The Heroine’s Journey of Antonia Colasante

What is the best thing that I love about my work?

I’m a consultant, mentor, facilitator and trainer, who uses Corporate Storytelling, a Design Thinking approach and the LEGO® SERIOUS PLAY® method. I support organizations and managers in order to unlock their full business potential. Bricks are a natural story maker tool. So I like writing and listening to stories. And I love playing seriously too.

What is my idea of perfect happiness?

Live my passions deeply. The northern lights. Diving underwater and seeing fishes and natural landscapes.

What is my greatest fear?

Routine! I don’t want to be always the same, I need to change my days and explore new things. I love learning and discovering new “worlds”.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself?

My face never lies. I can’t always exactly say what would be fair to say.

Which living persons in my profession do I most admire?

I try to be a mentor for the people I work with and for those who I train. I also love to be surrounded by inspiring people. At the moment my mentor is Beppe Carrella, who often opens my mind.

What is my greatest extravagance?

I like to listen to a song repeatedly until I hate it.

On what occasion would I lie?

I cannot lie because of my facial expressions. Sometimes, though, I manage to revamp the truth.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work?

The unpredictability. I cannot exactly plan my days because my projects can run faster or slower and nobody knows how or why.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work?

I feel happy when I accomplish my purposes, when I see people embracing change because of my training or counselling. And I’m happy changing with them, enriched by the experiences.

If I could, what would I change about myself?

I’m always changing and that’s fine to me. I love my smiles and my scars.

What is my greatest achievement in work?

My talk at a TEDx in Assisi (https://youtu.be/BNSZO4ni5fI) is one of my biggest achievement. It was about the interesting connection between storytelling and Lego bricks.

Where would I most like to live?

I need the sea: looking for the waves, listening to its noise, smelling it. I dream of a house along the beach.

What is my most marked characteristic?

I’m affected by a compulsive ideas syndrome. I always need to know more, to follow my curiosity, to wear multiple hats, to connect people and their stories.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city?

I don’t know which is my favourite one but I’ll do my best to find out. I love great food and wines and I can suggest some good places in Rome and elsewhere. But I especially appreciated the experience of food when somebody let you go into a story with tastes and sensations.

Who are my favorite writers?

I love reading novels and poems. Italo Calvino, Jonathan Coe, Wislawa Szymborska and many many more. I also love writing.

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day?

I’ll make an appropriate list with my favourite music: from jazz to new wave. The final song will be Hallelujah by Leonard Cohen

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction?

Votantonia. With my friend and working partner Valentina Cinelli, I created this fictional character who was a fake mayoral candidate in Rome city elections last year. Our story broke through social networks reaching newspapers, magazines and radios.

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life?

My parents. They taught me to cope with problems and to overcome any adversity.

Which movie would I recommend to see once in a lifetime?

Una pura formalità by Giuseppe Tornatore, with Gerard Depardieu

What role plays art in my life and work?

Arts plays a key role in my life. I used to take pictures of women around the world, “stealing” their emotions in my photos. They were shown in many Italian towns. I also had some other art shows in Iceland with an Icelandic painter named Thora Einars. They were about the landscapes of this wonderful country. I also wrote some poems and short novels published by small Italian editors.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime?

My friends and colleagues always support me in my projects. But, above all, my husband is my best coach.

Whom would I like to work with in 2017?

Besides my mentor, I’d like to work with somebody I still don’t know. I’d love to find new working partners in order to have something to learn and some experiences to share with them.

Which people in my profession would I love to meet in 2017?

I’d love to meet people from other countries, from different cultures. Their stories might be so rich and unexpected.

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me?

A lifetime of happyness

Where can you see me or my work in 2017? My personal website: http://www.antoniacolasante.com My company website: http://www.agenfap.com

My blog about my alter-ego: http://www.votantonia.it

How can you contact me?

It’s very easy to find me online. Search for antonia colasante or antocolasante on social networks. By the way my email is: antocolasante@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

