The Heroine’s Journey of Nieves R. Rosales

What is the best thing that I love about my work? The best thing of my work is that the stage makes me feel free and allows me to be who I really want to. There is nothing else but that moment. Everything stops on stage.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? It is impossible to me to have an idea of perfect happiness since I am tremendously nonconformist and I think that notion of happiness is relative but if I had to say something, maybe I would say that it is to find the balance.

What is my greatest fear? My greatest fear is undoubtedly being unable to keep on dancing. Of course there are many more fears but I reckon that is the greatest. If I can’t dance, I am not. When I dance, everything is in order.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? Maybe the lack of fellowship. Dance is very individualistic, maybe that is why in Spain it is always at the very bottom among the rest of arts. It is difficult to find sincere friendship in “my world” but it is true that the few I have got, are really good.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? I would select when they called me to let me know that I had won Lorca’s Award to the Best Interpreter and also because of being close in time to have Salvador Tavora, living history, in the audience in Seville and to have the chance to speak with after the performance.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? We have a familiar place where I use to meet my friends and that is fantastic to have drinks, to chat, to read… it is called Itaca, it is a tea-house/library owned by a cousin of mine since around a couple of years. It is a magic place.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? I think that the trait that I most deplore in myself is my self-demandingness, sometimes excessive both in my professional and personal lives. My self-criticism and self-demandingness push me to look for the notion of perfection but that, as is well known, does not exist.

If I could, what would I change about myself? I would like to be less emotional, less sensitive. I don’t like feeling so much affection for people who leave, for those who somehow walk out of my life voluntarily. I would like to be more rational in this sense, more pragmatic.

What is my greatest extravagance? I’m not too obsessive, but I have got extravagances that have to do with my work. For instance, I always practice using long-sleeved, black clothes. The dressing room must be tidy. Tidiness is fundamental for me.

On what occasion would I lie? Very long time ago I decided that lying would not be part of my life, not even on stage where I always play a role. Even on stage I always try to say and do from the truth.

What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life? In my job, the role model is Antonio Gades undoubtedly. That’s because of his way of understanding the dance, his commitment with the job, his professionalism… In life in general, I like strong people, the ones with forward-looking skills. My mother and grand-mother are basic pillars.

What is my greatest achievement in work? I reckon it is to start being recognized by the audience with a personal and signature own style. The fact that my work, my musical style, my way of choreographing… are already recognizable beyond myself.  My greatest achievement is to be able to live from my work. I never wanted to do any other job. I could not and I didn’t want to do any other thing rather than what I do.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? This may sound like a jaded cliché, but the sea brings me peace of mind. When I’m working, I like to go to the beach with the music I’m working with and have a walk.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? I guess my biggest fan is my mother although there are people who already follow my work and travel to other cities to see my performances. I feel indebted with that part of the audience. Regarding my “accomplices”, I’m lucky to have the support of the people around me, who encourage me to continue and who are there to follow up on my progress. I make eye contact with some colleagues when I feel the need to see myself from the outside

Whom would I like to work with in the future? Let’s dream… I would like to work with Israel Galvan. His line of work is tremendously interesting and would allow me to investigate new fields. It would make me grow and leap into the void.

What project, in the nearby future, am I looking forward to work on? I am considering new scripts for the season 2017/2018. The idea is to have a premier for a new show in October, so it is already in motion. I am looking forward to it and I am certain that it will be a new professional challenge.

BROUGHT TO YOU BY PETER DE KUSTER

The Heroine’s Journey is brought to you by Peter de Kuster dedicated to educate, amuse and enrich creative professionals.

Almost five years after launching The Heroine’s Journey and The Hero’s Journey, business storyteller Peter has become an irreverent, forceful voice—inspiring people to make make money doing what they love.

To learn more about having Peter speak at your event mail him at peterdekuster@hotmail.nl

Leave a Reply

