The Heroine’s Journey of Giulia Piolanti

What is the best thing that I love about my work? I love my work for many different reasons. It gives me the chance to express my emotions, it challenges me constantly. It teaches me how to have discipline and how to always look for improvement. But probably what I love the most about my career is the possibility of traveling around the world. Only meeting other cultures I can feel I am really living my life.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? The greatest happiness comes from satisfaction. Once I feel satisfied and accomplished I can easily admit I am happy! And feeling happy helps me on making others happy. That’s one of my mission. And thanks to my job I know I can give two hours of happiness to my audience.

What is my greatest fear? I am afraid of wasting time. I am afraid it’s going to be too late for anything. That’s why I want to give and live 100% now and not tomorrow. I don’t want to have regrets, I prefer to do more than less.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? I am easily offended. I know it’s silly but I am pretty touchy. Probably being an artist gives me a strong sensibility and also in my regular life i feel influenced by it. Performing on stage is also a reason I guess because I am constantly judged by my directors and choreographers.

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire? There’s no one specific person I admire. I admire everyone who is fighting for his dreams; everyone who goes behind his limits. I admire all these artists who are able to explore new horizons using also the brain and not just the body.

What is my greatest extravagance? With a smile on my face i can say that my greatest extravagance is my purple obsession! I wear purple, i have purple hair, my nickname is purple, i think purple and i believe my blood is purple too 😉 purple is a life style for me. Purple is my supernatural aura.

On what occasion would I lie? Honesty is what i expect from people, but sometimes a little lie could save a situation. I would lie to save a friend; if behind the lie there’s nothing painful, i would say what i believe could make someone happy.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? Being an artist on a touring show by Cirque du Soleil means to be on the road for many years. Although i mentioned already how much i love traveling, what i dislike the most is being so far from my family. My mum and dad still lives in Italy and the occasion to go visit them is start being rare. They are very proud of me of course but i wish i was more present in their life, especially now that no one is getting any younger.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? My first Cirque show was a resident one in Tokyo Japan. Those years ( 2008-2011 ) spending there were my happiest. I felt accomplished and extremely moved by my career. it was the beginning of a beautiful life change. Not only for my amazing work, but also for the great country i was living in. Japan still have a piece of my heart.

If I could, what would I change about myself? I am the way i am. I am who I am. Thanks to this, I had my dreaming job come my reality. Therefore i wouldn’t change anything about myself. It is better to accept who we are instead of complaining about what we would like to have different. Perfection is synonymous of trouble.

What is my greatest achievement in work? 10 years ago i started working for Cirque du Soleil as general acrobat. Now i am one their main soloist and character. This is the greatest achievement. What i keep learning here with these amazing artists around is a true gift.

Where would I most like to live? I feel i am a citizen of the world. I have visited so many places, but not as a tourist. I am a traveler instead, cause i am not dreaming to be home, cause i might never go back home, cause i could find home wherever I am. I can not say specifically a place i would love to live in, but i can say easily i love hot weather and beautiful nature. The day i am going to stop traveling, i would like to find a place where i can make a difference, where i can spread happiness and art.

What is my most treasured possession? Another thing i’ve learnt through the years, is to be less attached to “things”. My life is so much better since then. Live Experiences are my most treasured possession.

What is my most marked characteristic? People describe me as a strong fearless woman. I describe myself as an emotional stubborn woman.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? I was born in Italy, in a small city named Forli. Every time i go back there i always spend couple of hours in my favorite spot: a cemetery. It’s a war cemetery so far from the traffic jam of the city, far from noise and city chaos. The grass no matter the season, is always bright green and super well trimmed, It is such a quiet peaceful place. I am not scared by the tombs, actually i feel more human and alive than ever.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? At the moment it is hard to say where i live. I left Italy 10 years ago and i have a place in Las Vegas that is rented out. I mostly live in hotel room changing city every week. When i go back to Italy, any Italian restaurant or cafe is always the best for a good meal. In Las Vegas i have my favorite Coffee place where they make an extraordinary “nutella latte”, Sambalatte is its name.

What books influenced my life and how? I love reading. It is essential in life to read; it’s the only way to be reach, reach of stories, experiences. Reading is such an intimate moment. When i was younger i was obsessed with Madame Bovary by Gustave Flaubert. It is a tragedy about passion and misery. The character, Emma Bovary, is the portrait of a woman obsessed with an idealized vision of romantic love. I love this personage. The strength and fragility of her soul fascinates me. I can not say this book influenced my life, but i can say this book is one of my favorite.

Who are my favorite writers? There is only one writer i’ve read all his books: Bret Easton Ellis. He is an American writer, author for example of “American Psycho”, “Glamorama”, “Lunar Park”. His writing is very strong and often frightening. I love reading about the dark side of the human being and this writer is excellent on describing it.

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day? Music is an essential part of my life. My job includes music too, every little movement is a dance with music. When i am by my self, i like to listen music abled to bring me far far away from my reality. On my last day i would listen Lana del Rey, the perfect example  of  a melancholic Snow White”.

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction? I love “The Walking Dead”, i mean i am so intrigue by all these stories of end of the world, Zombie apocalypse. So i would say my heroin is Michonne. She is one of the characters of the tv show. She is fearless and honest.

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life? My mum is my heroin and my dad my hero 🙂

Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime? Movies are an other expression of art that i absolutely love. I can say I am a big fan of cinemas. There are so many good movies i would recommend, but my choice as lifetime movie goes to “Stand by me” (drama, 1986). It is a movie about friendship, life and death. I was very young when i saw it for the first time, but i still cry every time i watch it. This movie is also a good interpretation of the book “Stand by me” by Steven King.

What role plays art in my life and work? Art is everything to me. Art is that uncontrollable impulse that drive people to express their emotions, exploring new ways to go beyond limits. Art is every where and i make art every time. Everything i see is an inspiration for Art, to make art. I grew up with cats for example, and now as a performer, i try to move with the same elegance of a feline. Cats are muses to me.
Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? My boyfriend Daniel is my best fan and partner in crime. We share the stage and the life together. We create together and we laugh together. I am a better person with him. It is a rare unique union. I know he is there for me no matter what, congratulating with me for a success or hugging me for a bad day. I am lucky, cause the silence is never heavy with him.
Whom would I like to work with in 2017? In 2016 thanks to the new Cirque production “Toruk” i had the honor to work with James Cameron. He is a genius in his field and i am so thankful i had to chance to learn from a real Artist. This 2017 is a year of changes. I can not say too much yet but a new adventure will start.
Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017? Fortunately traveling gives me the chance to meet people all the time. And i often try to give workshops so i can meet new artists and spread this circus passion around the world with them. Every new environment links me with amazing people to work with.
What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on? As mentioned before, I am about to start a new show, but i can not say it yet 🙂
Where can you see me or my work in 2017? This year 2017 i ‘ll be touring in Asia with the Cirque show “Tour The first flight”  in the summer and then back in the States for a while with a different exciting show! Follow me and you will know more!
What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me? Passion is the engine for life. I can not image a life without passion. Passion is what brought me where i am now. Passion is what gives me the strength to get up every time i fall. Passion is the adrenaline i feel every time i step on stage in front of thousands of people.
Where can you contact me?
 You can follow me on Instagram as “purplegiu” and Facebook Giulia Piolanti, Snapchat “purplegiulia”. Thank you!!!
Leave a Reply

