The Heroine’s Journey of Chiara Yaya Tafner

What is the best thing that I love about my work?
I love the freedom of being a freelance, I can work from everywhere in the world, all I need is a pc and a working wi-fi.

What is my idea of perfect happiness?
I do not think that perfect happiness is attainable, happiness would not exist without its opposite. Every life experience that makes you grow for me is enough to be happy

What is my greatest fear?
my only fear is to be alone: love and friendship are fundamental to move forward in this life.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself?
I am a person basically satisfied with myself, especially with regard to work, sometimes I’d like to be able to be as good as an housewife

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire?
In the marketing scene I admire Al Ries and in the Non-Profit world my reference person is Gino Strada (Emergency)

What is my greatest extravagance?
I’m a rock and roll person, I try to combine all my passions (music, marketing, helping people) so you can meet me at 3 am at the end of a Malasuerte Fi Sud rock concert wearing leather jacket and boots, and a couple of hours after talking to a customer in a business suit

On what occasion would I lie?
It is really difficult for me to lie, the only lies I accept are the ones said with good intentions and that will not hurt anyone

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work?
The marketing world is not easy, I really don’t like to deal with colleagues with no ethics

When and where was I the happiest, in my work?
My happiest time in work is when I can combine my marketing skills to promote good cause as with the “Brigate di Solidarietà Attiva” that are now working in the area of the earthquake in central Italy (brigatesolidarietaattiva.net). The happiest time I’ll always remember is the time spent working for the BSA, both in camps in the earthquake zone than working on pc managing their communication

If I could, what would I change about myself?
I get up every day hoping that things will always remain this way and that every morning I’ll be able to look in the mirror and smile to myself

What is my greatest achievement in work?
I love my job, I love being able to choose my clients and not have to accept everything that has been proposed. I am convinced that happiness does not come from money, so I need very little to be happy and being able to devote my time and my professionalism to the things that I think are really important is a great achievement

Where would I most like to live?
I love big cities like London or New York, but I actually live in the Tuscany countryside near Florence. My dream is to be able to live on the seaside in a warm place (Uruguay? Maybe!)

What is my most treasured possession?
I’m not tied to material objects but the thing which never separate myself is a ring that my grandfather gave to my grandmother more than 70 years ago

What is my most marked characteristic?
My friends and comrades have coined this slogan for me: my name is Yaya and I solve problems I think they’re right

What is my most inspirational location, in my city?
I live in a small town in the countryside near Florence, when I lack inspiration I go out and I take a walk in the woods with my 3 dogs, when I return home (that is my office too) everything is clearer and I can get back to work

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city?
I love to eat, I think that is one of the pleasure of life, so I can easily eat lampredotto in a street food van or go to a 5 star restaurant and enjoy both

What books influenced my life and how?
George Orwell’s Animal Farm is the book that influenced me most, the sentence: “All animals are equal, but some animals are more equal than others.” changed my way to look at life.

Who are my favorite writers?
I love reading but Daniel Pennac, Massimo Carlotto, Stephen King and Naomi Klein are my favorite writers

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day?
If a could know the day I’ll die I’ll try to listen to all the music I’ve never listen before!

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction?
Robin Hood

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life?
All the people who struggle everyday for a better and equal world!

Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime?
The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy

What role plays art in my life and work?
Art is the foundation on which I build my every move. The art is in everything I do, both at work and in my spare time

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime?
My family, my boyfriend, my friends and my comrades are my greatest partner in crime in all my life

Whom would I like to work with in 2017?
I’d love to keep working with BSA and start working with Emergency

Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017?
I’d love to meet people that work with my ethics and view of life, I don’t look at gurus, I try to learn from them but i don’t make them heroes.

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on?
I look forward to work on any non-profit project that match my beliefs

Where can you see me or my work in 2017?
You can see me on stages, in the BSA camps in earthquake zone and, obviously, on the web

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me?
“Passion Never Retires” means that until you have passions you will never are old enough to retire

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story?
I think you should invite Mariangela Salafia

How can you contact me?
You can contact me by mail at chiaratafner@gmail.com or by linkedin at www.linkedin.com/in/chiaratafner

Leave a Reply

