The Heroine’s Journey of Heather Freitas

What is the best thing that I love about my work?
What I love most about my work is the ability to impact everyone in this world regardless of language. Artwork has no barrier and that is a very powerful thing.
What is my idea of perfect happiness?
My idea of perfect happiness is knowing that I am making even the smallest ripple of positive change in our world. Everything everyone does no matter how big or how small can impact people around the world. I do not think that many people put thought into this, and the power that we all have to shape the world around us. My happiness is streamed from this philosophy.
What is my greatest fear?
My greatest fear is fear itself. Fear is very real and can define who we are. That is something I am consistently trying to overcome. The reality is even if we play it safe we never really know the outcome.
What is the trait that I most deplore in myself?
Often times the things we hate about ourselves are the things that make us who we are. My drive is one of them. While others admire it, it is something that I feel takes over my life. When I am passionate about something nothing stops me and it at times can get in the way of me living my life.
Which living persons in my profession do i most admire?
I would have to say that Margert Keane is an inspiration. I can not imagine not being able to take credit for my work and the inner turmoils that she must have underwent. The fact that she overcame fear and took back control of her life and her artwork after everything she went through is inspiration for anyone.
What is my greatest extravagance?
My greatest extravagance would have to be my art studio. I put a lot of long hours remodeling and designing it to be what I wanted. I spend probably more hours in there then most people do at work so it is very important for me to have a space that is comfortable, fashionable and functional. Plus everyone knows that art supplies are expensive!!!
On what occasion would I lie?
I am not sure that any occasion calls for lying to be honest. Every lie no matter how big or how small has the chance of being surfaced only to cause grander issues and setbacks.
What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work?
To dislike something about your work is a reflection upon yourself. Everything we may not like or agree with has the chance to teach us and allow us to grow. I adore what I am doing now, but we all grow and evolve. each piece of artwork I create teaches me about myself and paves the way to further development. Due to that there is nothing I dislike about my work at the moment. We are always growing and expanding and it’s exciting to think of where my work will go from here.
When and where was I the happiest, in my work?
In the Arts it is consistently full of ups and downs. I believe that the happiest moment that I will always remember is the moment I found my signature style. That moment was the moment I found myself.
If I could, what would I change about myself?
Again it would be the limitations I set for myself through fear and my uncontrollable obsession to succeed (my drive). Sometimes I need to slow down and see the world around me which can be hard when I only see the road ahead.
What is my greatest achievement in work?
 I am consistently meeting new goals all the time and that is something very special to me. At this moment in time however I would say that my greatest achievement would be the change that I have provoked within those around me through my artwork. Those rippels can go a long way and travel the world!
Where would I most like to live?
I am very content where I am at now. Ideally it would be somewhere where my whole family would be close.
What is my most treasured possession?
My all seeing eye ring. Upon graduating college my mother gave this ring to me as a gift as a means for growth, prosperity and protection. While it may just be a symbol to some, it is the power that I hold within it that matters!
What is my most marked characteristic?
I would have to say the energy within my passion. If you have enough passion and enthusiasm within yourself it can become contagious.
What is my most inspirational location, in my city?
It is hard to pick one over the other the way I see the world. Everything around us is continually changing every hour of the day. Through my eyes I can see beauty in the most casual of things so for me the entire world around me is an inspiration!
What books influenced my life and how?

Art Inc. This book was wonderful when I first started conciderating putting an effort into making my art a career. It had many stories from living artists and told all their tales of their fears and how they overcame them.

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day?

Music is powerful and I enjoy them all so that is a very difficult question to answer. If it were in this moment I would have to say that it would be Rolling Stones Wild Horses.
Who are my heroes and heroines in real life?
Even though she has passed Frida Kahlo is a huge inspiration to me. Her passion for art was never surrendered even in the tough test of times. She is a grand symbol of perseverence and dedication for me.
 
What role plays art in my life and work?
Art is not a role in my life, but has become the being of who I am. It has gotten to a point where the lines of who I am and what my artwork is has become blurred and is now one in the same. It is something that will never fade and has become imbedded into both who I am and what my work is about.
Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime?
I can not say that any particular person in my life is my greatest sponsor or supporter in my life. I am blessed in the fact that over the years my family has accepted my path in life, and along the way I have surround myself with only friends who support my passion and work. I am a firm believer that we are who we surround ourselves with.
Whom would I like to work with in 2017?
I would really like to work with Ashley Longshore. She has this way of taking serious issues and poking fun of them in a way that is acceptable that I could not. It would be wonderful to address issues together as strong independent women.
What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on?
I am currently working on my Marionettes and Masquerades series which speaks about social contemporary issues that are closest to my heart and still composed out of primarily recycled materials to tie even further the over abundance of modern day issues many of us choose to ignore.
Where can you see me or my work in 2017?
In this last year of my career I have achieved many milestones I could have never dreamed of. The exciting part about this is that I have no idea where I will be in a year as my goals continue to be set higher and higher!
What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me?
Passion never retires is in an essence of who I have become. It is something that I can no longer shake from myself, and something that is starting to define who I am and the world around me!
Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story?
Ashley Longshore, and if you do tell her I’m dying to do a collaboration piece with her!
How can you contact me?
You can view my work at www.heatherfreitas.com , email me at heatherfreitasart@gmail.com and follow my work at Facebook.com/heatherfreitasart

BROUGHT TO YOU BY PETER DE KUSTER

The Heroine’s Journey is brought to you by Peter de Kuster dedicated to educate, amuse and enrich creative professionals.

Almost five years after launching The Heroine’s Journey and The Hero’s Journey, business storyteller Peter has become an irreverent, forceful voice—inspiring people to make make money doing what they love.

To learn more about having Peter speak at your event mail him at peterdekuster@hotmail.nl

Leave a Reply

