The Heroine’s Journey of Christie Wright

What is the best thing that I love about my work? The scope of the projects that work on daily gives me the biggest thrill. From small to big scale, 2D, 3D, motion, product, branding, concept, craft and working with clients from all over the world.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? Balance, that fleating moment when all aspects of one’s life are in balance creating a moment of family calm.

What is my greatest fear? A world with no art.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? Sometime I would say I can be insensitive…ouch.

What is my greatest extravagance? A gin martini

On what occasion would I lie? I often lie to protect someone from getting hurt.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? I would not say that I dislike in my work but I often evaluate old projects and think how I could have made them better.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? I am happiest in my work when I can be in a studio situation where I can be isolated from all responsibilities of everyday life.  Usually an artist in residency experience of a few months can feed my soul for the following several years.

If I could, what would I change about myself? My hot temper, it has gotten me in trouble many times in my life.

What is my greatest achievement in work? Ability to remain flexible in the face of difficult situations

Where would I most like to live? Tokyo- for me it has a perfect mix of the respect for past traditions and future forward explorations.

What is my most treasured possession? Sadly, I would say my phone because my whole life is inside.

What is my most marked characteristic? Outspoken is my most marked characteristic. To speak up without fear, with confidence and a brutal sense of honesty.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city?Sitting on the waterfront of the IJ at night on the Amsterdam Noord side.  In the presence of a large mass of water I can do my best reflecting.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? Café Modern for a proper dinner experience.

Who are my favorite writers? Margaret Atwood’s speculative fiction and Anais Nin erotica.

Whom would I like to work with in 2017? I would like to work with more collaborative people in 2017.

Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017? Patti Smith, Vivienne Westwood and Marlene Dumas…is that too much to ask for?

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day? I would do my last karaoke rendition of Styx’s Mr. Roboto.

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction? Wonder Woman- Smart, strong sexy and stylish.                                                                                                                                                                                  Who are my heroes and heroines in real life? My number one heroine in my life is my daughter Neon. She just now turned two years old and is faced with all the newness of life, she takes everything in stride and is such a source of daily inspiration.

Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime? Orlando…but many times in a lifetime.

What role plays art in my life and work? Art plays the center role in everything in my life.  I try to approach everything from a creative point of view from what dinner to cook, what to wear today, what activity will I plan with my little daughter on a Sunday afternoon.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? My former Cranbrook professor, Tony Hepburn who sadly has passed away a few years ago. He was always my biggest supporter of my work, understood when I took unconventional steps in my career path, and was an incredible teacher. Most importantly he taught me not to waist my time or energy on people that just did not get my work.

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on? Hopefully I will have a big installation of my “Audiowear” project at a museum in New York this fall, fingers cross.  Check out the project at…

Where can you see me or my work in 2017? You can see the projects I work on for Marcel Wanders Studio this year at the Salone de Mobile Milan this April. Check out our latest www.marcelwanders.com

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me? Well simply speaking, if you are creative person the concept of retirement does not exist. And passion itself is never in rest.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story? Cynthia Hathaway & Gabrielle Wambaugh

How can you contact me?

christie@marcelwanders.com

BROUGHT TO YOU BY PETER DE KUSTER

The Heroine’s Journey is brought to you by Peter de Kuster dedicated to educate, amuse and enrich creative professionals.

Almost five years after launching The Heroine’s Journey and The Hero’s Journey, business storyteller Peter has become an irreverent, forceful voice—inspiring people to make make money doing what they love.

To learn more about having Peter speak at your event mail him at peterdekuster@hotmail.nl

Leave a Reply

