The Heroine’s Journey of Mara MP

What is the best thing that I love about my work?

There are many things that I love about my job!

First I need to travel to find the best vintage pieces for my shop because I want to offer my clients different styles to give them a widechoice to describe themselves.

Second I get to meet a lot of people, different from each other and I can share with them thoughts, interests and lifestyle.

Third I see a lot of beautiful pieces from the past with a history behind

What is my idea of perfect happiness?

Wow! That’s a good question! That’s a question I ask myself everyday.

I think happiness is a moment, that moment when you feel good about something.

You cannot have everything at the same time so I just try to enjoy every single thing that I have, day by day.

What is my greatest fear?

My biggest fear is to be alone, I think it’s quite common.

Today I am who I am thanks to all my connections with people so it’s really important for me to share my life with others, I can improve and be always better .

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself?

I’m very tough.I know that... I’m always hard on myself, on people around me, so I ‘m trying to be more soft, more patient and…a bit more sweet! 😉

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire?

Now I have my own little vintage shop but I’ve worked for years in the fashion system and I really admire all the normal people in that world, working so hard, so many hours, with so much stress and usually for very low incomes, with really unkind and haughty people.

It’s really hard but a lot of young people would do this to fulfill their dreams so I really admire them.

What is my greatest extravagance?

I’m very open minded so nothing looks extravagant to me.

Like I say in my shop: “Be yourself. The original is better that a copy”, what is normal for me can look extravagant to someone else. Can be extravance that I often change colours of my hair (also green, pink,…) or that I decided to come back from Milan, where I lived for 10 years to open a vintage shop near my house in a small city.

But you know, the best thing of humans is that we are unique so just be what you are!

On what occasion would I lie?

….Lie?! Just for a joke! I could be a very good liar, but in real life I would never do that.

Sometimes I would like to be able but my face speaks too clear…

My friends laugh a lot because you can easily understand what I’m thinking also when I’m saying the opposite.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work?

I’m working alone in the shop so when there are no clients it’s quite boring for me, I’m used to work with a lot of people. I would like to have a partner in crime!:)

When and where was I the happiest, in my work?

For sure during the opening of my vintage shop: VintageMe Mara!

I was in Cittadella (Padua) on 26th Novembre 2017.

After a lot of work and a lot of thinking I saw my dream coming true.

If I could, what would I change about myself?

I would like to be less moody and less tough (as I said before) , I would like to be more emotional and less rational. I’ve understood that people cannot read inside of me if I don’t give them the chance.

What is my greatest achievement in work?

Opening my vintage shop! It was a dream!

I started to love vintage when I started traveling around the world, in other countries it’s really popular and cool.

It was something really new some years ago in Italy, now it’s a little bit better, thanks to all the markets around. Anyway it was very hard for me to find good vintage here so I thought if I cannot find it..let’s open my shop with my own vision and my personal taste of vintage.

It’s not easy to communicate that in a small city but I like challenges!

Where would I most like to live?

This is too hard to say! I was used to live between Milan (big city where I was always very busy, always with a lot of people, always around trying new places, new restaurants, new clubs, cinemas, theaters and concerts) and my little town in the countryside (where I was relaxed with my dogs, with all the green around and silence) and I loved that. I took the best of both places.

I’m a gipsy inside so there’s not an only place, I like to live all around the world.

What is my most treasured possession?

I think my character. I’m always the same, I always say what I think and the people know that, so they respect me. I try to be honest and nice so if I need something from others they’ll help me because they know that I will do the same. Good connections with people are the best ways to live in our world.

What is my most marked characteristic?

I’m funny and friendly so it’s easy for me to meet people and have good relations with them.

I like to share my life, with people that I like of course, and I’m curious to know, to learn, to find out from others.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city?

I don’t have one place, I get inspired by going around, seeing different places, talking with different people, discovering different cultures and trying different food. I’m very curious and I get bored easily, so I always need something new to get inspired.

When I need to stop and think I like going for a walk with my dog in a dirt road through the fields near my house.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city?

I like to discover new things so I try a lot of places in every city I visit. One is not enough!:) I can do a little list:

-Zaza Ramen and Casa Ramen in Milan ( I love Ramen!!)

-Fonderie Milanesi in Milan ( very good aperitivo in an amazing atmosphere)

-Bar Borsa in Vicenza (amazing brunch in the centre of the city!)

-L’Autostazione in Cittadella for a very good drink

-Le Macine in Grantortino (Vicenza) (amazing italian food in a beautiful place with green all around)

What books influenced my life and how?

I like reading comic books and romances because when I read and also when I watch a movie I like to live a dream, an history far from me, so I don’t have a special book which influenced me.

Who are my favorite writers?

From the past Baudelaire, living writers Gabriel Garcia Marquez and Nicholas Sparks.

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day?

For sure something happy, something that you can dance on!

Everybody has to die and we know that but we are never prepared enough for it so I want something that makes everyone happy.

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life?

My parents for sure.

They’ve worked all life and they still are, even if they could be happily retired.

They know that this period is very hard so they are doing everything for me and my sister and I know I’m very lucky for this.

Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime?

If we talk about movies I’m very romantic and I like watching love stories. ” Ghost” was one of my first movies when I was young.

Recently I watched “Lion”, I real story of an indian child who was adopted by an Australian family, beautiful! I recommend it.

What role plays art in my life and work?

It’s really important. It’s part of my inspirations. During high school I hadn’t art as a subject and I didn’t know a lot about it. When I started to travel, I tried to go to see as many exhibition that I could and I loved it.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime?

Of course my family and all my friends. They support me in every thing I do, they are really happy about my new adventure and they are helping me a lot since the opening!

Whom would I like to work with in 2017?

 
I would like to do some collaborations with bars, djs, artists, photographers,…and organize some events to offer something new to my clients and people that love my world.

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on?

I’m thinking about a party where I can mix my vintage clothes with music, arts, drinks and create a good vibe where people can enjoy the situation and meet with other people.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017?

You can see me in my little vintage world “VintageMe Mara!” in Via Indipendenza 66/2 Cittadella (Padua) during the week.

On Sundays I will do some nice vintage market:

-6th April Garage Market in Milan

-17th April and 21st May Chic Nic Market near Padua

-7th May, 18th June, 23rd July Aperitivo al Verde Market in Castello di Godego (TV)

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me?

It means that if you love something, if you trust on it, if you work hard on it, it will live foverer. We need to have passion because it help us to grow up.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story?

Federica Sasso, a friend of mine, a talented young photographer working in Milan, she’s just 25 years old but she has already done a lot of projects…I don’t want to say more, she can tell you everything! 😉

How can you contact me?

You can have a look to:

– FB page: VintageMe Mara

– instagram: Vintageme_mara

and you find all my contacts!!

Leave a Reply

