The Heroine’s Journey of Fee Fee La Fou

What is the best thing that I love about my work?

The unrivalled freedom it brings to me & the unbridled joy is can bring others. Making Art gives me a fresh perspective on the things I turn upside down. “The real voyage of discovery consists not in seeking new lands but in having new eyes.”

What is my idea of perfect happiness?

Introducing my daughter to a new experience, exploring a new city with my husband or discovering a new artist.

What is my greatest fear?

Living in a world without colour, losing my imagination or suffering from boredom. In that order.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself?

Too easily distracted & very easily entertained.

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire?

Zandra Rhodes, Sam Taylor Wood & Norman Barrett.

What is my greatest extravagance?

Rainbow toilet roll.

On what occasion would I lie?

To protect those I love or to tell a great story.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work?

More haste, less speed.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work?

Making tiny, very personal sketchbooks for my portfolio in preparation for my Oxford University entrance exam.

If I could, what would I change about myself?

Stop chasing the wrong things & give the right things a chance to catch me.

Make time to smell the roses.

What is my greatest achievement in work?

Setting up my very own circus themed concept boutique in Dalston called Fee Fee La Fou HQ. Being awarded the most creative business in Hackney for Fee Fee La Fou Enterprises was the icing on top!

Where would I most like to live?

Never never land; a place where dreams are born & time is never planned. It’s not on any chart you must find it with your heart.

What is my most treasured possession?

My Peter Blake piece, its inspired by our favourite book. We share an obsession with the Circus. Also a signed catalogue he gave me from his exhibition with the Museum of Everything.

What is my most marked characteristics?

My enthusiasm & persistence. Being a thrill seeker.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city?

The Wallace Collection.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city?

Tony Horndecker’s Pale Blue Door in Dalston. Had some wild nights there.

What books influenced my life and how?

The book of Camouflage; The Art of Disappearing. This is my bible; it fuelled my passion for repeat patterns & taught me the power of disruption.

Talking it over – Julian Barnes it taught me everything I need to know about Love.

The Book Of Matches – Simon Armitagewhenever I see it I fondly recall the days when my teenage husband used to read me to sleep. It also contains the poem I always thought I’d recite when I finally got round to asking him if he’d marry me. He beat me to it!

Who are my favorite writers?

I’m only really interested in picture books. Anything on camouflage, wallpaper or the Circus can hold my attention for hours. Russell Brand, Erin Morgenstern & Rohald Dahl.

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day?

This is going to make us sound very fatalistic but my husband & I already have our funeral playlist sorted. On my last day I think I’d alternate between Scroobus Pip’s ‘Try Dying’ & ‘Mid Air by Paul Buchanan.

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction?

Rainbow Brite & Wurzel Gummidge.

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life?

Seriously, who’s interested in real life? If you are then I’d have to say my industrious, generous parents & my selfless, mysterious husband.

Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime?

The Company Of Wolves, it’s a 1984 British gothic fantasy horror film.

What role plays art in my life and work?

The two intertwined. “We make colourful music because often we find ourselves dancing in the dark.”

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime?

My childhood sweetheart David, he gets me. We’ve grown up together, stayed wild & free. I’m really proud of that given all we’ve been through.

Whom would I like to work with in 2017?

Rob Flowers, Friends With You, Supermarket Sarah

Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017?

Abigail Ahern, Raqib Shaw, Damien Hirst

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on?

A series of silk-screen prints involving shit loads of glitter & a whole heap of bitter!

Where can you see me or my work in 2017?

For the latest news check out the links below for updates throughout the year

http://feefeelafouenterprises.com/ring-master/biog/

http://feefeelafouenterprises.com/shop/interviews/

http://feefeelafouenterprises.com/side-show/news/

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me?

Sorry what’s a retirement? I aspire to be like Matisse still making colourful cutouts in my bed at 98!

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story?

Michaela McMillan

https://www.michaelamcmillan.com

How can you contact me?

Fee Fee La Fou HQ, 6 Bradbury Street, Dalston, London N16 8JN

www.feefeelafouenterprises.com

Facebook; Fee Fee La Fou or Fee Fee La Fou HQ

Insta; Fee Fee La Fou HQ

Twitter; FFLFEnterprises

Email; Staycurious@feefeelafouenterprises.com

Leave a Reply

