The Heroine’s Journey of Vanessa Edwards

What is the best thing that I love about my work?

The freedom to paint art with someone using their body as a canvas, sharing the magic of creating something amazing with them.

What is my idea of perfect happiness?

To have the freedom to create art every day, and to have my own studio. to be able to create workshops for people to share the art.

What is my greatest fear?

I try not to think about negative fears too much as you might make it happen just thinking about it.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself?

I worry too much about everyone and anything.

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire?

There are so many great bodypainting artistes I admire, like bodypainting artistes Joanne Gair, Nelly Recchia, Craig Tracy and make-up artist Pat McGrath. There are too many to mention.

What is my greatest extravagance?

My Bronica ETRSI, plus my Nikon camera and all the equipment that goes with photography and of course my Airbrush and compressor, arts and crafts.

On what occasion would I lie?

I hate lies, honesty is the best policy, unless its a white lie to protect someone’s feelings.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work?

Hypocrisy, When you are told you will never win a bodypainting competition because you dont play the game. .. but I did come 2nd in the UK bodypainting competition.

And I get tired of putting my lighting equipment together and cleaning my brushes.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work?

2006 in Milan working for D&G with so many creative artists. Everything was so exciting and beautiful to me.

If I could, what would I change about myself?

Not to blush so often. I am too critical of myself and too sensitive.

What is my greatest achievement in work?

Making people feel good about themselves. I bodypainted a woman who had a mastectomy and when she saw the photograph she was so happy. she said I had made her feel beautiful.

Where would I most like to live?

Any City, I like busy cities, As long I am safe and warm with loved ones around me and space to create art.

What is my most treasured possession?

My camera & brushes

What is my most marked characteristic?

My smile and my infectious laugh.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city?

Waverley Abbey Ruins and Frensham Ponds

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city?

Bengal Dynasty in Chertsey.

What books influenced my life and how?

I dont read often I am too busy creating art, I have never found reading easy, my mind wonders.

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day?

The Clash ‘Go Straight to Hell – JP Harvey and Nick Cave & Friends ‘Death is not the End’

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction?

My childhood fictional character was Mr Benn created by David McKee. Mr Benn visits a fancy dress shop and when he enters a magic dressing room it takes him on a great adventures.

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life?

My mum is the strongest person I know who went blind when I was 2 years old caused by a brain tumour. luckily after treatment she regained sight in one eye. She is also an artist so when I was growing up there was always plenty of paints and brushes around the house to be creative.

Which movie would I recommend to see once in a lifetime?

There are so many great movies that I love.
‘Interview with a Vampire’ ‘Willow’ ‘Mad Max 2’ ‘Green Mile’

What role plays art in my life and work?

I am addicted to bodypainting, I have withdrawal symptoms of sadness if I haven’t painted for awhile. .

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime?

My husband, and my sons.

Whom would I like to work with in 2017?

Any kind person with an interest in art.

Which people in my profession would I love to meet in 2017?

Joanne Gair.

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to working on?

I am looking forward to working on a music video for Cystic Fibrosis charity very soon.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017?
www.photoness.co.uk

www.creativeglamour.co.uk

https://www.facebook.com/bodypaintervanessa

https://www.instagram.com/vanessa_wayne_bodypainting

https://twitter.com/creativeglamour

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=seSLgX-5ftc&t=21s

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me?

I will be painting forever!

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story?

Carolyn Cowan

How can you contact me?

You can contact me UK mob: 07888677802
email: vanessa@photoness.co.uk

Leave a Reply

