The Heroine’s Journey of Lill Söderlund

What is the best thing that I love about my work?

When I take photos, I love these moments where my mind and heart leads me to everything interesting that happens around us, things most people just walk by. To compose and develop and strengthen the essence of the image afterwards with Lightroom and Photoshop gives me great satisfaction. On my painting easel, I have the opportunity to, with the help of colours and forms, go into another, yet to be discovered, dimension. Both of them allowes me to bring and convey feelings to other people.

What is my idea of perfect happiness?

Peace and tranquility in the soul in a quiet environment!

What is my greatest fear?

What I fear most is other people’s fears. Frightened people often make irrational choices and actions. Which could be very dangerous.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself ?

I really dislike my sudden mood swings … and my lack of self-reliance

Which living person in my profession do I most admire ?

An artist I admire, not only for his skills as an artist but also for his philosophical ideas around the concept art is Ernst Billgren from Sweden. I also admire one artist from my own region in the north, Jan-Anders “Jatte” Eriksson, a great painter. He is also a thinker with a great sense of humor and he was one of my teachers at art school.

I also have to mention a fantastic worldfamous digital artist, Erik Johansson.

What is my greatest extravagance?

I have always had a great passion for clothes. Beautiful, tough, stylish, all varieties.

On what occasion would I lie?

To save life!

What is the thing I dislike the most in my work?

Quite often, in the middle of a painting, arises an uncertainty about my ability. That feeling can create a lot of frustration.

When and where was I happiest in my work?

My strongest memory of this issue is when I was still an art student and ended up in a so-called “flow”. The picture I was working on was to become selected for a juried exhibition, the first time for any of my pictures. The painting also received good reviews in our local paper.

If I could, what would I change about myself?

I would immediately take away the pain in my body that I have to deal with around the clock every day. And mood swings. Or maybe if the first problem was to be solved it would probably fix that.

What is my greatest achievement in work?

To have been selected by juried exhibitions. And to have been offered to participate in exhibitions in Italy

Where do I most like to live?

One of my goals is to be able to move down to the southern part of Sweden to an area known as Österlen. My daughter lives there. Right now there are 1200 km between us. And the much warmer climate there would suit me better. The area is also rich with different kind ofculture.

What is my most treasured possession?

My dog, my wonderful little Dandie Dinmont boy Angus.

And my car.

Car = freedom

What is my most marked characteristic?

I’m an creative, brave, empathetic and reflective woman who thinks more than I speak. But also a very logical person with a good sense of humor.

What is my most inspirational location in my city?

My city, Umeå, is located close to our major river Umeå älv. I often go down to the water with my camera to find inspiration and to capture all seasonal variations through the year. Proximity to water is crucial for me, because it stands for life and feelings

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city?

I do not have any definite favorite restaurant. It may vary depending on the type of food I feel in the moment. Good food from around the world appeal to me and I love to try new dishes and drinks. And here are several great dining options.

What book influenced my life and?

The book that in my early childhood aroused my lust for reading was “Pippi Longstocking” by Astrid Lindgren. As an adult, I would choose a completely different kind of book, if just one. Then I discovered the excitement of getting to know oneself through dreams and used for example the anthology “The variety of dream experience” edited by Montague Ullman and Claire Limmer.

Who are my favorite writers?

My favorite writers are many! I love reading books by Joyce Carol Oates and Ian McEwan. If in the mood for crime It can be something written by Håkan Nesser or Elisabeth George. The language of Shakespeare also appeals to me.

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen to on my last day?

I think I would choose to listen to Nick Cave. And to the great love song that my partner has written to me.

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction?

Modesty Blaise! At least in my teenage. I don´t think I have had any after that.

Who are my heroes and heroins in real life?

The recently deceased professor Hans Rosling, who started the MSF and with their amazing educational lectures made us understand and see a very different reality on the state of the world than is generally conveyed to us through the media and social media. He was a real hero to me.

Which movie would I recommened to see once in a life time?

If I have to choose only one it would be ”We all loved each other so much” (C’eravamo tanto amati in original) by Ettore Scola.

What role plays art in my life and work?

It plays a great deal! Maybe the greatest I think.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime?

The greatest is my partner! He is all of that.

Who would I like to work with in 2017?

As the social loner I am, I work most preferably, all alone. Even in 2017 …

Which people in my profession would I love to meet in 2017?

I would love to meet, the earlier mentioned, digital artist Erik Johansson

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on?

I look forward working on and finalizing the pictures that I will show up at four booked exhibitions this year. Both photographs and painted images. And to learn more about making digital pictures with my photos.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017?

The exhibitions I have booked so far this year is down in the most southern region of Sweden called Skåne. The nearest in time, in April and May, will be in the cities called Helsingborg and Hörby. Later this year, in the month of August, I will show my pictures at the gallery “GotArt” in Hammenhög. There, I will also be present myself. It may also happen that I participate in a group exhibition at the Galleria Merlino Art in Florence in June, but I have not decided about that yet.

What do the words ”Passion never retires” mean to me?

The fact that my visual arts eyes are always turned on, and my desire to convey these images to others in various ways. That is for me, a passion that never rests.

Where can you contact me?

Lill Söderlund lillsoderlund60@gmail.com

BROUGHT TO YOU BY PETER DE KUSTER

The Heroine’s Journey is brought to you by Peter de Kuster dedicated to educate, amuse and enrich creative professionals.

Almost five years after launching The Heroine’s Journey and The Hero’s Journey, business storyteller Peter has become an irreverent, forceful voice—inspiring people to make make money doing what they love.

To learn more about having Peter speak at your event mail him at peterdekuster@hotmail.nl

 

 

Leave a Reply

