The Heroine’s Journey of Babette van den Berg

My name is Babette van den Berg, Digital Artist from Dronten in the Netherlands with a specialty in Fantasy Art I come from a lineage of artists. My Grandfather painted with oils and my father owned his own agency which was specialized in Photography and publishing. These influences are the foundations for my work in illustrations and art. I remember as a little girl, I would rush after school to watch the artist in my father’s agency create designs. In 2010, I started making digital artworks of my own. I have designed covers for books, CD’s, made illustrations for books and card decks and have my own gallery with Fantasy Art.

What’s the best thing I like about my job?

The most I like about my work is that it is in all ways creative and I can use my imagination for making art and also it has a lots of diversify. It is wonderful to create art for people and make them happy with an artwork for their home, or for other purposes. My work ranges from creating art on the wall, book covers, illustrations, CD covers, develop spiritual cards and create my own artwork for sale. It is wonderful I can put my feelings into my work and use my imagination to create artworks.

What is my idea of perfect happiness?

My idea of perfect happiness would be that there would be more love and happiness in this world. That there would be more empathy in the world for other people. But maybe it is too much wishful thinking and try to create myself an ideal image. We currently live in a highly individual world. The ego, it’s all about me. As I concern I often create artworks with my emotions about this matter.

What is my biggest fear?

-My biggest fear is an artist’s block, just as a writer that could have. Fortunately, this rarely happens to me and if it happens, it turns itself back on and I pick up the thread again. But, yes, it is my biggest fear if I would not longer know what to create in my profession.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself?

I am a perfectionist. This can sometimes be annoying and in my way, because you never are really satisfied and you want the best. You criticize yourself too much on the created work. On the other hand, you stay sharp and you work on your own improvement in your work.I think growth in your work is always good.

Which living persons in my profession do I most admire?

There are several digital artists that I admire for their wonderful work. They are a source of inspiration for many people. One of my favorite artists is Judas Art. He was my source of inspiration for digital art. Judas Art also encouraged me to take this step into the digital world and make my work out of it. And there is another artist in photography and Fantasy that I admire, Kirsty Mitchell, although her work is very different from mine, my God, what a wonderful art she create!

What is my greatest extravagance?

I think the greatest extravagance is wearing my costumes at the fairs as in a fantasy world. Obviously this is not something I wear in everyday life, but I love to wear costumes at fairs/ events. Some people find that outrageous, I love it! I love the Fantasy world.

On what occasion would I lie?

First of all I do not like lies at all. I don’t like it when people lie to me and I also don’t like to hurt people by lies. But we all lie sometimes in some way. In my case I lie to people if they ask me how I am doing and I always say that I am fine even if I am not. Sure the people who are close to me will know that I am not.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work?

There are not much things I do not like in my work, but the administration is one thing that I don’t like much, this is because I prefer to keep myself busy with my art instead of all the paperwork that you have to read everyday. Of course this is also part of my job, so I take it for granted.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work?

I am most happy when I can work and be creative on my assignments and my own art at home. And also on the events/fairs. To me the fair is certainly a moment of beautiful happiness. The costumes, the people, the inspiration, everything makes my work complete at a fair. It’s fantastic to work with a whole team together and do photo shoots with the photographer and customers for a new artwork. Afterwards it is so wonderful if the result is good and the costumer is happy with their new artwork.

If I could, what would I change about myself?

Your inner and outer changes constant in life. Life is a large playfield with ups and downs and also you change yourself by experience and through age. Everything is in constant motion. I am satisfied in many ways. But if I could change something right now about myself, it would be my health. I also want to develop myself more in photography. Take school classes to explore and learn to get better results.

What is my greatest achievement in work?

My greatest achievement in my work, well I think to create something original over and over for the customer. This is also the most beautiful and imaginative challenge in my work. I am also very proud of the spiritual oracle cards, The Mystical Fairies Oracle (Het Mystieke Elfen Orakel), that I have designed and developed with Maria Hartjes (author). And the book covers from Joshua Telkamp and Isabella and Irena de Wardin.

Where would I most like to live?

Home sweet home, I’m really happy where I live now. I would just prefer to travel a lot and visit different countries and cultures. Each country has its own beauty and inspiration.

What is my most treasured possession?

My family, friends and my dogs, two dachshunds and a Golden Retriever. They are the most beautiful gifts of life. Nothing is more important than this.

What is my most marked characteristic?

My most marked characteristic is my creativity and care about people that I love, and I have perseverance. When there are obstacles I can be silent and return to myself, but I’ll end up with a solution and go through combative. People say I’m a creative, imaginative, loving, spontaneous, honest, humorous, empathetic, courageous, stubborn and combative person with perseverance.

What is my most inspirational location in my city?

Nature is one of my greatest inspiring locations. I live in the polder near a village. So many pastures and agricultural farming are around me. But the peace that comes from there’s been a wonderful experience in itself. I like being in my garden. My beautiful roses, trees, plants, butterflies and insects are all a great source of inspiration. I also like to sit by the water in the nearby neighborhood.

What is my favorite place to eat and drink in my city?

I love to have a good dinner! Unfortunately there is not much to do in my city, so I usually go out with some friends or family and go to a restaurant elsewhere in one of the bigger cities. I like all kinds of places and different kind of food.

What books influenced my life and how?

I’m not really a reader. But right at this moment I am reading a fantasy series by Terry Goodkind, The legends of the Seeker. So I think the schoolbooks in my youth had the most influence on my life so far. Because of this I was able to develop myself.

Who are my favorite writers?

My favorite writers are Terry Goodkind and Tolkien. I love Fantasy books.

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day?

I like different music genres, so it depends on how I feel on my last day, hahaha. But I think I will listen to the Motown music and Classical music like Vivaldi with the Four seasons and Albinoli with Adagio.

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction?

Kahlan Amnell, the confessor, my heroine. This is because she fights against the evil committed to humanity and her country. Arwin is also my heroine form Lord of the Rings. She also struggles for humanity and the world. She defeats the evil in collaboration with other fictional characters that I love too.

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life?

My heroes and heroines in real life are my mother and my two best friends. In good and bad times they are my support and help in many ways. We laugh a lot and Laughter is so healthy and important in life! They are my heroes in my daily life.

What movie I would recommend to see once in a lifetime?

I think most of the people seen this movie, but the trilogy of Lord of the Rings, I find very beautiful. This film includes everything on the eye of fantasy, romance, struggle between good and evil, friendship and magic. A rich and colorful fantasy film that inspires me in many ways. I found this fantastic film itself.

What role does art in my life and work?

Art is my daily work and life, these are inseparable. I like to create and even when I am in my free time there is creativity that pops up by seeing things, or speaking to people. Every day is a new day for making art.

Who are my greatest fan, sponsor, and partner in crime?

I have lots of lovely people who support me and admire my artworks, which in itself is a wonderful gift. And I do have a partner in crime, Dick Carlier from the Netherlands, a photographer with a passion and love for his job in Fantasy photography. In collaboration with him we make art for costumers at the fair and at the studio. Also my mum and Sandra van Miltenburg are my great partners and supporters at the fairs.

Whom would I like to work with in 2017?

I have not really a person in mind. I know that I am going to work again with Joshua Telkamp and Isabella and Irena de Wardin for the book covers, also I am going to work with Maria Hartjes for 2 new Spiritual Cards projects. I would like to meet a publisher in 2017 for bring out the new spiritual cards that we have been created. I like all kinds of projects that coming on my way, it is always a new adventure to be creative in projects.

Which people in my profession would I love to meet in 2017?

I would like to meet Kirsty Mitchell. Even if she is not really in my profession, but her creativity and passion for fantasy work is amazing. This also applies to Jamari Lior.

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on?

I love my currently working on several projects; I started a new collection of Magic Tree Art and the Steampunk animal art. The book covers and the spiritual cards, and the commissions for the costumers. Also I would like to do an exhibition with my new work in 2017.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017?

In 2017 you can see me and my work at The Elf Fantasy Fair (EFF) in Haarzuilens (Utrecht) Kasteel de Haar and Elf Fantasy Fair (EFF) in Arcen.

Also you can see my work on the websites:

http://www.babsartcreations.com

http://www.facebook.com/BabsArtCreations

http://babsartcreations.deviantart.com

https://fineartamerica.com/profiles/babette-van-den-berg

What do the words “Passion never retires” mean to me?

Passion knows no boundaries, yet retired. There is nothing more beautiful than passion to do the things in your life of any kind. This makes you motivated, inspired, creative, and persistent in your goals. There is nothing better than to follow your heart and do your work with passion. It makes me a happy person in life.

What creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story?

I would suggest Foroogh Atash / Mahafshoun Art: https://www.facebook.com/MahafsounArt. She is a heroine in the field of Art, model, singer, belly dancer and much more.

How can you contact me?

You can contact me via:

http://www.babsartcreations.com

http://www.facebook.com/BabsArtCreations

Or you can email me via:

babsartcreations01@gmail.com

 

Leave a Reply

