The Heroine’s Journey of Djam Zerrifi from Bad Mama’s Karma

What is the best thing that I love about my work? The Best thing I love about my work it’s to give the chance to artists to meet their audience, to allow them to express theirselves. And like also the fact that we are not working only in one field: concert, exhibition, video clip… If we like the artist, we can organize an event, shoot a video, make an interview… Sky is the limite. La chose que j’aime dans mon travail, c’est de pouvoir donner la chance aux artistes de rencontrer leur public, de leur permettre de s’exprimer. J’aime aussi le fait que nous ne sommes pas cotonnées à un domaine : concert, expo, clip… Si nous aimons l’artiste, nous pouvons organiser un événement, shooter une vidéo, faire une interview … Il n’y a pas de limite.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? Good music to listen + Good friends to laugh with + Good food to taste. De la bonne musique à écouter + des bons potes amis avec qui rigoler + de la bonne bouffe.

What is my greatest fear? Racist and xenophonic parties taking the power in France, in Europe and all over the world and people thinking that they can’t do anything about it. You can do something! Your voices, your acts, you behaviors: it matters and it makes a difference. Les partis racistes et xénophones prennent le pouvoir en France, en Europe et partout dans le monde et les gens pensent qu’ils ne peuvent rien y faire. Vous pouvez faire quelque chose! Vos voix, vos actes, vos comportements : ça compte et ça fait une différence.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? My Impatience (maybe). Mon impatience (peut-être).

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire? I have admiration for artists who speak up for those who can’t. J’ai de l’admiration pour les artistes qui prétent leur voix à ceux que l’on entend pas.

What is my greatest extravagance? I quit my casual jobs when I get bored. (And I get bored very fast). Je démissione dès que je m’ennuie dans mon job. (Et je m’ennuie très vite).

On what occasion would I lie? I try not to lie. Never. Sometimes it can be painful… J’essaie de ne pas mentir. Jamais. Parfois ça peut être douloureux…

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? The administrative part. La partie administrative.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? When I founded Bad Mama’s Karma: you are free when you are your own boss. Quand j’ai fondé Bad Mama’s Karma: quand tu es ton propre patron, tu es libre.

If I could, what would I change about myself? My Impatience (maybe). Mon impatience (peut-être).

What is my greatest achievement in work? To be still thirsty of new experiences. Toujours être avide de nouvelles experiences.

Where would I most like to live? New York, in the 70’s. New York, dans les années 70.

What is my most treasured possession? A picture of my Grand-Mother with a very “badass”style, taken somewhere in the 50’s. Behind it, you can read the words from a lover who has been rejected. Une photo de ma grand-mère, avec un look très “badass”, prise dans les années 50. Derrière on peut lire le mot d’un amoureux écouduit.

What is my most marked characteristic? I laugh very loud… Je ris très fort.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? I love the Belleville-Goncourt district. I lived in this place since I arrived in Paris 12 years ago and even if it has changed a bit, it still have a soul due to the people from all around the world who live here and the cultural animation. J’adore le quartier Belleville-Goncourt. J’ai vécu là depuis mon arrivée à Paris, il ya 12 ans et même si ça a un peu changé, c’est un endroit qui garde son grâce à son melting pot et à sa vie culturelle.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? I like to have a drink with my friends at Le Point Ephémère (Paris 10): always good music, exhibitions, concerts, mixed people (and it’s cheap!). To eat, in Paris you have a lot of choice! On my lunch break, I like to go to the little Bagle shop Place Saint-Opportune (Paris 1). All their Bagles have Jazzmen names ! My favorite one: The Miles Davis (chicken with honey mustard) J’aime boire un verre avec mes potes au Point Ephémère (Paris 10): toujours de la bonne musique, des expositions, des concerts, une population métissée (et en plus, c’est pas cher!). Pour manger, à Paris, il y a choix ! À ma pause dej, j’aime bien aller au petit resto de Bagles Place Saint-Opportune (Paris 1). Tous leurs Bagles ont des noms de Jazzmen! Mon préféré: Le Miles Davis (poulet à la moutarde au miel)

What books influenced my life and how? I have an obsession with “Hamlet. Don’t ask me why. Je suis obssédée par “Hamlet”. Ne me demandez pas pourquoi.

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day? “That’s life” by Sinatra , it’s my bad days’ song. “That’s life” de Sinatra, c’est ma chanson des mauvais jours.

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction? Antigone.

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life? Angela Davis, and in general, all the people who fights for their rights, for freedom, for equality. Angela Davis et, en général, toutes les personnes qui luttent pour leurs droits, pour la liberté, pour l’égalité.

Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime? “Hate” from Mathieu Kassovitz. “La Haine” de Mathieu Kassovitz.

What role plays art in my life and work? Feeds my soul. Ça me nourrit.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? My family and my friends, and of course my Team at Bad Mama’s Karma. Ma famille, mes amis et mon équipe Bad Mama’s Karma.

Whom would I like to work with in 2017? J. K. Rowling, to make some workshop in the school I will work for in April. And some street artists like Seth, C212, Shepard Fairey aka Obey… To put some colors on the brand new walls of this school. J. K. Rowling, pour faire un atelier dans l’école pour laquelle je travaillerai en avril. Et certains street artistes comme Seth, C212, Shepard Fairey aka Obey… Pour mettre de la couleurs sur les murs tout neufs de cette école.

Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017? I like surprises. J’aime les surprises.

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on? I will work on a book i’m writing since a (too) long time. Je vais travailler sur un livre que j’écris depuis (trop) longtemps.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017? If you want to see me in 2017, you will have to fly! I’ve quit my job (again) and in april, I will fly to the Himalaya to work for an NGO. I’ll be headmaster of a little school between India and Nepal. A new adventure. If you want to meet the BMK crew, we organize a “Max Papeschi” exhibition in Paris at The Point Ephemere from 20th of may to 3rd of June 2017. Pop pieces denouncing labor camps in North Korea. Si vous voulez me voir en 2017, vous devrez voler! J’ai quitté mon emploi (encore) et en avril, je pars pour l’Himalaya travailler pour une ONG. Je serai le directrice d’une petite école primaire entre l’Inde et le Népal. Une nouvelle aventure. Si vous voulez rencontrer l’équipe de BMK, nous organisons une exposition « Max Papeschi » à Paris, au Point Ephémère, du 20 mai au 3 juin 2017. Des œuvres pop pour dénoncer les camps de travail en Corée du Nord.

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me? It’s my modjo. C’est mon modjo.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story? You should invite Marisa Simédou, she a great poetess! Vous devriez inviter Marisa Simédou, une grande poétesse !

How can you contact me? By mail: djamilaz@gmail.com // instagram: badmamaz // twitter: @MilaRifiova

Leave a Reply

