The Heroine’s Journey of Parker Sinclair

What is the best thing that I love about my work? The freedom and free flow of ideas, control over my schedule and all aspects of my work, and to be able to create stories that will move, inspire, and emote a wide range of feelings in the readers.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? To have a fulfilling career that inspires my daughters, contributes to my family’s quality of life (both financially and emotionally), and with freedom to explore the world, my mind, and the lives of others.

What is my greatest fear? Allowing doubt to creep its way in where it can possibly destroy my path towards this perfect happiness and fulfillment.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? I tend to think that something new tossed at me may be too exhausting, time-consuming, and sometimes improbable or unnecessary at first. Basically I create my roadblock. I get out of this pretty quickly though.

Which living persons in my profession do I most admire? Terry Brooks was the first author I obsessively loved in the fantasy genre. He’s be writing forever and appears to be so happy and in love with what he does.  Kim Harrison, Jeaniene Frost, and Cecy Robson are what I call my powerhouse female writers who showed me that my own sassy, unfiltered, sexy mind could take the reigns and produce stories others will enjoy as much as I love their books. Patrick Rothfuss: His Kingkiller series woke my mind up, the one that had spent years studying science and psychology, and helped me realize that I had plenty of skill and background to create worlds. I use all of my past knowledge in my books, which allows mastery in those areas carries on.

What is my greatest extravagance? Lately (thankfully) it’s been travel, but I love fashion (handbags mostly) and great food. My husband and I love to cook, and nothing beats a home cooked meal.

On what occasion would I lie? Sometimes to my daughters for their own good. Like when I tell them someone isn’t home or something is closed so they can rest.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? I struggle with doubt in my work and in making a dent to stand out amongst all of the countless names and books out there. Marketing and promotions can be daunting at times and can upset my ability to do what I truly love.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? In the midst of a story when the words just flow out of me, the scene plays out in my head, and I am astounded by my own thought process and creation.

If I could, what would I change about myself? Lessen the stress I place on myself to be and do everything right now. I’m a new author, and I know it isn’t a sprint, but I am eager for my shot.

What is my greatest achievement in work? Finishing and publishing my first book. I researched the entire self-publishing process on my own, made sure I own all of my rights, wrote a book over 100,000 words with a heroine worth looking up to and feeling compassion for, and taking the risk by sharing it with the world.

Where would I most like to live?  I wish I could live closer to my side of the family, but they are scattered all over the west. I loved living in California, but it may be different for me now. Plus, I’m not in my twenties anymore. My heart yearns to be somewhere, but I’m not sure where that is right now. I hope traveling more helps guide me in the future, but my family is very happy with where we live now in coastal Virginia.

What is my most treasured possession? Anything my mother gave e or left to me. She passed away seven years ago.

What is my most marked characteristic? Humor and wit.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? First Landing State Park. It’s where my mother’s ashes are, and she’s the one who taught me how to read.

What is my favorite place to eat and drink, in my city? Whiskey Kitchen has the best drinks. • The Landing for eats.

What books influenced my life and how? The Secret & The Power By Rhonda Byrne: Her book brought me to where I am now. I’ve taken the leap, and I now have faith in my ability to create my future by reframing my thinking. I try to be grateful everyday, and to add mindfulness and visualizations to my daily routine. • Magic Kingdom for Sale-Sold!: By Terry Brooks- this book unlocked my following of a great writer, and slowly built a desire to write a fantasy novel deep within my mind. • A Wrinkle in Time: By Madeline L ‘Engle: A female writer of fantasy proved to me women could write incredible fantasy stories in a male dominated industry. • R. A. Salvatore: Homeland: Was a book that bonded a diverse group of 11th grade honors English students, including myself. It proved to some who thought cliques could never break barriers wrong. Our presentation crew looked like The Breakfast Club. I’ll never forget it.

Who are my favorite writers?  Terry Brooks, Cecy Robson, Kim Harrison, Jeanine Frost, J K Rowling, Kelley Armstrong, Patrick Rothfuss, & Rhonda Byrne.

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day? Pearl Jam, Mumford and Sons, Dr Dre and Snoop, The Cure, Bob Marley, Big Head Todd and the Monsters, The Beatles, & House music.

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction? Buffy the Vampire Slayer. She was one of the first heroines in my generation that showed that a girl could do and be anything. She could be funny, badass, scared, in love, sexy, and broken. She’s the original heroine to inspire by own stories.

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life? My sister has been the most resilient woman in my life. She followed a dream since she was a child and made it happen. She never gave up. She is always there for me as a friend and sister. My grandmother and Father: They both taught me to love music of all kinds, books, and words. My dad taught me you could get a degree in one area and totally switch tracks. My friends who read my first garbled pages and inspired me to go on—they know who they are.

Which movie would I recommend to see once in a lifetime? Arrival. This movie blew my mind. It is beautifully shot, the score is amazing, and it makes you take a look at life and how even horribly awful choices, mistakes, and experiences, even those, make it all worth living.

What role plays art in my life and work? Art is created in my mind each day as I create worlds, people, creatures, fight scenes. Music can inspire an entire scene; a painting has led to poems to open chapters, I now craft key chains, design my covers, and graphics. My careers have been in science and psychology, so I’ve enjoyed exercising the right side of my brain!

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? My friend Amy boosts me up every time I fall, joins me at events, and believes in me. My friends in Club X and my family and neighbors read all of my books and keep me motivated and believing in myself.

Whom would I like to work with in 2017?  I would love to work with an agent and a great promotional team!

Which people in my profession would I love to meet in 2017?  I’m going to BookCon, so I hope to see some of my favorite authors.

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on?  I can’t wait for my Jake the Growling Dog picture book to be out of illustrations. It has a great loving kindness activity and my artist, Kerrie Joyce, and I are going to be going to elementary schools in our area and sharing the incredible, thoughtful, and adorable story about excepting others differences-something the world really needs to remember these days!

Where can you see me or my work in 2017? I have lots of events this year, and all of my current work and event calendar is always linked to my website: http://www.parkersinclair.net and on my Facebook fan page: https://www.facebook.com/ParkerSinclairbooks/

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me? That I’ll be doing what I love until I die!

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story? Kerrie Joyce, Jessica Ozment (Tahbonemah), Kim Naylor, J.L. Baldwin, Alexis Purdy

How can you contact me? My email is mail@parkersinclair.net, and my contact form and newsletter can be found here: http://www.parkersinclair.net/contact

Here you can find my books:

Trust: The Alex Conner Chronicles Book One

Truth: The Alex Conner Chronicles Book Two

Forbidden: An Alex Conner Chronicles Novella

Eve of the Exceptionals

Leave a Reply

