The Heroine’s Journey of Macarena Madariaga Caro

What is the best thing that I love about my work?

I love to use my abilities of perception, intuition and analysis to really listen to others and in so, helping them reach their full potential as human beings, realizing their own path to happiness and self-appreciation.

What is my idea of perfect happiness?

Happiness are those fleeting moments when you realize that you are here, present and alive, and everything is perfect just as it is. Being happy for me is looking at my son, hearing him laugh, talk and sing, knowing that he is happy.

What is my greatest fear?

I guess my greatest fear, besides losing my son, is to be unable to reach my personal goals, by letting myself go in “pause mode”, getting bored and do nothing about it, because I know I tend to do this if I’m not focused.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself?

Sloth, although that is not who I am anymore. I hated that fear made me search for security inside my home or my daydreaming. Now I know that I’m not a lazy person, on the contrary, I tend to love work and being busy.

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire?

I’m not the admiring type of gal. I do admire certain things in people, generally their strength, assertiveness, or their ability to express their ideas.

What is my greatest extravagance?

The artist in me must have beautiful presentations, I do not like ugly things and I make certain I don’t make them. So I tend to be overly careful of everything I produce has my own signature, because the thing is, I’m not even sure If everyone else thinks that I do things beautifully, and I don’t care. It’s for me.

On what occasion would I lie?

I do not lie because as my mom says, you can catch sooner a liar than a thief. But I can omit, if information I have will only produce sorrow and not solutions or actions to better the situation.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work?

That I have to seek clients or patients. People tend to postpone their own wellbeing for other things, and even more so if it means to work on yourself, and getting out of a cozy comfort zone to achieve internal development.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work?

Every time I felt that my client is making progress, has an insight, changes and resolves a new path, with a wider perspective and a better appreciation of life.

If I could, what would I change about myself?

I would want to be wiser, have more patience and not worry so much about everything. But I know that only living will make me learn, if I have the will to do so.

What is my greatest achievement in work?

To be appreciated for my skills, knowledge and professionalism is nice, but to gain the trust and appreciation of the people I get to know through my work is even more valuable to me right now.

Where would I most like to live?

I love many cities of the world, Barcelona, London, Buenos Aires, are my top ones, but right now, my hometown, Viña del Mar in Chile, is where I would most like to live. It’s a small city that looks at the ocean. And most importantly, my parents live there and my son is really happy when he visits.

What is my most treasured possession?

I would like to say my cats (I have 3), but it’s more likely that they own me and not the other way around. So it’s really my phone, because it connects me to everyone I care about, keeps me informed, and provides me with music when I go for long walks or have a run.

What is my most marked characteristic?

I have to say it is my particular way of understanding everything, because it gives me a funny sense of humor and a creative way to present my ideas. My quirkiness has taught me to listen and to value all type of diversity in others too, and that is something that people recognize in me as a main characteristic.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city?

It is a cliché but for me is the ocean in my home town Viña del Mar. Its waves, colors and strength. I grew up looking at it and there is no other life force to me bigger than the Pacific. And that inspires me.

What is my favorite place to eat and drink, in my city?

It would be Barrio Italia in Santiago. I’m a vegetarian and I always seek restaurants that have a veggie menu. Barrio Italia is perfect because it has a lot of places that offer meatless dishes, without them being boring. The place itself is surrounded by little design shops, venues to drink all types of beverages and it´s cool as hell… may be a bit on the hipster side, but that’s ok.

What books influenced my life and how?

I’m a book worm so I can’t decide which ones have influenced me… they all have! Right now I’m almost finishing Mandela´s biography. I do think he was as stubborn as hell, and that is not something I think of as an excellent trade, but it is something I identify with. Certainly Quino´s Mafalda has influenced me so much in my life that I guess we even look alike (it’s a comic of an Argentinian writer). I grew up with those comics at my family home and, like most people in my generation (Chilean and Argentinian at least), know all the lines by heart.

Who are my favorite writers?

Since I read everything, I have a lot of favorite writers. Some of them are: Murakami, the Brontë sisters, Poe, Freud, Quino, Borges, Cortázar, María Luisa Bombal. This last author was born in my home town and I had to read her work at school, but even today I find myself remembering and loving her stories.

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day?

“Endsmouth” by Agents of Oblivion and “Monkey Gone to Heaven” by Pixies.

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction?

Now a days is Hannah from Girls (HBO). She is a complicated character, but what makes me admire her is her uniqueness and her realness. She is who she is and doesn’t apologize, doesn’t hide or fake it. An important part of it is that she is free to show her body, without being ashamed or self-conscious, even though she doesn’t fit the ideal type of our time (super skinny, toned, etc.). And Lisa Simpson.

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life?

Pretty much in the same line, I admire women that break the mold. Right now I find important to follow body activists like Ashley Graham or Dana Falsetti. They are heroines to me because they are brave and fight for what is a most basic and necessary right, to be free to be yourself in every shape and size, without fear of bodyshaming by yourself and others.

Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime?

David Lynch´s Lost Highway, just because I would really like to hear what people understand of that movie. Everyone has their own view of it and well, it is a cult movie.

What role plays art in my life and work?

It is essential for me to surround myself with different forms of art and with people who appreciate it. I am an artist because I create and search and feel the need to express myself through my work and life. All though I’m not a professional artist, I don’t conceive my life without art.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime?

My husband. He supports me and my ideas, even though sometimes he is not quite convinced of them. He believes in me even when I don’t.

Whom would I like to work with in 2017?

I would like to work with someone who shares their wisdom and at the same time lets you fly and do your own thing.

Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017?

I would love to meet professionals who do what they preach.

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on?

I am working on being an independent coach, to have my own practice and to make my living through awesome coaching experiences.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017?

I work in Santiago de Chile, but you can contact me through linkedin or e-mail. Soon I will have my own blog/ webpage and Instagram open for everyone to see (right know it is private).

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me?

It means that as long as I’m passionate about my purpose and goals, nothing can stop me.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story?

My sisters: Montserrat Madariaga Caro and Mariana Madariaga Caro.

How can you contact me? https://www.linkedin.com/in/macarena-madariaga-caro-6041b234/ Macarena.madariaga.c@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

