The Heroine’s Journey of Karin Holmström

What is the best thing that I love about my work?

I am a fulltime artist. Paint emotions in oil and acrylic. For 15 years I worked in business and fashion industry. But my hobby and passion, to create, is now my way of living.

The best thing is the creative journey, I never know were it takes me. To be open for life, meet new people and explore. I love being in charge of how I live my life.

What is my idea of perfect happiness?

I can get moments of perfect happiness with my family, for example when the kids are genuinly happy, you see the glitter in their eyes. When I am with a friend, talk about the art of living or when I laugh with people that I love. Or when I have finished a painting and the magic was there. That gives me happiness.

What is my greatest fear?

To lose my loved ones and to not have loved enough, always been busy chasing dreams and not taken the time to enjoy and appriciate the great small things in life. My father passed away too early in life and he reminds me of this. He was an entrepreneur his last years and took a day off, went fishing when the weather was nice. My hero in life and I miss him every day.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself?

That I am stubborn and that I am sensitive towards critisism.

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire?

Gerhard Richter, a great german artist who inspires me to go my own way and listen within. He has severeal expressions, do not always paint only flower or one kind of painting.

On what occasion would I lie?

I cannot lie, ask my old friends. I avoid it and my memory is also bad so it would be hard work to lie and try to remember the lies.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work?

That I never know when I have finished. That I can go on forever with some work. I both dislike it and like it. Also to keep track of everything around when it comes to entrepreneurship, like book keeping, organize myself and structuring my working days. But I am learning every day.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work?

During the process of painting, if the magic shows up, the feeling offlow. Then I can be so filled and thrilled and dance in my studio. Also when an artwork finds it perfect home. When my feelings on the canvas goes into someone else and they want to spend time with my art. It gives me great joy to be part of someones life.

If I could, what would I change about myself?

Not take myself so seriously and stop being afraid of making misstakes. It is when I have overcome my fears that I have succeeded to reach new goals and ways.

What is my greatest achievement in work?

I am grateful for so many things. But first I must mention that one of my painting was auctioned for a high amount on a charity event for saving our great Elephants. This felt like gold and pure joy in my heart. Also that I got the opportunity to show an artwork at Louvre, Paris, a great art fair in 2015. That I showed my art on national TV for over a year. It was first only meant for 2 weeks but the production liked them so much so it became a whole year.

Where would I most like to live?

Part of the year I would love to live in a warmer place, like Nice. A lot of art is around there. I would also love to live in New York for a period of time. But actually I am happy to live in Stockholm, Sweden. I live in my dream house, an almost 100 year old house with a soul and feeling that talks.

What is my most treasured possession?

Our house and some pieces that I got from my father and my grandfather.

What is my most marked characteristic?

That I always have red lips. I love colour.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city?

Södermalm, on the roof at a friends house.

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day?

Barry White, Aretha Franklin and Stevie Wonder. Also the song with Doris (my daughters name by the way). ”Have you give the world some love today?”

What role plays art in my life and work?

It means the world to me. I guess I would become sick if I could not be close to art for some reason.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime?

Marika Lang, artist from Gothenburg. She is like a mentor to me and been in the art industry for long time. Madeleine Santiago Elofsson plays a key part in that I dared to show my art more. My husband of course, Anders Holmström, without him I would not be were I am. His support and good advice when I get stuck in my thoughts.


What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on?

The international well respected art-fair ”Affordable Art fair in London Hampstedt and in Stockholm with gallery Lorentzon. Also very much looking forward to For ”save the ocean” ball in september 2017 www.theperfectworldfoundation.com

Where can you see me or my work in 2017?

At Lorentzon Gallery April 1st – May 2nd, Hantverkargatan in Stockholm, Sweden. At Affordable Art in London Hampstedt May 10-14th. More info on my webpage www.karinholmstromart.se

What do the words “Passion Never Retiresmean to me?

I am not concerned about retiring anymore. I will probably work and do new projects as long as I can.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story?

Marika Lang, artist.

How can you contact me?

info@karinholmstromart.se

www.karinholmstromart.se

instagram:karinholmstrm

Facebook: Karin Holmstrom Art

Leave a Reply

