The heroine’s Journey of Emmy Gatrell

What is the best thing that I love about my work?

I love creating worlds that readers get sucked into; nothing makes me happier than when I hear that I made a reader cry, sounds mean, but that means they invested in the story, and that means everything to me.

What is my idea of perfect happiness?

Perfect happiness is having time for everything that I love.

What is my greatest fear?

My greatest fear is that I’ll never get to the point in my career that I don’t have to do everything myself and am in the black at the same time.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself?

 

My greatest weakness is also my greatest strength. That’s my ADD. It is so hard to write sometimes. I’ve got a husband, two sons, four dogs, live in a country where people still just stop to say hi (not complaining just saying), there’s bakery truck day, fruit and vegetable day, fresh fish day where trucks drive down the street selling whatever you need. All that adds up to a lot of distraction, and it can be nearly impossible sometimes to get back into the flow of the story. Then there’s all the marketing, teaser making, the other 90% of the job which can also be hard when your hearing, “MOM!” or hearing a beep or bark every five minutes.

BUT – all that being said, I don’t think I could create the stories I do without my ADD. My brain goes so many directions at once, I see the big picture, and that’s what makes it to the page.

Which living persons in my profession do I most admire?

Any Indie Author that was able to quit their day job because their books sell that well.

What is my greatest extravagance?

My housekeeper.

On what occasion would I lie?

Well, sometimes my kids’ artwork isn’t the most beautiful thing I’ve ever seen.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work?

Writer’s block sucks, but what’s worse is knowing where you need to get to in the story and having no idea how to get there.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work?

Could be anywhere as long as I get lost in the story.

If I could, what would I change about myself?

 

My time management skills or add four more hours to the day.

What is my greatest achievement in work?

Whenever I hear from fans…

Where would I most like to live?

I’m there! My family relocated to Costa Rica a little more than three years ago.

What is my most treasured possession?

My family.

What is my most marked characteristic?

It’s dueling things, I am absolutely the friend you call at 3 am to bail you out, but if you intentionally screw me over, I’m done and wouldn’t spit on you if you were on fire.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city?

My back deck.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city?

La Pasadita is the real name, although my family has been calling it ‘The Taco Place’ since we were one of their first customers when the opened the front porch up for business.

What books influenced my life and how?

 

The Dragon Prince by Melanie Rawn – is my all-time favorite series. I love the scope, the million different characters, unique locations, I want to create something as grand as that.

Anything by Shakespeare – I read Romeo & Juliet when I was eight.

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day?

Canon in D by Pachelbel it’s always been my go to I need to breathe song. The there would be a little of everything. I can’t even say I’m eclectic because I like pretty much anything. There’d be Motown, which I grew up listening to as well as Madonna, Prince, Micheal Jackson. New Kids on the Block, Green Day, the Specials, Madness, Less than Jake, Tears For Fears, B-52’s, Justin Beiber (yeah even him), and don’t even get me started on the DJ’s.

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction?

It has to be one of my own, Sarette from Meanmna: Book One of the Daearen Realms. She’s clever, quick, witty, and handles a crazy situation with dignity and grace.

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life?

Women who fight against social injustices.

Which movie would I recommend to see once in a lifetime?

Star Wars.

What role plays art in my life and work?

 

My stories are often inspired by pictures; I have a file on my desktop with comments attached with story ideas.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime?

My husband Jon, without him I wouldn’t be able to do this.

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on?

I’m hoping to publish three more books this year! All are very exciting!

Where can you see me or my work in 2017?

I have two Book Signings I’m an attending author at this year.

The Phoenix Rising Author Event in Phoenix, Arizona on September 16, 2017! Tickets are live now! Buy here: http://bit.ly/1Qdlot6!

The Mile High City Book & Bounty Pairing Event in Denver, Colorado on October 14, 2017! Tickets are live, and you can buy them here: http://m.bpt.me/event/2566253

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me?

I’m never going to stop doing what I love!

How can you contact me?

You can find me all over the place!

On Facebook:

Author Emmy Gatrell: https://www.facebook.com/authoremmygatrell/

Daearen Realms Series: https://www.facebook.com/emmygatrell

Nathanial Lupinski’s Bitches Page: https://www.facebook.com/LupinskiClan/

Leave a Reply

