The Heroine’s Journey of Patty van Delft

I am Patty van Delft, writer of Dutch Fantasy novels and English Dark Poetry.

Born and raised in Holland, I chase my dreams and live my life with passion.

 What is the best thing that I love about my work?

I love the freedom to do what I like best and setting my own goals and deadlines. I like interacting with my readers, sharing stories with them and spreading some magic. It’s awesome when you create something that can entertain and sometimes even help others.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? 

Being surrounded by the people I love; their happiness is my happiness. I also value the freedom to be who you are and do what you want to do very much. Having fun and go on adventures, making memories, is also high on my happiness list.

 What is my greatest fear?

To lose someone I love is my biggest fear.

 What is the trait that I most deplore in myself?

I am very stubborn and often forget to pay attention to my boundaries. Although I think it’s good to push yourself to make your dreams come true and to do what you love, I push myself too hard and have to pay for it later. It’s not always worth it and I need to learn that it’s okay to slow down every once in a while.

Which living persons in my profession do I most admire?

I don’t really feel admiration for people because of what they do for a profession. I rather admire people for who they are. I have a great admiration for people who keep fighting even when life is hard. But if I really have to name someone it would be my publisher Rianne Lampers who made her dream come true by starting her own publishing house and gives unknown writers the chance to chase their dreams as well.

What is my greatest extravagance?

I think that my bathroom is my greatest extravagance. It’s almost like a mini spa with a big double bubble bath and a giant waterfall shower. I love relaxing in there!

On what occasion would I lie?

I am a terrible liar, so I rather speak the truth. I don’t see how lying can make anything better, but I would lie for someone I love if, for whatever reason, I really have to.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? 

Editing. It’s very frustrating sometimes to correct your own work over and over again until it’s as good as it can be. Other than that, I also dislike the fact that it’s so hard for a new writer to make a name for yourself. Bookstores, newspapers, television shows, they all want the already famous and established writers. There are not many organizations who give new talent a chance and that’s a shame because this way people get stuck with the work of people they already know. It can’t hurt to shake things up a little.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? 

I was very happy when my trilogy was complete. It’s amazing to have a complete story that’s been written by you. I am also always happy when my poetry can touch someone and maybe comfort them in rough times.

If I could, what would I change about myself? 

If anything, I would like to be healthy. I have three chronical conditions that get in the way of all the things I would like to do. Other than that, I am pretty content with myself but I always want to learn and grow.

What is my greatest achievement in work? 

My greatest achievement is that I am a published writer and that I manage to write stories people like. In the beginning, I would never had thought that I would ever get published, let alone that people would actually buy my books. I would never had hoped that my work would get so many great reviews or I would win an award for my first book. So, in a way, every milestone is my new greatest achievement and I am not nearly done yet.

Where would I most like to live?

Where I live now, I am perfectly happy here in Holland.

But I would not say no to a cabinet in the woods of Canada to spend my vacation.

What is my most treasured possession?

I have a couple of things I treasure because of the emotional value they have. Mostly because I got them from people I hold very dear or because they remind me of a great time. But the “possession” I love most are my three cats.

What is my most marked characteristic?

I think that would be my quick wit, loyalty and passion for the things and people I love.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? 

Actually, I don’t really get inspiration from locations. Inspiration is something that can emerge everywhere and at any time. Anything can be inspirational if you’re openminded. But I do like working at home very much. I can write basically anywhere, but at home I feel most comfortable.

What is my favorite place to eat and drink, in my city?

I love the many festivals that are held in my city during the summer. I really enjoy being outside with my friends listening to music and drink in the sun. But when there are no festivals and I have to choose a place I would like to eat and drink, I would rather be home or at a friend’s house than go out.

What books influenced my life and how?

Because of the books of Stephen King I love reading and I learned that there’s a great hiding place in books where you don’t have to face reality for a while. The books of Anne McCaffrey made me fall in love with fantasy and dragons and the collected works of Edgar Allan Poe sparked my passion for dark poetry.

Who are my favorite writers?

Anne McCaffrey, Edgar Allan Poe, John Grisham and Stephen King.

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day?

Probably the same music I like to listen to every day; Rock.

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction?

Surprisingly enough, my favorite hero in fiction isn’t a character from a book but one from a television show. I really like Dean from Supernatural because of his loyalty, love for his family, sarcasm and fighting spirit.

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life?

My parents for one. Without them, I would not be who I am right now. Also, my husband for putting up with me on a daily basis. (I am not an easy person hahaha)

Which movie would I recommend to see once in a lifetime?

My all-time favorite movies are Die Hard and Boondock Saints, so I would definitely recommend those.

Other favorite movies of mine are Disney movies. I think that you should always stay young at heart.

As for movies that make a great impact, I can recommend Pay it Forward and American History X.

What role plays art in my life and work?

A very big one, I live and breathe it.

As someone once said; The Earth without Art is just “Eh”.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? 

That would be without a doubt my husband. He really helps me become the best writer I can possibly be and is always there to lend a hand with basically everything. Together with two other writers and friends we also make a great team to promote our books and publishing house.

Whom would I like to work with in 2017? 

When it comes to my book covers I would like Dominik Broniek to design them. He did an awesome job creating the covers for my first three books and I adore his style. I prefer to continue to work with Rianne Lampers and Celtica Publishing because it’s great working with her and I am proud to be part of her publishing house.

I would also like to work with one of my fellow writers at Celtica Publishing, Jeffrey Debris, but I don’t think that we can managed to do that in 2017 yet.

Which people in my profession would I love to meet in 2017?

I always like to meet other writers, I don’t really have a preference.

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on?

At the moment, I am already working on a new novel and I love it!

I also really would like to get my novels translated to English so more people can read them.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017?

You can find my poetry on my English site: www.petitemagique.wordpress.com and the books on Amazon.

As for my Dutch fantasy novels, they are available in every (online) bookstore. The signing sessions and events I am going to attend to are scheduled on my Dutch website www.pattyvandelft.com

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me?

If you have a real passion for something, it will last until you die. You will never give it up.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story?

Heroines: Rianne Lampers, the owner of Celtica Publishing and Evi Verhasselt, writer of Fantasy novels.

Heroes: Jeffrey Debris, writer of Science Fiction novels and Dominik Broniek, cover artist.

How can you contact me?

You can contact me through my websites or Facebook. I always read my messages.

Dutch Facebook page (Fantasy novels): https://www.facebook.com/PattyvDelft/

English Facebook page (Poetry): https://www.facebook.com/Just-Patty-1422852067952751/

YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCBTIctADJbaF0AO-CaslUnw

 

Leave a Reply

