The Heroine’s Journey of Azu Moreno

What is the best thing that I love about my work?

That it makes people happy. And also makes me happy.

What is my idea of perfect happiness?

Dance foreveri wish i could dance all my life, this is my idea of perfect happiness, do what i like to do all the life and make happy others through dance and art.

What is my greatest fear?

That something could happens to my body, that dont let me more dance…not dance anymore is my principal fear, that my legs cannot respond anymore to dance.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself?

That i only think about dance in my mind, and sometimes i focus too much and i feel isolated from the rest of the things that happens in the world, that are also important things.

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire?

Alicia Alonso, she is my master and example of overcoming. She is almost blind and continues dedicating her entire life to dance. She is my favourite dancer and master of dance.

What is my greatest extravagance?

I like sugar a lot. Even if i know that sweets are not so healthy, i like chocolat and sugar too much.

On what occasion would I lie?

I dont like lies.I try to be sincere with others and sincere with myself. So…i dont imagine now any occasion to lie. Be sincere with others and especially with yourself in my opinion is the best way to live.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work?

That sometimes i feel tired. Demands a lot of energy to dance everyday, and sometimes is the worse thing of my work. Keep enough energy to maintain strong everyday.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work?

When i am teaching, and i see the smiling people faces. When the students are happier after finish the dance lesson and they feel happier after improvising and dance.

If I could, what would I change about myself?

I would like to be better person every day, if i could what i would like to change about myself is not feeling insecure sometimes

What is my greatest achievement in work?

Make others happy. To be part of the collective dance culture of the world.

Where would I most like to live?

I prefer the countryside and the places of nature. I would like to live in the nature with a lot of plants and flowers around.

What is my most treasured possession?

The memories The memories of my life.

What is my most marked characteristic?

In the body, my eyes.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city?

The Alhambra, i was born in a house near of Alhambra and this place is a very special place for me since i was born. Part of me.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city?

In my city there are a lot good places for that. My favourite is La Estrella restaurant.

What books influenced my life and how

A very special book for me is The prophet, the crazy and the homeless, of Khalil Gibrán. Poetry also i like so much, i adore the poetry of Rumi. Life of a Geisha, of Mineko Iwasaki is a very special book for me also.

Also Momo of Michael Ende.

Who are my favorite writers?

Rumi, Bécquer, García Lorca, Michael Ende, Oliverio Girondo, Khalil Gibrán, Mineko Iwasaki, Aurobindo, Therese Bertherat, Krishnamurti.

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day?

Dante´s prayer of Lorenna Mckennit.

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction?

Krishna,

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life?

My mother and Alicia Alonso.

Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime?

El Decameron, of Pier Paolo Passolini.

What role plays art in my life and work?

I think art is all my life. I dedicated my life to art since i was a child, i grew up dancing since i have eight years old.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime?

My family and my friends, they are always there supporting me in the artistic things i make and i feel very thankful for that.

Whom would I like to work with in 2017?

There is a lot of people of the world of the dance that i respect and could be a pleasure work with them.

Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017?

Wim Vandekeybus

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on?

I will finish my final project of dance at university. This project is the most important for me and i have been studying for four years at university.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017?

Escuela Mayor de danza de Madrid.

What do the wordsPassion Never Retires” mean to me?

I completely agree. Absolutely.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story?

My dance teacher Marta Bosch,of Alicia Alonso University, she is an heroine for me too.

How can you contact me?

In my professional dance web site

Leave a Reply

