The Heroine’s Journey of Delphine Grillet-Aubert

J’ai travaillé pendant longtemps au sein d’une chaine de télévision mais je ne me sentais pas à ma place, alors il y a quelques années je me suis posée la question : Qu’est ce que j’ai vraiment envie de faire ? Et là c’était comme une évidence, ce que j’aime par-dessus tout c’est l’écriture ! Donc, je suis partie pour faire de ma passion un métier à part entière.

I’ve worked for a long time for a TV channel, and I were not feeling at my right place, then I’ve asked myself the following question : what I really want to do in my life ? and then it has been obvious, because what I really like to do is writing ! and then I quit my job to create a full job from my passion.

What is the best thing that I love about my work ?

C’est que ce n’en est pas un, c’est une passion… Commencer une nouvelle histoire ou avoir une nouvelle idée d’émission, c’est pour moi comme des préliminaires avant l’amour. Je ne dis pas que c’est facile tous les jours mais c’est une chance de faire ce que l’on aime

What i love the most in my job, is that it is not a job but a passion…start a new story or having a new idea for a TV show, it is like the preliminaries before making love. I can’t say that it is easy every day but I’m lucky to do what I love the most.

What is my idea of perfect happiness ?

Pour moi le bonheur parfait, c’est de faire ce que j’ai envie, d’être libre et d’aller jusqu’au bout de mes rêves. Mais pour prétendre au bonheur parfait, il faut s’en donner les moyens et c’est ce que j’essaie de faire chaque jour, un pas après l’autre.

The perfect happiness for me, is to do what i really want to do, to be free, and have the possibility to follow my dreams. But to claim to the perfect happiness, you have to be focused, and it is what I try to do day after day, step by step.

What is my greatest fear ?

Ne plus avoir d’inspiration et perdre la tête ou la mémoire….Peur de ne plus reconnaître mes proches.

To lose inspiration, or lose my mind or memory…. The fear not to recognize anymore the dear ones.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself ?


Dire oui à tout et à tout le monde, il faut vraiment que j’arrive à penser un peu plus à moi et que j’essaie de me préserver.

to say Yes to everything and to everyone. I really need to think more about myself first et then try to protect myself.

Which living persons in my profession do I most admire ?

Je n’ai pas de nom à vous donner. Mes écrivains préférés sont morts mais Je peux dire que je suis admirative de JK Rowling qui s’en est sortie grâce à son Harry Potter, je me souhaite le même succès qu’elle.

I don’t have any name to give. My favorite writers are dead, but I can say that I admire JK Rowling, that got over by creating Harry Potter. I wish me to know the same success than her.

What is my greatest extravagance ?

Sans doute celle d’être auteure, car ce n’est pas encore un métier reconnu à part entière.

Possibly the one to be an author, because it is not a full recognized profession.

On what occasion would I lie ?

Pour protéger ma famille ou un(e) ami(e)

to protect my family or a friend

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work ?

l’incertitude, les projets et réponses en attente et les lendemains difficiles.

the uncertainty, the expectations for projects and answers and the difficult future.

When and where was I the happiest in my work ?

Tous les jours ! Chaque jour est différent avec ses hauts et ses bas (mais toujours bénéfiques) donc je ne peux pas vous dire.

All the days and Every day is different, with it up and down (but always beneficial) so I can’t tell you.

If I could, what would I change about myself ?

J’apprends à vivre avec mes défauts, c’est un travail de longue haleine mais petit à petit, je prends confiance en moi.

I learn to live with my failings. It is a long run work but little by little I raise my level of self-confidence.

What is my greatest achievement in work ?

Chaque jour, j’apprends et me je dis que le dernier écrit est toujours le meilleur.

I’m learning something every day, and tell to myself that the last writing is always the best.

Where would I most like to live?

A Rio de Janeiro (ma ville de cœur), la première fois que j’y suis allée, j’avais l’impression de la connaître déjà…. C’était comme les retrouvailles avec une vieille amie.

To Rio of Janeiro (the city of my heart). The first time I’ve been there, I got this feeling to already know the town… it was like meeting again an old friend.

What is my most treasured possession?

Mon ordinateur car c’est mon outil de travail et mes petits carnets (je suis une collectionneuse de petits carnets et stylos). Mes amis se plaisent à dire que je suis un peu « toquée ».

My computer because it is my working tool, and also all of my little notebooks (I’m a collector of notebooks and pencils). My friends like to say that I’m a little crazy about it.

What is my most marked charasteristic ?

L’écoute / The listening

What is my most inspirational location, in my city ?

Ma maison / my house

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city ?

Je n’ai pas de préférence, j’aime essayer différents endroits mais j’aime beaucoup le quartier SoPi (le quartier sud de Pigalle) et les grands boulevards car bq de théâtres. Lorsque je me promène, j’aime découvrir des nouveaux quartiers, dernièrement je suis allée à la Butte aux Cailles dans le 13e et je dois dire que pour flâner et boire un verre ce quartier est parfait.

I don’t have any preference, i like to discover new places and I really enjoy the area of SoPi ( the south of Pigalle) and the area of grands boulevards, where you can find many theaters. When I go for a walk, I like to discover new areas. Lately I’ve been to “la butte aux Cailles” in the 13th arrondissement of Paris, and I have to say that it is the perfect place to lounge about and have a drink.

What books influenced my life and how ?

Le livre qui a influencé ma vie, surtout à une époque où je n’allais pas très bien est « le secret » de Rhonda Byrne.

The book that influenced my life, especially at a time where I were not so well, is « the secret » of Rhonda Byrne.

Who are my favorite writers ?

Dans les écrivains actuels : Douglas Kennedy j’aime beaucoup ses histoires, mais il y a aussi Tonino Benaquista et Haruki Murakami. J’aime relire du Emile Zola, Victor Hugo et je lis beaucoup d’auteurs de théâtre : Molière, Feydeau, Oscar Wilde et Alfred de Musset

In the current writers : Douglas kennedy, i really enjoy his stories and aslo Tonino Benaquista and Haruki Murakami. I also like to read again Emile Zola, Victor Hugo and I also read a lot of author of theater plays : Molière, Feydeau, Oscar Wilde and Alfred de Musset.

You only die once : What music would I listen on my last day ?

Très certainement de la musique brésilienne : Ed Motta, Gal Costa…

Probably I will listen to Brazilian music : Ed Motta, Gal Costa…

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction ?

Wonder woman / Wonder Woman

Who are my heroes or heroines in real life ?

Mes parents, Mère Teresa et Marylin Monroe.

My parents, Mother Theresa and Marylin Monroe

Which movie would I recommend to see once in a lifetime?

Très certainement, un film de Michel Audiard pour passer un très bon moment : « Les tontons flingueurs » ou « Ne nous fâchons pas » mais je recommande aussi le film de Claude Lelouch « L’Aventure c’est l’aventure ».

Most probably, a Michel Audiard’s movie which name is «Les tontons flingueurs » or « Ne nous fâchons pas » but I also recommend to see the movie of Claude Lelouch « L’Aventure c’est l’aventure ».

What role plays art in my life and work ?

L’art est présent tous les jours, puisque mon métier est de créer. j’ai un blog sur les spectacles et évènements artistiques.

Art is present in my life every single day, because my work is to create. I’ve created a blog on entertainment and artistic events.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime ?

J’en ai plusieurs, ma famille bien entendu, mes parents, mon frère et ma sœur sont toujours les premiers au courant et sont un vrai soutien. Mais aussi mes amis qui sont toujours à mes côtés.

I’ve got a few, for sure my family, parents, my brother and my sister that always are the first one to know and who are a really support for me. But also my friends that always are at my side.

Whom would I like to work with in 2017 ?

Uniquement avec des personnes sincères et honnêtes.

Exclusively with sincere and honnest people

Which people in my profession would I love to meet in 2017 ?

Edouard Baer, je suis fan d’Edouard Baer

Edouard Baer, I’m a fan of him.

What project, in 2017, I am looking forward to work on ?

Sur un projet de pièce de théâtre.

On a Theater play.

Where can see mee or my work in 2017 ? On peut voir mes écrits sur mon blog : https://grigripotins.jimdo.com People can read my writings in my blog : https://grigripotins.jimdo.com

What do the words « Passion Never Retires » mean to me ?

Je pense exactement cela. Dalida chantait « Je veux mourir sur scène », mon métier c’est ma passion, le seul obstacle qui m’obligerait a arrêter d’écrire cela serait la perte de mémoire ou la maladie.

I think exactly the same. Dalida was singing “ I want to die on stage”, my profession is my passion. The only obstacle that would prevent me to write would be to lose my memory or the illness.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story ?

Michèle Kern, Constance Wood

How can you contact me ? 
grigripotins@gmail.com delphine@lalisdetesenvies.eu

Leave a Reply

