The Heroine’s Journey of Claudia Árcega

What is the best thing that I love about my work? What I love mostly about my present job, is that art itself is my raw material, and I make alchemy practices with it. When I work with artists, my spirit rises and my mind flies. Art is my religion.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? My idea of happiness is to harmonize mi inner space with the environment, and also flow with life, without resisting to the proofs that it has within, but attracting what belongs to me. Balance is the word. My true happiness is contributing to the happiness of the ones I love.

What is my greatest fear? Not learning the lessons of life, and not developing my maximum potential, with the skills attributed to me in this human experience. Also, not to reach the deep understanding of the love detachment for situations, or persons. And stay hungry on left something desired or unsaid.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? In the past, I’ve been too pleasant with the others. I´m trying to rule myself to the extreme with my own convictions and take charge on myself. I´m afraid to loose precious time on issues that don´t belong to me or my real life.

Which living persons in my profession do I most admire? It has been a difficult question to me. That´s because I left this one for the end, haha. There are many names, but instead I mention everyday people, people who surrender completely to what they do, people who leave the comfort zone, and go outside to get opportunities from life. These people are the ones that I admire the most: everyday warriors.

What is my greatest extravagance? I consider myself a simple tastes person, but I love doing new things and first times. I don´t think that the test of time has something to do with it. I´m always open to experimentation. Places, tastes, smells, lights, shadows, cities, thoughts: always first times, i like it that way.

On what occasion would I lie? Yes, I have done it, when I’m afraid to damage the image I build for the others. I know it´s not right, but I´ve done it. By the other side, being a transparent person, makes you free yourself. Nothing to prove, now I know it.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? Working with people with lack of passion. It´s impossible to work in terms of art and culture without an inner fire.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? When I dedicate time, money, sometimes tears and a lot of passion to a performance. Also, when I learn to use a technological new tool or a useful knowledge. About where, in some mythical venue, where artists I admire, with historical heritage, performed. These places have an aura.

If I could, what would I change about myself? The lack of courage in the past, and some lost years. Although viewed in perspective, now I understand that the learning processes are slow-melting, and every decision made, makes you what you are. Today, I try to live just one day at a time.

What is my greatest achievement in work? One of them was when I used to work as an architect, watching my designs rise, and finding new angles, unseen for me in print. Right now, being an art and culture worker, having developed and professionalized Nigredo Lab, and having turned mi mind to an entrepreneur one, although few people believe in you before you make it a reality. Once you achieve it, there is no turning back, and the other´s opinion doesn´t matter anymore.

Where would I most like to live? I love my country, despite it´s very damaged. That´s because I believe that every little leap we take forward, it´s very important to rebuild our spirit, from the trench chosen by everyone. I have been a nomad person, inside my country, and it makes me opens my perspective of what we the Mexicans are on different territories. It would be very interesting living in other countries, but my everyday fight belongs this place, and the challenges are here and now.

What is my most treasured possession? What I’ve learned, the big love I have for my partner, daughter, and girlfriend Anúk. Also learning that the material things are not mine. I travel lightly, the treasures are inside of me, and there is no way to lose them.

What is my most marked characteristic? My capacity to recover myself and turn the page. I´ve learned that lesson.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? I´ll talk about Guadalajara, the city I choose to live in. I don´t have a favorite place, but being in front of the Hospicio Cabañas, admire the front of the Degollado Theatre by night, or watching bleeding clouds on a sunset over the Basilica of Zapopan, fill my eyes and my heart with joy.

What is my favorite place to eat and drink, in my city? Any historic plaza, I adore coffee, red wine, light food, and an intelligent chat, I don´t need more.

What books influenced my life and how? When I was very young, I read “Thus spoke Zarathustra”. “Gog”, “The Madman”, “Il Principe”, some Borges tales, books that made me understand some facts about human nature. In a dark period of my life, reading “Anatomy of the Spirit”, was the first of several readings that opened my understanding of the real meaning of life, putting beside the religion concept, to embrace the spiritual one.

Who are my favorite writers? In my teenage years, I discovered the Latin-American Boom, with Cortázar, Vargas Llosa, and mainly, when I have read García Márquez my mind blew out! Also, Borges, the historic novels as Fernando del Paso´s or Umberto Eco make me delirious. I worship to the Jalisco storytellers as Arreola and Rulfo. I love Juan Rulfo.

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day? Rock and blues, always and without any doubt. Maybe hearing “Here comes the sun” again, makes me wants to jump into the void.

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction? Believe or not, Maleficent is my favorite fiction archetype. The character´s construction tells us how a pure and noble essence changes because the intrinsic human evil and betrayal, when we are not prepared to know that nobody is able to destroy us without our consent. The character represents the dark side and the shadows within.

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life? Common people that prevail to extreme testings as migration, impairment, singles parents that take charge of the responsibilities, parents that lose their kids and despite that, they continue loving their lives.

Which movie would I recommend to see once in a lifetime? ¿Just one? Too hard… The Piano, maybe

What role plays art in my life and work? The most important. Nothing more to say.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? In terms of complicity, my daughter, undoubtly. We are Vianne and Anouk, Thelma and Louise. We come turning on the Wheel of Life, always.

Whom would I like to work with in 2017? With Performance Art figures. This issue has reshaped, so this year is the chosen one to take up this track of work.

Which people in my profession would I love to meet in 2017? Creative people, new or already known, to come this year is welcome to my life, neither an specific person, just the ones with a lot of good energy. There is already wonderful people coming into my life right now.

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on? The beginning of a tour in several cities with “Féminas, entre lo Público y lo Púdico” (Females: between the public and modest places),in photoperformance. It will be a big challenge for Nigredo Lab.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017? There are several events and projects coming, that inspire me so much. You can get info of them in my social networks. Theatrical production, photoperformance, TV, every one of them very exciting to me!

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me? Means that you are always in force, if you want it, and and the years brings an experience and wisdom advance

How can you contact me? Facebook: Claudia Árcega Mail: clauarcega@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

