The Heroine’s Journey of Estelle Riviere aka Monsterlune

What is the best thing that I love about my work?
I love to put all the mess of my fabrics everywhere around me like a swimingpool of fabrics and improvise some weird style on a pulsion of creativity.
Or take my canevas and paints, just let go my feelings in a mix of colours.
What is my idea of perfect happiness?
Felling free, with no worries about money, having a big space for myself to work, a castle will be perfect and create lots of things, with the sun!
What is my greatest fear?  
to be in a room full of hearwigs, crawling creatures and wasps
What is the trait that I most deplore in myself?
my lack of perseverance.. i tend to give up things easily and not fight enough but i work on it!
Which living persons in my profession do i most admire?
As i have several professions.. there are lots of people, but some artists women i met in London this last year, like Sue Kreitzman, Diane Goldie, Marnie Scarlet, Anne Sophie Cochevelou, Izaskun Gonzalez.. and a few more!
Very stimulating and positives personnes. I wish i could see them more to feel better and stronger!
What is my greatest extravagance?  
Transforming myself into a strange creature from another world with my masks and weird  costumes.
On what occasion would I lie?  
To not hurt somebody
What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work?
Sometimes it s a bit too dark and tormented, i ll like to go towards the light and colour more.. to be more funtastic!
When and where was I the happiest, in my work?
When i started to make some masks(hoods) long time ago in my little world in Paris,
i found the way to make them and started to wear them in Parisian nights, it had a very surprising effect on people,
and it was extremely exciting for me! as i like to surprise.
Now we see masks everywhere, everything is more or less seen and it s difficult to surprise anyone.
If I could, what would I change about myself?
I wish i could have more sense of humour, being more light and less shy .
What is my greatest achievement in work?
I didnt do enough great achievement yet but my recent costume
of a giant fly agaric was quite a challenge! and more to come..!
Where would I most like to live?
I love to live in London, i come from Paris but i feel really much more happy here,
even if i miss Paris, i have more fun in this city!
What is my most treasured possession?
My old dog cuddling toy Poppet, my child companion.
What is my most marked characteristic? 
I m like a chameleon and have lots of different tastes, i m interested in all kind of things..
That s why i like to have multiple faces, and make masks!
What is my most inspirational location, in my city?
I ll say Gods Own Junkyard, the place where I work, a huge neon place in Walthamstow.
What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city?
Sarastro in covent garden, Edith s House in crouch end , the nags head in walthamstow, Sketch! this incredible bar restaurant in Mayfair ,
 The Citie of Yorke an amazing pub in Holborn..
What books influenced my life and how?  
Yoko Ogawa : La petite piece hexagonale, Lost Souls by Poppy Z Brite, Soleil des Loups by Pierre Yves de mandrargue, Madame Bovary..
Who are my favourite writers?
Lovecraft – Guy de Maupassant – Yoko Ogawa – Stephen King – Amelie Nothomb..
You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day?
 I m very sensitive with music and I cant imagine myself listening some music I ll love thinking I m dying.
But if I have to choose something it ll be VERY dark and terrible!
To be in the mood of death!  Nothing too emotional.. maybe some black metal!
Who is my hero or heroine in fiction?
Dracula , since I m a child I always been fascinated by vampires, because I want to live forever.
Who are my heroes and heroines in real life? 
David Lynch, Louise Bourgeois, Nina Hagen,
Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime?
This is a difficult question, as I love films so much I have so many tastes, it depend of my mood at the times! But I can give a few exemples..  I love The Double Life of Veronika ( Kieslowsky) Betty Blue (Beineix) Wild at Heart (Lynch) Pink Flamingo (John Waters) Amelie , La ceremonie (Chabrol) ….
What role plays art in my life and work?
Art always been in me, it help me to express my feelings and share bits of myself through creations, in different support, painting, costumes, dolls, objects.. It s what keep me happy and positive because life isn’t always easy.
Whom would I like to work with in 2017?  
I m quite independent, I like to collaborate sometimes but in general I prefer to work for myself.
Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017?
Actually I love to meet people in different artistic expression, also collaborate, it stimulate me and inspire me, the person I must meet since years and I never did, is Stephane Blanquet, a Parisian Artist.
What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on?
The project of creating some more spectacular costumes to please myself and people around me.
Where can you see me or my work in 2017?
I ll be doing a little cabaret surrealist show the 2nd  of June in Stoke Newington, at The Others and for the next steps I don’t know yet!
What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me?
When we have this passion inside us of creating things, it s important to keep it burning and for this we have to open our mind to the world, to people.
Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story?
Damien Frost
Gaynor Perry
Izaskun
Sue Harding
Leave a Reply

