The Heroine’s Journey of Manuela Maroli

What is the best thing that I love about my work?
As an artist I love to share emotions and give my personal contribution to a new sensibility for a better society.I think art is the supreme form of resistance.

What is my idea of perfect happiness?
Live in an equality society, without violence, social injustice and discriminations.

What is my greatest fear?
I don’t have any fear. Am I an heroine or not?

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself?
I’m too self-critical with myself.

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire?
Valie Export, Fakir Musafar and Franko B.

What is my greatest extravagance?
I’m a chameleon, like a little female version of David Bowie, I love change.

On what occasion would I lie?
Usually I don’t lie, I prefer silence I think it’s more respectable.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work?
Competition between artists, I think it’s something abhorrent. The art world is unhealthy and doesn’t leave so many space for talent and meritocracy, especially in Italy.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work?
When I started my trainee to become a professional body piercer in 1999 and when I created my first live performance in 2013, in both cases in Turin, my magic city.

If I could, what would I change about myself?
Learn to be less critical with myself.

What is my greatest achievement in work?
All my artworks, from 2013 until today and the collaborations with two great artists, Ilaria Palomba and Rahman Hak Hagir.

Where would I most like to live?
In a house full of colors, artworks, books and dogs near to the sea. It isn’t important the country, there are so many beutiful places in the world!

What is my most treasured possession?
My books and my new camera.

What is my most marked characteristic?
I am a sunny person, spontaneous, usually cheerful, sensitive and creative.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city?
The “Palace’s piercing”, in Piazza Corpus Domini.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city?
“Freevolo” to drink and “Curry & Co” to eat.

What books influenced my life and how?
The antichrist of Friedrich Nietzsche, thanks to this book I’ve changed my mind and I freed myself from the concept of God.

Who are my favorite writers?
Jana Cerna for her freedom and emotional intelligence, Ilaria Palomba for the narrative power and Anais Nin for her freely eroticism.

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day?
Filippo Ranzani, know as Fpp13/Laminal, he is my best friend and he’s the most talented musician in Turin. I love his music, he’s a genius.

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction?
Amelie, Nikita and Thelma & Louise.

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life?
Sarah Fetrat, a young journalist, film-maker, poetess and storyteller from Afghanistan, she is an activist for women rights. She is an amazing soul and she is always a great inspiration for me. I admire very much this wonderful young woman.

Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime?
I’ve got no doubt, “Stalker” by Tarkovsky, “Medea” by Pier Paolo Pasolini and “The sacred mountain” by Jodorowsky.

What role plays art in my life and work?
Art is my life, I can’t imagine something different in my life.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime?
My sister Marika and my best friends Katerina, Rossana, Ilaria and Anna. They support me in every moment of my life.

Whom would I like to work with in 2017?
Creative and beautiful people.

Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017?
Creative and beautiful people.

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on?
“Travel Diary” is a great project about migrations, other worlds, humanity and peace, I’ll do poetry, live performances, photographies and video art for this project. Also I am working on “Divine Actions”, an art project about femininity, power and courage against patriarchal society.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017?
I am currently working to present a new video for the “Art Perfoming Festival”, curated by Gianni Nappa, in Naples; as soon as possible I’ll upload some new videos on my vimeo channel and I’ll do public live performances in the streets, in Spain.

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me?
It’s true all of it! If you love what you do, you always can do it!

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story?
Sahar Fetrat, Ilaria Palomba, Shendra Stucki and Cristiana Zeta Rolla

How can you contact me?

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/marked.melody
Email: sverginarte@gmail.com
Website:https://manuelamaroli2015.wixsite.com/manuelamaroli

BROUGHT TO YOU BY PETER DE KUSTER

The Heroine’s Journey is brought to you by Peter de Kuster dedicated to educate, amuse and enrich creative professionals.

Almost five years after launching The Heroine’s Journey and The Hero’s Journey, business storyteller Peter has become an irreverent, forceful voice—inspiring people to make make money doing what they love.

To learn more about having Peter speak at your event mail him at peterdekuster@hotmail.nl

Leave a Reply

