The Heroine’s Journey of Anne van der Linden

What is the best thing that I love about my work? It allows me to stay by myself as long as possible without having to justify about it. It also enables me to control my world, I decide of life and death of my images, as the tyrant of my imaginary world

What is my idea of perfect happiness? Well…maybe stop beeing anxious, stop wanting, would be a way to reach perfect happiness. That is to say dead !

What is my greatest fear? Actually I really fear the day when a power will prohibit me from living my life, from producing my art the way I want to. The day when i would have to hide myself to survive, as a person, as an artist.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? Pathological doubt and social phobia

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire? I admire Willem the drawing artist, Kiki Picasso the painter, Jean-Louis Costes the performer, for their talent as well as for their modesty

What is my greatest extravagance? To ride my« freestyle » trottinette

On what occasion would I lie? I would lie to protect myself, though I am not a good liar, and silence is also an effort for me.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? The slowness of my evolution, though i can’t really change this.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? I met in 2015 a young filmmaker, Claude Grunspan, who decided to make a film about my art and life. The experience was intense and very interesting, she was the ideal person to carry the project as our sensibilities are close. The film is almost done and i am eager to see it.

If I could, what would I change about myself? Prettier, younger, more rich and famous hahhaha

What is my greatest achievement in work? I am surprised and happy to have been able to impose my art, which is so intimate and particular

Where would I most like to live? Any safe and calm place is ok, but I would be interested to live in asia for a while

What is my most treasured possession? My credit card.

What is my most marked characteristic? Opposites character traits : i am both shy and extrovert, sweet and violent, depressive and comic etc…

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? I really like the place where I live, at the edge of water, the place is full of cormorants, seagulls, swans, ducks, it’s fascinating.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? At home.

What books influenced my life and how? An ugly version of old testament my parents had bought when i was a kid. All those expressive, hairy characters, passionate and mystical atmosphere, and the importance of natural elements had marked my imagination.

Who are my favorite writers? At the moment I would say Edgar Poe, it depends on periods, I used to read enormously Strindberg, Knut Hamsun, then Dostoievski, Tolstoi, Malaparte…so many writers, reading is important to me.

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day? Mermaid’s song

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction? Bianca Castafiore

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life? Rats.

Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime? ‘‘Cries and whispers » by Ingmar Bergman

What role plays art in my life and work? Art is my concern, the best of my life, if possible.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? Some of them would certainly prefer to stay anonymous, but I can quote the artist Olivier Allemane, with whom I created the « Freak wave » magazine, about underground art and literature

Whom would I like to work with in 2017? I have a two-handed book project with the young german artist Cornelia Eichhorn, it would be a « cadavre exquis » project, one starting the drawing and the other finishing it. Her expressionnist style has to do with mine.

Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017? More foreign artists, and a faithful sponsor.

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on? Another project of mine is in collaboration with the poetress Nitcheva Osanna, the thème is female desire. The book is almost ready to print, it will be printed in etching and silkscreen, a limited edition at Orbis pictus club.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017? At « Art’s Factory » gallery, Paris, in September.

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me? It makes the difference between creators and other people, we shall retire when we die, if not tired.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story? So many ! I would say Sue Coe, Olivia Clavel, Chantal Montellier, Lydia Lunch etc…

How can you contact me? http://www.annevanderlinden.net

annevanderlinden@free.fr

books http://shop.eretic-art.com/13-van-der-linden-livres

Leave a Reply

