The Heroine’s Journey of Ann Louise Lauridsen

What is the best thing that I love about my work?
I truly love telling stories. And I love being able to help people overcome an obstacle or something really difficult. I love the expression on their faces, when they realize that they can change their story into strength and growth, instead of dragging themselves down. I love the way a story can change a person’s way of seeing the world. The way one thing can turn into the opposite, when the focus of the story is right. Nothing is ever black or white – the truth is indeed somewhere in between. And my truth is only mine and not necessarily true to anyone else. It’s kind of mind-blowing!

What is my idea of perfect happiness?
Perfect happiness to me is freedom and time with loved ones. Reading an exciting story to my kids in the sun – or reaching that point of perfection, when I tell a story and every listener is captured and absorbed in that exact moment together with me; when every mind in the room is completely in sync.

What is my greatest fear?
Something bad happening to my children and loved ones – losing grasp of reality.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself?
My ability to push things to the very last deadline. I don’t work that well under pressure but somehow I manage quite often to be in that exact position. Perhaps the true story is that I actually DO work best under pressure… Depends on the focus, I guess!

Which living persons in my profession do I most admire?
Tony Robbins, Sofia Manning

What is my greatest extravagance?
My perfumes and ear rings are my trademarks as well as my extravagance. Wearing both make me feel powerful, in control, and feminine at the same time. It’s my uniform, my suit, my indulgence, my luxury.

On what occasion, would I lie?
I have learned the hard way to choose my battles. Instead of lying my way out of a potential fight or situation, I feel that sometimes it’s just better to say nothing.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work?
My own sense of perfection. I sometimes forget that I don’t have to be perfect – because no one knows how the story is meant to be, and no one cares because the story becomes mine, when I tell it. But I strive to be perfect, and after a show I can feel bad if I left some details out – details that really don’t even matter that much. Perfection can be the killer of creativity! Live and let live…

When and where was I the happiest, in my work?
I once performed in front of a rather big audience in a show with both storytelling and music. It was a great experience because everything seemed to reach a higher point of extraordinary being.
A little while later, I performed in front of a very small audience, and the intimacy was just breathtaking.

If I could, what would I change about myself?
I would make myself patient and content. Patient because patience is just better than impatience. Content with all matters of life – because everything happens for a reason and everything holds something for us to learn; which is quite beautiful and harsh at the same time. The realization that I am where I am in my life because I chose the path I did – perhaps unconsciously at times, but none the less.

What is my greatest achievement in work?
Letting my story breathe and speak for itself.
Being able to make a story come to life in the mind of a stranger.

Where would I most like to live?
I really love Denmark with all the security networks of both the economy and the social services – but I feel a bit more at home in both Greece and Australia. Ayer’s Rock was the place my heart fell truly into place for the first time ever (at age 40).

What is my most treasured possession?
My imagination

What is my most marked characteristic?
My laugh and my ability to own a room with my presence.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city?
The river bank of Fladbro, a small forest just outside of Randers.

What is my favorite place to eat and drink, in my city?
I don’t have a favorite place in my home town – but lots of other places all over Denmark, to be honest.

What books influenced my life and how?
H.C. Andersens fairy tales founded my childhood and gave everything a magical glow that I could seek refuge in when in need. As soon as I learned how to read myself, reality became less important to me, and the freedom I experienced in fictive worlds gave my life value and meaning in a very different way than the real world. It became my escape from a reality that was hard to deal with, and it gave me a safe-haven.
“Le Petit Prince”, “The Go Giver”, “The Alchemist”, “Personlig Karma” (Danish book), “Unleash the power within” – influenced me as an adult to comprehend love, to do better, to be a better person.

Who are my favorite writers?
Paulo Coelho, Isabel Allende, Elisabeth Gilbert, Joanne Harris, Stephen King (his early work).

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen to on my last day?
Spanish guitar music and “The wind beneath my wings” with Bette Midler. That always touches my heart.

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction?
Anne of Green Gables (from my youth)

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life?
Walt Disney (for his storytelling skills), Steven Spielberg (for his amazing ability to make stories come to life), Oprah Winfrey (for her entire being) – and everyday people who live out their dreams instead of letting themselves be limited by smaller minds or obstacles.

Which movie would I recommend to see once in a lifetime?
“The Color Purple”
“Steel Magnolias”

What role does art play in my life and work?
My work is art – by language and performance.
Nature is art in the purest form. I seek the ocean or the forest to be revived and energized whenever I feel stressed and off.
Music is energizing and calming to me.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime?
My daughters – I aim to be a strong, female role model and to show them that it is possible to live out big dreams even though it’s difficult and even though life sometimes gets in the way. They keep me going.

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on?
I’m attending a storytelling festival in Nr. Vosborg in Denmark in September 2017 which I’m very much looking forward to. 3 days of storytelling along with some of the best storytellers in DK.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017?
I tell my stories where and when I get the chance.

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me?
Passion is ageless. If I don’t feel passionate about my work – I should go and do something else. Passion is what makes it all worthwhile. Without passion, there’s no progress. Without progress, there’s only stagnation. And to me stagnation means death…

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story?
Dorte Lytje – www.dortelytje.com She’s creative, inspiring, and amazing.
Lone PowerPrinsesse Rasmussen – https://www.facebook.com/Lone-Rasmussen-Foredrag-DanseFester-Online-F%C3%A6llesskab She’s an extraordinary woman with great potential and great resources that inspire and influence other women to go further and beyond

How can you contact me?
Contact me by mail: ann-louisel@jubii.dk
Find me on facebook: www.facebook.com/annlouiselauridsen.dk
Find me on Instagram: www.instagram.com/annlouiselykke
And check out my pages: www.fabularum.dk and www.annlouiselauridsen.dk

Leave a Reply

