The Heroine’s Journey of Karen Krist

What is the best thing that I love about my work? The best thing I love about my work, is to work with people and being creative at the same time. I love what make-up does to a face and the woman in general. Make-up must be a tool which empowers you as a person not to create a mask. I want your inner beauty to shine through to the outer you, so you will feel stronger and more self assured. In my Make-up Academy I hope to inspire my students to be as passionate as I am being a Make-up Artist.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? For me perfect happiness is doing what you love. When your work is your hobby you never work a day in your life!

What is my greatest fear My greatest fear is not to be able to use my hands. My hands are my tools. It would be heartbreaking for me if I can’t do the one I love doing the most.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? I am very impatient.

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire? Ellis Faas. She is a Dutch make-up artist working for the most fashionable magazines and designers and has her own make-up line What is my greatest extravagance? Make-up! I have to have every new product on the market.

On what occasion would I lie? Sometimes a little white lie is better than the truth.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? Not knowing if you get any bookings tomorrow or next week.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? I am always happy in my work. Every woman or photoshoot is different that is what I love about it.

If I could, what would I change about myself? Putting myself first.

What is my greatest achievement in work? Starting my own make-up academy.

Where would I most like to live? I am happy in The Netherlands. My children, parents and friend live here.

What is my most treasured possession? A ring from my deceased grandma.

What is my most marked characteristic? I am a go-getter

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? For inspiration you have to go to Amsterdam. So many extra ordinary people. I love it when people dare to be different.

What is my favorite place to eat and drink, in my city? I like going to Haarlem. I lived there for many years so it’s like going home for me. I don’t have a favorite place there are so many restaurants to explore.

What books influenced my life and how? How to heal your life from Louisa Hay. It helped me to be positive in emotional times.

Who are my favorite writers? Karin Slaughter and Nicci French.

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day? Keane / Bend and Break

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction? Ayla from the book The Clan of the Cave Bear

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life? My father who is always positive and is a true inspiration

Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime? Every animation movie of Pixar.

What role plays art in my life and work? Art is my work and very important in my work.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? My greatest fan

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on? I started a new partnership in matchmaking. We want to make women and men more self conscious and we have a unique way of matching people.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017? Probably in The Netherlands, but my new partnership could bring me all over the world. You never know.

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me? Everything. When there is no passion there is no life.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story? Angelique Broers my new partner in crime.

How can you contact me? You can contact me through my website http://www.make-upacademy.nl or email info@make-upacademy.nl

Leave a Reply

