project: a book.

La motivation n’est pas toujours au rendez-vous et je dois m’auto-discipliner afin de me mettre à oeuvrer. En ce qui concerne l’écriture c’est plutôt elle qui vient à moi, si je puis dire, plutôt que l’inverse. Ce sont des phases que je traverse… Parfois très productives, d’autres contemplatives. Mais la contemplation est riche d’inspiration pour la phase qui suivra ! En ce qui concerne la réalisation c’est une autre histoire : je dois trouver le courage de passer de l’idée abstraite à sa concrétisation et c’est alors que « Les rêves peuvent se transformer en cauchemars ». Ce sera peut-être le point de départ d’un nouveau projet : un livre.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work?
When people come to me after my concerts to tell me they’ve been moved by my lyrics and/or my voice. And also after the screening of my first short-movie “La Fin de l’Insouciance”, when people came to tell me all the things they felt while watching it. In their eyes I saw some kind of gratitude, maybe for the moment of escape, of dream, poetry and reflexion. These reactions are a great medicine to me and represents great satisfaction for the accomplished work. In fact it goes deeper than that. It gives me the impression of being understood…understood and loved. Ain’t that what we’re all looking for in a way? I know it’s dangerous to mix art, life, love and work, but I can’t do it different. It’s a whole that I feed on.

Lorsque après un concert les gens viennent me voir et me disent qu’ils ont été touchés par mes textes et/ou ma voix. Et aussi après la projection de mon premier court métrage, « La fin de l’insouciance », lorsque des spectateurs sont venus me parler du film et de ce qu’ils ont ressenti. Dans leurs yeux j’ai vu une forme de reconnaissance, peut-être pour le moment d’évasion, une part de rêve, de poésie et de réflexion. Pour moi c’est une satisfaction et un baume au coeur pour le travail accompli. En fait cela va plus loin que cela : c’est l’impression d’avoir été comprise… Comprise et aimée. C’est ce que l’on cherche tous, non, d’une certaine manière ? Je sais qu’il est dangereux de mêler l’art et la vie, l’amour et le travail, mais je ne peux faire autrement. C’est un tout dont je me nourris et je compose avec, dans tous les sens du terme !

If I could, what would I change about myself? 
My grand-mother used to tell me: “be selfish!” I’dlike to be able and take care of me before caring for the others. Maybe I’ve turned my back on a vocation! And, on a completely different subject, I would like to be blonde in my next life!

Ma grand-mère me disait souvent « Sois égoïste ! » Je voudrais savoir m’occuper de moi avant de m’occuper des autres. J’ai peut-être raté une vocation finalement… ! Sinon, dans un autre registre, j’aimerais être blonde dans une prochaine vie !

What is my greatest achievement in work?
Overcoming my shyness and singing on stage.

D’avoir vaincu ma timidité maladive en montant sur scène pour chanter.

Where would I most like to live?
I’m of a Austro-Hugarian descent. I’ve lived in the East of France for many years before moving to Paris, a city that I’ve loved. Now I live in La Rochelle, a coastal city, and that would be too hard for me to leave the sea. I’ve always been attracted to Italy, maybe I have roots there, which would explain my fiery temper! I’d also like to visit Moscow, Prague, Budapest, Bucarest as well as Nordic countries for their beautiful and pale light.

Je suis d’origine austro-hongroise de par mes ancêtres. J’ai longtemps vécu dans l’Est de la France puis à Paris, ville que j’ai adorée. A présent je vis à La Rochelle au bord de la mer et il me serait difficile de retourner dans les terres. Je suis attirée par l’Italie depuis toujours. J’ai peut-être des racines là-bas, ce qui expliquerait mon tempérament volcanique ! J’aimerais voir Moscou, Prague, Budapest, Bucarest… mais aussi les pays nordiques pour leur lumière magnifique et pâle…

What is my most treasured possession?
There’s nothing one can bring to his grave. I have precious objects of course and some with a sentimental value. But what I cherished the most were my writings, my pictures and my videos. And I’m using the past tense ’cause I’ve lost many of them. They were the proof, the mark of a reflection. Of an existence.

On n’emporte rien avec soi dans la tombe. J’ai des objets de valeur, bien sûr, et de valeur sentimentale aussi. Mais ce qui comptait le plus, pour moi, étaient mes écrits, mes photos et mes vidéos… Je parle au passé car je les ai perdus en partie. Ils étaient les preuves et les traces d’une pensée. D’une existence.

What is my most marked characteristic?
Imagination, creativity. But also patience (and you need a lot of it for editing videos!)

Imagination, création. Mais aussi patience (et longueur de temps) pour le montage !

What is my most inspirational location, in my city?

Only the deserted beach, and the ocean…

Tout simplement la plage déserte et l’océan…

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city?
A café called “La Villa Cap Vert”: the place is nice and the owners are warm and friendly. “Captain Ice” is a café on the waterfront that I also like a lot: the handmade macaroons they offer with the coffee are delicious!

La Villa Cap Vert : le lieu est agréable et les patrons adorables. Le Captain Ice aussi, sur le port : leurs macarons faits maison servis avec le café sont succulents !

What books influenced my life and how?
There are a lot of them, but I realize that these are all books that I read very young, about 13 or 14 years old. There was Laird Koenig’s “Little Girl at the End of the Road”, which left a strange and disturbing impression on me, even though I do not remember the story. Despite the temptation to reread it I will not do so in order not to destroy my memories. Same for “Pickles with chocolate” signed by a certain Stéphanie anonymous, novel of which it was later known that it was Philippe Labro. I think age plays a role. At 13 or 14 years old I was more receptive, and was even completely imbued with my readings. One is still “empty” of experiences. The context in which we find ourselves also plays a role. These readings correspond to the beginning of adolescence, a period strong in emotions, and these books are associated with the memory of the sleepless nights spent with them. I finished the book when dawn came.

Il y en a beaucoup mais je me rends compte que ce sont tous des livres que j’ai lus très jeune, vers 13 ou 14 ans. Il y a eu « La petite fille au bout du chemin » de Laird Koenig, qui m’a laissé une impression étrange et dérangeante alors même que je ne me souviens plus de l’histoire. Malgré la tentation de le relire je ne le ferai pas afin de ne pas détruire mes souvenirs. Idem pour « Des cornichons au chocolat » signé par une certaine Stéphanie anonyme, roman dont on a su plus tard qu’il était de Philippe Labro. Je pense que l’âge joue un rôle. A 13 ou 14 ans j’étais plus réceptive, et a même d’être complètement imprégnée par mes lectures. On est encore « vide » d’expériences. Le contexte dans lequel on se trouve joue un rôle aussi. Ces lectures correspondent au début de l’adolescence, une période forte en émotions, et ces livres sont associés au souvenir des nuits blanches passées en leur compagnie. J’achevai le livre quand arrivait l’aube.

Who are my favorite writers?
Milan Kundera, Donna Tartt, Boris Vian, Philippe Dijan, Marilyn French, Philippe Labro, Douglas Kennedy, Remo Forlani, Virginie Despentes, Emily Brontë, Stephen King, Françoise Sagan…there’s so many of them! Books are very important to me, they’re definitely part of my life.

Milan Kundera, Donna Tartt, Boris Vian, Philippe Djian, Marilyn French que j’ai découverte par hasard, Philippe Labro, Douglas Kennedy, Remo Forlani, Virginie Despentes, Emily Brontë, Stephen King, Françoise Sagan… il y en a tant ! Les livres sont très importants pour moi, ils font partie intégrante de ma vie.

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day?
Goran Bregovic: “Ederlezi” (It was in the soundtrack for the Emir Kusturica’s film “Time of the Gypsies”.

Goran Bregovitz : Le temps des gitans : « Ederlezi »

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction?
Lana del Rey. And the ALF : Front Liberation Animal.

Lana del Rey. Et ALF : le Front de Libération Animale.

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life?
With no hesitation: people from the Animal Liberation Front. They’re considered like terrorists, which is insane since they fight for animals respect and try to save them from horrible deaths. They’re ready to sacrifice their lives for the animals and I deeply admire them for that.

Sans aucune hésitation : les gens de ALF. Animal Liberation Front. Ils sont considérés comme des terroristes, un comble, alors qu’ils luttent pour le respect de l’Animal et tentent de les sauver (les animaux) de morts atroces et indignes. Ils sont prêts à sacrifier leur vie pour eux. Je les admire profondément.

Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime?
« La fin de l’insouciance » !

Movie trailer : Bande annonce du film : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6y2a_cPDml0

Bande annonce “La Fin de l’insouciance”
www.youtube.com
Une jeune fille retourne sur les lieux de son enfance pour y retrouver les sensations d’antan…

Bande annonce “La Fin de l’insouciance”
Une jeune fille retourne sur les lieux de son enfance pour y retrouver les sensations d’antan…
youtube.com
What role plays art in my life and work?
You’re an artist or you ain’t, in my opinion. There’s no switch in your brain to become an artist or to stop being one. I think it has to do with how you perceive nature, people, things, with this different and special filter…whatever the time and context. Maybe it has to do with your sensitivity.

On est artiste ou on ne l’est pas, à mon avis. Il n’y a pas un bouton on/off dans le cerveau pour se mettre en position « artiste ». Je pense que c’est une façon de percevoir la nature, les gens, les choses, différemment, avec un filtre spécial… Quelque soit le moment et le contexte. Peut-être que cela est lié à une forte sensibilité.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime?
There’s no one in particular. I have supporters that I don’t always know, who follows me on social media and on my Youtube channels where I post some movie scenes and live performances as well as the web-serie that I co-direct with a friend and collegue.

Il n’y a pas quelqu’un en particulier. Ce sont des personnes que je ne connais pas forcément, qui me suivent et me soutiennent à travers les réseaux sociaux et mes chaînes YouTube dans lesquelles je mets des extraits de films et de concerts et la web-serie que je co-réalise avec une amie et collègue.

Whom would I like to work with in 2017?
Benjamin Biolay for the music. Anthony Mandler or Yoann Lemoine for a movie or video clip.

Benjamin Biolay pour la musique. Anthony Mandler ou Yoann Lemoine pour un film/clip.

Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017?

Brigitte Bardot. I wrote a song in his homage, composed by Sébastien Mansencal, after reading his first book that upset me.

Brigitte Bardot. J’ai écrit une chanson en son hommage, composée par Sébastien Mansencal, suite à la lecture de son premier livre qui m’a bouleversée.

From the song “La grange de B.B.” : Extrait de “La grange de B.B.” :

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TX47VBi96RA

Extrait “La Grange”. En hommage à Brigitte Bardot.
www.youtube.com
Extrait “La Grange”. Chanson en hommage à Brigitte Bardot. Chant et texte : Eléna Schnitzler Salotchkaya. Musique : Sébastien Mansencal.

Extrait “La Grange”. En hommage à Brigitte Bardot.
Extrait “La Grange”. Chanson en hommage à Brigitte Bardot. Chant et texte : Eléna Schnitzler Salotchkaya. Musique : Sébastien Mansencal.
youtube.com
What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on?
Finish my feature “Errances” and find distributors. Complete my first album and find electro-pop composers for the next one. Find financial producers to pursue the web series. And a press officer to promote “The End of Carelessness!” Continue my YouTube channels and photography.
Terminer mon long métrage « Errances » et trouver des distributeurs. Achever mon premier album et trouver des compositeurs d’électro-pop pour le prochain. Trouver des producteurs financiers pour poursuivre la web série. Et un attaché de presse pour promouvoir « La fin de l’insouciance » !Continuer mes chaînes YouTube et la photographie.
Where can you see me or my work in 2017?
* YouTube channel Cinema and music: LNA Salotchkaya

https://www.youtube.com/user/Eliochka
LNA Salotchkaya – YouTube
www.youtube.com
AMIS VISITEURS, POUR EN SAVOIR DAVANTAGE, CLIQUEZ SUR LE “Plus” : Mes pérégrinations cinématographiques et musicales à travers des extraits de films dans les…

LNA Salotchkaya
AMIS VISITEURS, POUR EN SAVOIR DAVANTAGE, CLIQUEZ SUR LE “Plus” : Mes pérégrinations cinématographiques et musicales à travers des extraits de films dans les…
youtube.com
* YouTube Channel Books and My Life: Princesse Désastre:

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCWVqNx6tdbEWC7rRmRe05fg
Princesse Désastre – YouTube
www.youtube.com
AMIS VISITEURS, POUR EN SAVOIR DAVANTAGE, CLIQUEZ SUR LE “Plus” : Mes souvenirs et impressions laissés par mes lectures passées. Je livre (remarquez l’habile…

* YouTube web channel series with Emmanuelle Albuisson: Léa & Léo:

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCfoR2N5aQQaQWcnqEVXxzUA

* Chaîne YouTube Cinéma et musique : LNA Salotchkaya

https://www.youtube.com/user/Eliochka

* Chaîne YouTube Les livres et ma vie : Princesse Désastre :

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCWVqNx6tdbEWC7rRmRe05fg

* Chaîne YouTube web série avec Emmanuelle Albuisson : Léa & Léo :

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCfoR2N5aQQaQWcnqEVXxzUA

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me?
I hope so ! Because I need this vibration to live, no matter what the essence of passion!

Je l’espère bien ! Car j’ai besoin de cette vibration pour vivre, peu importe l’essence de la passion !

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story?
Stéphanie Cambon Suares alias Néa Kirsten, formerly actress (notably in “Errances”) and singer of the group Fairy Games before starting solo as Néa Kirsten. She is a intelligent girl with suave charm whose sweet voice I love. And of course my friend and colleague Emmanuelle Albuisson (“Léa” of the web-serie “Léa & Léo”) who is above all a musician.

Stéphanie Cambon Suares alias Néa Kirsten, anciennement comédienne (notamment dans « Errances ») et chanteuse du groupe Fairy Games avant de se lancer en solo en tant que Néa Kirsten. C’est une fille suave et intelligente dont j’aime la voix sucrée.

Et bien sûr mon amie et collègue Emmanuelle Albuisson (« Léa » de la web série « Léa & Léo ») qui est avant tout musicienne.

How can you contact me?
* Facebook :

https://www.facebook.com/elena.salotchkayaschnitzler

* Artistic Agent: Evelyne Tomaszewski for Citelya (non-up-to-date page)

* Agent artistique : Evelyne Tomaszewski pour Citelya (page non à jour)

http://www.citelya.com/3ElenaSALOTCH3KAYA-SCHNITZLER.htm

Leave a Reply

