The Heroine’s Journey of Kristine Augustyn

What is the best thing that I love about my work? I love the way creating art has helped me to open up. It allows me to see and understand more about myself. It’s made me see the world differently. I see things more vividly, I look more closely, I see the brush strokes in everything.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? Those moments when I feel acutely aware and can feel a connection to everything.

What is my greatest fear? Being the person I think I am

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? My feelings of guilt when I win, achieve or succeed.

Which living persons in my profession do I most admire? All of the artists in the Los Angeles community who keep trying everyday to grow and learn and create. Anyone willing to try something new.

What is my greatest extravagance? Traveling – but I consider it a necessity.

On what occasion would I lie? I lie by omission; I am not very open so I keep a lot about myself private.

What is the thing I dislike most in my work? I dislike when I can see something so clearly in my mind but cannot get it on to the canvas the same way I see it.

When and where was I happiest in my work? I am always happiest when I lose myself in a painting or project.

If I could, what would I change about myself? I would be nicer to myself.

What is my greatest achievement in work? I’m hoping that is yet to come!

Where would I most like to live? I love where I live now, in Los Angeles – but I do have a special fondness for Europe, I could live there too. I would also like to live by the ocean.

What is my most treasured possession? I have the hand written lyrics to a song my friends and I wrote when we were teenagers. I still sing that song sometimes – I still feel like it could be a hit!

What is my most marked characteristic? My ability to talk to strangers – although no one ever feels like a stranger to me.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? The Pacific Ocean from anywhere along the coast and the multiple places to hike and be in nature all over Los Angeles.

What is my favorite place to eat and drink, in my city? I love Moonshadows on the ocean and Clifton’s Cafeteria in downtown LA. I also love Traxx in Union Station in DTLA. I love that people are traveling somewhere and I can sit and have a fancy cocktail and feel the energy that traveling creates – it always makes me so happy.

What books influenced my life and how? Seth Speaks, The Eternal Validity of the Soul – this book changed everything about the way I see the world. It provided explanations that made sense to me about the way our reality works

Who are my favorite writers? John Fowles, C.S. Lewis, Dion Fortune, Elizabeth Peters, Joan Grant, Sylvia Plath, Ernest Hemingway

You only die once, what music would I listen to on my last day? Anything by the The Cure

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction? Sherlock Holmes and Buffy the Vampire Slayer

Who are my heros and heroines in real life? Anyone who can be truly open and trusting.

Which movie would I recommend to see once in a lifetime? The Maltese Falcon

What role plays art in my life and work? For me art gives me a voice I didn’t have before, it allows all of the things I keep hidden inside to come out – it’s a way to share who I am with everyone.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? My ex is still my biggest fan, my friend Jill is my creative sponsor and I am my own partner in crime.

Whom would I like to work with in 2017? Anyone – I love collaborating!

What project in 2017 am I looking forward to working on? I love all of my projects equally.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017? The Brewery Art Walk in the spring (April 29 & 30th) and fall (Dates TBD) in the Jesus Wall Gallery and various Los Angeles galleries and pop ups

What do the words, Passion Never Retires mean to me? When you do something you feel passionate about it is not work, it is a necessary part of life, like breathing, and you never retire from breathing.

How can you contact me?
www.kristineaugustyn.com
kristine@kristineaugustyn.com

Leave a Reply

