The Heroine’s Journey of Paola Barzi

What is the best thing that I love about my work? Ho sempre avuto un duplice amore nella mia vita lavorativa; l’amore per la scienza da una parte e quella dell’arte dall’altra. Quale biologa impiegata in una industria farmaceutica multinazionale amo sapere che è anche grazie al mio contributo giornaliero nello sviluppare nuovi farmaci la qualità della vita di molti pazienti affetti da varie patologie possa migliorare e molte vite possano essere salvate. D’altro canto l’artista che è in me ama trasmettere ogni volta emozioni diverse e vivere intensamente la passione di interpretare i più svariati ruoli, da attrice, a comparsa a cantante o ballerina. Questo mio dualismo di interessi mi rende doppiamente viva ed energica.

I have always had two loves in my working life; the love for science and the love for the theater & arts. The first by being part of an International Pharmaceutical company. I love the fact that even my daily contribution in the development of new pharmaceutical drugs improves the quality of many patients who are affected by numerous health conditions. Many lives may be improved and possibly saved through my scientific support. My second love, which is my acting & singing, allows me to intensely interpret different roles as actress, singer and dancer. This paired lifestyle allows me to live life with intensified energy and vitality.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? La mia idea perfetta di felicita’ è quella di poter arrivare a vivere ogni secondo della mia vita facendo ciò che amo, avendo più tempo per coltivare le mie passioni e poter vivere le emozioni più grandi e vere insieme alle persone più importanti nella mia vita, insieme ai miei figli.

My perfect idea of happiness is the ability to live every second of my life by doing what I love, having more time to cultivate my passions, and to live the greatest true, sensations with the most important people in my life; my children.

What is my greatest fear? Mi terrorizza il fatto di vedere le persone che amo soffrire a causa di una mia malattia.. non lo sopporterei…

I am terrified by seeing the people I love suffer because of I may be sick one day. I could not bear the fact that my children may suffer for me.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? Io mi rendo conto che vivo molte situazione in modo assoluto: o tutto bianco, o tutto nero, senza sfumature..forse sarà perchè sono una straconvinta tifosa della Juventus !!

I realize that I live many situations totally: either black of white. I don’t have gray areas…..maybe it is due to the fact that I am a total Juventus soccer fan!!

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire? Le persone che dedicano la loro vita alla ricerca scientifica per salvare vite umane.

 

The people who devote their lives to scientific research to save human lives.

What is my greatest extravagance? Non sono una persona stravagante nell’aspetto, ma di sicuro lo sono per le mie duplici e così diversificate passioni.

Physically, I am not an extravagant person, but for sure, my twin passions that are so diversified from each other, are very extravagant!

On what occasion would I lie? Mentire non mi piace, preferisco sempre dire ciò che penso anche se può a volte non essere piacevole e molto faticoso. Potrei forse mentire per non far soffrire gli altri.

I do not like to lie. I always prefer to say what I think, even though it may sometimes not be pleasant. I would lie if I knew that the truth would be too much to handle for that person.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? La routine e la staticità nella vita lavorativa che ti fà perdere l’entusiasmo. Nel lavoro amo tutto ciò che è in movimento, in continua evoluzione e che può riservarti nuove e belle sorprese; stare dietro ad un ciak è tutto questo.

The routine and fixed activities, in working life which makes you lose enthusiasm. In work life, I love everything that moves; constantly changing and brings new and innovative surprises; being behind the movie camera gives you this rush.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? Ogni volta che ho potuto realizzare i miei sogni e sentirmi viva. Le mie prime esperienze televisive degli anni 90 a “Domenica In” con Gianni Boncompagni credo siano difficili da dimenticare!

 

Every time I was able to grasp one of my dreams and felt alive. My first experiences, in the 90s on the television show “Domenica In” with Gianni Boncompagni are almost impossible to forget!

If I could, what would I change about myself Nulla come carattere, mi piace la mia estrema solarità, il mio sorriso ed il modo in cui mi relaziono con gli altri. Se invece si tratta di estetica…beh, ne possiamo parlare!!!

Nothing in my character: I like my vivacity, my smile and the way I relate to others. If it comes to enhancing my beauty … well, we can talk about it later!

What is my greatest achievement in work? Il sapere di essere rispettata ed apprezzata per come sono. Tutto quel che fino ad ora sono riuscita a raggiungere lo ho ottenuto solo essendo me stessa sempre.

Knowing that I am respected and appreciated for who I am. Everything that I have accomplished up until now, I have reached by always being true to myself.

Where would I most like to live? Londra è sempre stata la città in cui mi piacerebbe vivere. E’ una città piena di vita, stimolante, in continuo movimento, sempre diversa.. come me…

London has always been the city where I would live. It is a city full of life, motivating, always in motion, always different … like me.

What is my most treasured possession? La mia famiglia ed il ricordo dei miei genitori che hanno permesso che io diventassi la donna che sono

 

My family and the memory of my parents who have allowed me to become the woman I am today.

What is my most marked characteristic? Di sicuro la mia solarità’. Mi piace vivere al massimo e sempre con il sorriso sulle labbra anche quando la vita ti sottopone a dure prove.

Certainly my sunny disposition. I like to live at the fullest and always with a smile even when life puts you through difficult challenges.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? Non ne ho uno in particolare; ogni angolo di Roma trasmette emozioni per la sua unicità.

I don’t have any in particular; Rome conveys emotions, due to its uniqueness, in every corner.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? I piccoli locali dove è possibile assaporare piatti tipici con le tradizionali ricette romane La trattoria “Cotto e Magnato” è un luogo che adoro.

The small “trattorie” where you can taste typical dishes with traditional Roman recipes. The restaurant, “Cotto and Magnato”, is a place that I love.

What books influenced my life and how? Di sicuro “L’alchimista” di Paulo Coelho, un fantastico libro che racconta la storia di un viaggio alla ricerca di se stessi e dei più importanti sentimenti. Poi “Una lunga scala fino al cielo” e “La forza che è in te” di Rosemary Altea che ho letto in un periodo molto triste della mia vita a seguito della scomparsa di mia Madre; mi hanno aiutato a rasserenarmi ed a darmi la consapevolezza di credere in me ed alla mia forza interiore per andare avanti.

For sure, “The Alchemist” by Paulo Coelho, a fantastic book that tells the story of a journey in search of oneself and his most important emotions. Then “A Long Stairway to Heaven” and “The Strength that is in you” Rosemary Altea. I read it in a particularly sad period in my life, following the loss of my mother. It helped me embrace the huge loss and gave me the knowledge to believe in myself and using my inner strength to keep going ahead in life.

Who are my favorite writers? Non ho uno scrittore preferito, mi piace il genere di narrativa giallo, in particolare con sfondo thriller-medico

I do not have a favorite author. I like the kind of narrative yellow, especially with thriller-medical background

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day? Senza dubbio “I will survive” di Gloria Gaynor

Without a doubt, “I will survive” by Gloria Gaynor.

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction? Adoro l’acutezza di Emily Deschanel in “Bones”.

I love the acuity of Emily Deschanel in “Bones”.

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life? Tanti sono i tipi di eroi nella vita reale; chi salva le vite umane a seguito di terremoti, chi fà volontariato regalando un sorriso ai bambini malati nei reparti oncologici.

There are many types of heroes in real life; heroes who save human lives in catastrophe situations such as earthquakes or, those who work as volunteers by giving smiles to sick children.

Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime? Flashdance è il mio film, il film della mia vita, il mio sogno da bambina che continuerò ad avere nonostante l’età che avanza.” “…Take your passion and make it happen…”

Flashdance is my film of choice, the film of my life, my dream as a child that I will continue to have, despite my advancing age. “” … Take your passion and make it happen … ”

What role plays art in my life and work? L’Arte è l’espressione pura di se stessi in tante forme e per me ha un ruolo fondamentale nella mia vita, sia quando recito in un Film o canto in un locale o quando ad una Conferenza scientifica

 

Art is the pure expression of myself, found under many forms and for me, it has a fundamental role; when I recite in a movie, sing in a nightclub or when I am attending a scientific conference/ seminar.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? Le mie amiche più care e le mie cugine con cui ho condiviso e condivido tutta la mia vita….

My closest friends and my cousins with whom I have shared and I continue to share my entire life ….

Whom would I like to work with in 2017? Per quanto riguarda la mia passione artistica di sicuro Paolo Sorrentino, sarebbe un onore poter lavorare con lui.

I would love to work with Paolo Sorrentino. It would be an honor to do so.

Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017? Mi piacerebbe molto incontrare Paola Cortellesi, una stupenda attrice in cui mi ci rivedo per la solarità, semplicità, comicità e soprattutto per le molteplici sfaccettature in campo artistico

I would love to meet Paola Cortellesi, a lovely actress who resembles my life style, i.e. happy disposition, humble, funny and most of all, she loves art.

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on? Per il mio interesse artistico “D’Improvviso” di Sendy Giamattei per la regia di Giuliano Pagani ed altri lavori per il cinema in fase di preparazione

For my personal interest in art, “All of a Sudden” by Sendy Giamattei directed by Giuliano Pagani and other film work under the production phase.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017? Al cinema nei films ”Sole, Cuore, Amore,” di Daniele Vicari, “Amori che non sanno stare al mondo” di Francesca Comencini ed in tv nella serie “Suburra” dove ho partecipato come figurazione

At the movies, the films “Sun, Heart, Love,” by Daniele Vicari, ” Amori che non sanno stare al mondo ” by Francesca Comencini and on TV, the “Suburra” series where I participated as an extra.

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me? Significa che se hai una Passione la devi alimentarla e tenerla sempre viva a qualsiasi età.. Passione e Sogni aiutano a vivere.

 

It means that if you have a passion for something, you have to continuously feed it and keep it alive at any age. Passion and Dreams help us live!

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story? Francesca Mantellini e Doralba Picerno

How can you contact me? Profilo Facebook o paolamicro64@gmail.com.

You can contact me at my Facebook profile or at my email address: paolamicro64@gmail.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

