The Heroine’s Journey of Chiara Giorleo

What is the best thing that I love about my work?

The wine world is absolutely endless: you never stop to learn something new, to discover new wines, new wonderful places and lots of people who deeply love what they do.

What is my idea of perfect happiness?

Have fun in doing what you do every day.

What is my greatest fear?

To discover that for some reason I cannot drink wine in my life!

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself?

I am perfectionist and ambitious so I am very focused, sometimes I would love to enjoy more the simple things and the everyday experiences.

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire?

I do not have a name but I surely have a profile: I admire people who are modest even being experts, calm even in difficult situations and curious.

What is my greatest extravagance?

None, I am a Libra!!

On what occasion would I lie?

I struggle when I do not like a wine as I would never want to criticize the work of a producer that I know for sure it is hard.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work?

The wine world is kind of small and still considered “for few”, for those who are considered “real experts”. I hate the arrogance that I have often met.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work?

There are several moment and several experiences that have been crucial for me as a person as well as for my career. If I have to mention one, I remember my wine adventure in California where I have spent about 3 months in total to discover more about the area and their communication approach. So I have published my first relevant reports about it, yet I have started there my international collaborations. In a few words: from there I have taken up a career as freelance.

If I could, what would I change about myself?

Even if I love discretion, I would like to be shameless more often

What is my greatest achievement in work?

Right the fact I do this job, it has been a bet.

Where would I most like to live?

Wherever I can travel and discover something new.

What is my most treasured possession?

My books and my notes

What is my most marked characteristic?

Discretion that people should never confuse with lack of interest or insecurity.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city?

San Lorenzo Cathedral in front of my apartment in Perugia city: silent and imposing, it suggests beauty and historical power.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city?

At home with my husband and my wines. We love to cook and experiment

What books influenced my life and how?

Of course, many of them and for different reasons. Anyway I can make 2 different examples: a personal and a professional one. “Il deserto dei Tartari” (author: Buzzati) taught me to be focused and never quit what we start.

Under the professional point of view “Vino al vino” (author: Soldati) that is a deep trip into the wine world with a perfect language and a wonderful style, there is so much to learn from each single page.

Who are my favorite writers?

Dante Alighieri, a genius, then Wilde and the Italian Mazzantini

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day?

Astor Piazzolla, I find its “Libertango” the most enthralling, engaging and sexy music.

Who is my hero or heroine?

I am too rational to really have heroine or hero. Each one can be hero or heroine if we survive to real difficulties

Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime?

“Modigliani” by Mick Davis, no doubts, with a magnificent Andy Garcia.

What role plays art in my life and work?

A crucial role even if indirect: I have learnt on my skin the importance of “beauty” for the eyes and of course art is beauty.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime?

My nephew Bianca

Whom would I like to work with in 2017?

A wine expert with the title of MW – Master of Wine, the hardest and the most important wine title in the world

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on?

The WSET Diploma (Wine & Spirits Education Trust)

Where can you see me or my work in 2017? On my blog: http://www.chiaragiorleo.com and on the correlated profiles on social networks I share everything I do, stay in touch!

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me?

It means that you never need to rest when you love something. I just wish anyone to try this sensation.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story?

The wine producers Susy Ceraudo and Milena Pepe

How can you contact me?

Visit my blog and chose the way you prefer: the blog itself, the form to ask questions about wine, my social networks: there are no excuses!

BROUGHT TO YOU BY PETER DE KUSTER

The Heroine’s Journey is brought to you by Peter de Kuster dedicated to educate, amuse and enrich creative professionals.

Almost five years after launching The Heroine’s Journey and The Hero’s Journey, business storyteller Peter has become an irreverent, forceful voice—inspiring people to make make money doing what they love.

To learn more about having Peter speak at your event mail him at peterdekuster@hotmail.nl

Leave a Reply

