The Heroine’s Journey of Hikiko Mori

What is the best thing that I love about my work? The fact that I’m the mistress of my own world and can give birth to my feelings on stage, or through my paintings.
What is my idea of perfect happiness? Being serene and loved by people I care about.
What is my greatest fear? To hurt someone’s feelings. I hate making people feel bad.
What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? My temper. Too hysterical, too sensitive, too scared of people, too anxious about ridiculous little things.
Which living persons in my profession do i most admire? Anne van der Linden (painter), Gea Philes (illustrator), Junji Ito, Suehiro Maruo… For music, I’d say Emmanuelle Hubaut, a French singer, guitar player and song writer. In the nineties, he was in a band called Les Tétines Noires, which is one of the weirdest, funniest and fiercest stuff I’ve ever heard in my entire life. I felt in love with the band when I was 14, and I’m still shaking when I listen to it now.
What is my greatest extravagance? I try to be as free as possible, even if it’s really hard sometimes.
On what occasion would I lie? When I’m in danger or to protect someone.
What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? My art is often crappy. My voice is ugly. Fortunately, I write good songs !
When and where was I the happiest, in my work? Few weeks ago, when my band (called Bad Tripes) and I worked with a young film production company (called Bat Art Productions) to make the music video. It was such a pleasure to work with lovely and effective young people.
If I could, what would I change about myself? My sensitivity because it often makes me suffer.
What is my greatest achievement in work? The fact that some people really seem to like it, because I tend to think I only do garbage.
Where would I most like to live? Maybe Marseille, because it’s a great place to party, but I don’t like the way people act. There’s too much agressivity towards young women there. But I guess it’s the same shit everywhere in France.
What is my most treasured possession? I should tell my cats, but there are my feline friends, so I can’t say that. My paintings and my computer, because all my texts are on it.
What is my most marked characteristic? I’m a really noisy and chatty person. I guess it can be exhausting for my friends and my boyfriend, ha !
What is my most inspirational location, in my city? Maybe the seaside… even if I think there’s too many children screaming/crying/fighting on the beach, which is not the best thing to relax !
What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? In a cocktail bar called l’Arbre à Bulles. They prepare the most exquisite drinks you can imagine. Ginger mojito, raspberry black vodka, hot milk, gin and honey… It’s heaven on earth !
What books influenced my life and how? Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov, and a strange humoristic short stories book called “Vous avez le droit d’être de mauvaise humeur, mais prévenez les autres” by Céline Robinet.
Who are my favorite writers? Angela Carter, Vladimir Nabokov, Joyce Carol Oates and James Ellroy.
You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day? “Pleure” by Les Tétines Noires.
Who is my hero or heroine in fiction? Harley Quinn from the original Batman animated serie (not from the shitty Suicide Squad stuff). Lina Romay in every Jesus Franco’s movie.
Who are my heroes and heroines in real life? I was in deep artistic love with Jean-Louis Costes, an French extreme performer who never made any compromises in his shows and his music.
Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime? It’ extremely difficult for me to say just one title ! Maybe The Wicker Man by Tom Hardy… or The Rocky Horror Picture Show, although it’s impossible to see it just once !
What role plays art in my life and work? It helps to hate myself a little less. To feel what pride is.
Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? My boyfriend Thierry, who shares my life since 2010. Julien, the guitarist and composer of my band.
Whom would I like to work with in 2017? With D’ from the French hip hop band Kabal. He has an amazing voice and it would be an honor to write and play a song with him.
Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017? I’d love to play with the French metal band Lofofora.
What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on? My band will release its third album and some music videos in the coming months. We will play in Marseille next month with our friend from Blazing War Machine (French black metal band) and hope lots of gigs will come.
Where can you see me or my work in 2017? Here : http://www.facebook.com/hikikomorink an there : http://www.badtripes.bandcamp.com
What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me? Passion is not just a simple hobby : it’s the most important thing in an artist’s life. We live, suffer and die with it.
Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story? I’d say Gea Philes, Marie Meier, Irina Folie from Blazing War Machine…
How can you contact me? Here : www.facebook.com/hikiko.badtripes
To contact my band : http://www.facebook.com/BadTripesOfficiel
Leave a Reply

