The Heroine’s Journey of Kristine Schomaker

What is the best thing that I love about my work?

I love that I am constantly in my head thinking of new ideas, new ways of creating, new ways of deconstructing. My artwork has helped me be braver in my life. I take more risks than I ever did before. I never would have imagined shaving my head or posing nude. But my message is a strong one and I realized that as an artist, I have to use whatever means necessary to communicate that message.

What is my idea of perfect happiness?

Traveling around the world and experiencing its history, people, food and culture.

What is my greatest fear?

Death. I would miss so much about this life that I live.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself?

I hate that as I become older I seem to be more cynical. I am working on this though.

Which living person in my profession do I most admire?

Samantha Fields. My professor, mentor, advisor, friend. A fellow artist who is so generous with her time, has a brilliant mind and gave me the steps to move forward and be brave.

What is my greatest extravagance?

My shampoo.

On what occasion would I lie?

I would lie so I wouldn’t have to hurt someone’s feelings.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work?

Everything and nothing. I am my own worst critic.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work?

Right now. I feel that I am on the right track with moving my work forward. My message is becoming clearer and more focused and I am pushing what I am doing further than ever before.

If I could, what would I change about myself?

My weight.

What is my greatest achievement in work?

When people have an emotional response to my work, whether it be horror, sadness, inspiration, pleasure…

Where would I most like to live?

Scotland

What is my most treasured possession?

My art collection

What is my most marked characteristic?

My optimism.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city?

The Huntington Library

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city?

Settebello, Pasadena. It reminds me of Italy.

What books influenced my life and how?

“Eat, Pray, Love” by Elizabeth Gilbert was an inspiration in helping me find my right path in life. “Just Kids” and “M Train” by Patti Smith gave me hope for the future. “Humans of New York” by Brandon Stanton who helped erase our world borders to focus on humankind.

Who are my favorite writers?

Jane Austen, Patti Smith, Dr. Seuss, Neil Gaiman, Diane Gabaldon, My grandma Annemarie Schomaker

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day?

4 Non Blondes “What’s Up?” Nina Simone “Feeling Good,” Charles Gnarly “Crazy,” Red Hot Chili Peppers “Under the Bridge,” Depeche Mode “Walking In My Shoes,” REM “Losing my Religion”

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction?

Elizabeth Bennet, Pride and Prejudice. Wonder Woman. Princess Leia

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life?

Dalai Lama and my brother

Which movie would I recommend to see once in a lifetime?

Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind

What role does art play in my life and work?

It is everything. I am immersed in art. I am all-in.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime?

My avatar, Gracie Kendal

Whom would I like to work with in 2017?

Lynn Hershman Leeson

Which people in my profession would I love to meet in 2017?

Cindy Sherman, Roberta Smith, Connie Butler, Jenny Saville, Beatriz Milhazes, Wangechi Mutu

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on?

I am curating a show at Launch LA in September called “The Reality of Nature” and a mail art show at Brainworks Gallery in Los Angeles in August.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017?

I am participating in the MARS Festival at Artshare LA in April, I’m in a group show at Brainworks Gallery called “Her Intuition” and I’m opening at the Brewery Artwalk April 29th and 30th.

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me?

I will be an artist the rest of my life. People talk about retiring from work at the age of 65, but then what? I will always create, always work on my art. I will always be passionate about the philosophy of art, the vision and the voice that art allows us to use.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story? Sheli Silverio shelisilverio@gmail.com, Diane Williams dianebriones@yahoo.com and Chenhung Chen chenhung61@gmail.com

How can you contact me? http://www.kristineschomaker.net/ kristineschomaker@gmail.com https://www.instagram.com/kristineschomaker/ https://twitter.com/KrisSchomaker https://www.facebook.com/KristineSchomakerArtist/

Leave a Reply

