The Heroine’s Journey of Christina Katrakis

What is the best thing that I love about my work? The sheer power of creation.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? Is simply to be happy. It’s a choice we all make. Live every day to the fullest, as the first and the last one and make the most of every moment.

What is my greatest fear? To be a burden to the loved ones (completely disabled) and no longer able to create in any way or form (paint, write, think… )

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? I’m a hopeless optimist and sometimes exaggerate, desired becomes almost real at times. And then, very seldom I fall into the trap of being overwhelmed by despair, as the bitter reality hits back with a vengeance.

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire? My father. He is an amazing sculptor, Anatoli Kushch (Katrakis).

What is my greatest extravagance? Being able to live in two worlds simultaneously: the world which I create through my art and writing, and the world of social reality in which I physically live.

On what occasion would I lie? Truth is the main pillar of my relations with people in my life. I prefer not to lie but rather to remain silent, if the truth may truly hurt person’s feelings or harm them.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? Being unable to live without it. Since, it is not a work but rather a calling.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? Every time when I work. In every journey of sacred creation and all that goes with it: the thought, the intellect, the vision, the feeling, the transformation, the imagination…

If I could, what would I change about myself? Probably nothing. I am who I am and if I change something about myself, I would subsequently cease being fully myself. Although, I could definitely develop some additional traits, like becoming a cleaning freak and keeping things in order and actually enjoying this routine.

What is my greatest achievement in work? I’m but a midget in front of a Giant (me) and I haven’t even started to unveil my true potential yet. I truly think – “The best is yet to com”, as Sinatra sang.

Where would I most like to live? On my paradise island of Milos, Greece where we have our little love nest, our home.

What is my most treasured possession? Memories.

What is my most marked characteristic? Perseverance, radiance and vivaciousness.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? Our balcony in our house on Firopotamos Beach, Milos.

What is my favorite place to eat and drink, in my city? At our home with my husband Roman. Spontaneously delicious meals, cocktails, music, candle light, dancing while cooking and its 1am, but who cares. What restaurant can offer that?

What books influenced my life and how? Hard to name just a few, since I started reading when I was 4 and read non-stop since. Books and art became my “other world”, and one influenced and inspired the other. Books inspired to paint and paintings inspired to write. It is still so. Among first books that I read as a child, which inspired me and stayed with me through the years to come were: The Odyssey, The Histories (Herodotus), The Iliad and Gilgamesh.

Who are my favorite writers? There are truly many, specially through all the years of reading. Among some of the favorite authors: Homer, Sappho, Strabo, Plato, Omar Khayyam, Rumi, Honore de Balzac, Robert Graves, Constantine Kavafis, Odysseas Elytis, Nikos Kazantzakis, Franz Kafka, Marcel Proust, Henry Miller, Lawrence Durrell, Jorge Luis Borges, Carlos Costaneda, Mircea Eliade… from the most recent reads really liked Orhan Pamuk and Idries Shah.

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day? Chopin.

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction? Odysseus.

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life? My husband Roman and my son Marco.

Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime? Casablanca.

What role plays art in my life and work? It is my life and work.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? My husband Roman.

Whom would I like to work with in 2017? With my two heroes – Roman and Marco, and fortunately for me I’m already doing so, since its already 2017. Working on the book of fairytales with illustrations. Project inspired by my son Marco and my husband Roman is my creative partner in it.

Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017? Actually, I know and knew (some unfortunately passed away, like Ultra Violet – muse of Dali, Picasso and Warhol and an incredible human being, and artist) a great deal of amazing people. I believe that, all the people that have to meet me, or whom I have to meet, will come to me on their own, when the time and the moment is right. As they say, there is a reason and a season for all.

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on?  I would like to complete the book I’m working on and the illustrations for it. Also I’m working on the series of posters (a combination of my current illustrations and digital art) with my good friend and artist Mary Lambert, better known as a famous Hollywood film director http://m.imdb.com/name/nm0005116/.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017? Usually all the latest news, projects, information, press and videos can be found on my site: katrakis.com

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me? It reminds me of my life’s moto to which I’m truly loyal: Follow Your Bliss!

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story? Charles Rump (art curator, critic), Nikolaus Novak (journalist), Jochen Horst (actor), Mary Lambert (film director), Natalia Farrán Graves (singer, artist), Tomas Graves (writer, musician), Francesco Tiradritti (egyptologist), Jed Jackson (artist), Richard Bausch (writer) and Dimitrios Katsikis (ancient armor creator)

How can you contact me? The easiest way is probably through my site: katrakis.com

Leave a Reply

