The Heroine’s Journey of Kade Cook

What is the best thing that I love about my work?

Without any doubt it would be the freedom of it all. Being able to write exactly what is meant to be written is so freeing and most days completely exhilarating.

What is my idea of perfect happiness?

My idea of perfect happiness is loving who I am, inside and out. Happiness begins within.

What is my greatest fear?

Of being cremated. No so much the cremation part but waking up just before they light the furnace. I scares me to pieces.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself?

I would have to say second guessing myself and worrying about failing. I guess in one way my insecurities push me to continue on, when it would be easier to just quit. I couldn’t live with myself if I didn’t try to do to the best of my abilities.

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire?

There are so many incredible writers out there but to date, J.K. Rowling inspires me the most. From what her life was like in the earlier days, she refused to quit on herself and what she truly believed in. She made her own destiny with pure determination to see her dream come to life.

What is my greatest extravagance?

I live pretty simply but if I have one thing that I splurge on is Cuban Coffee. I am in love with a brand called Cubita.

On what occasion would I lie?

My biggest pet peeve is being lied to or having to lie but I guess if I would have to it would be to protect someone from an unnecessary truth. One of those little white lies that after two minutes pass, it is neither here nor there, long forgotten. There is no sense in hurting anyone over something that really won’t matter down the road.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work?

Now this is easy, marketing. I really would rather spend my time writing than trying to get people to notice my book. I would have so many more books on the go if I could just write. But as an indie author, it is a must and I am learning as I go which is good for the future.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work?

I guess for me it was at my book launch. Everything I had worked for and struggled through to get to that point was worth it when I stood in a room before all the beautiful people who came to support me and asked me to sign their copy of my book. It was life altering.

If I could, what would I change about myself?

I would have started writing twenty years ago when I had my first idea for a novel. I should have told myself to heck with not knowing how to do it and just did it anyways.

What is my greatest achievement in work?

As a writer I guess my greatest achievement is to actually finish a novel. You spend so much time creating and sculpting your craft putting all the scraps of notes together to makes sense that when you finally finish a work, it is a huge rush when you type those final words and call it a day.

Where would I most like to live?

I like living where I do, most of the time. The Maritimes are beautiful, clean and fun but I wouldn’t mind spending a little time down south or on a tropical island when the cold frigid temperatures hit in January and February.

What is my most treasured possession?

My health and my family. Everything else are just things that can be replaced.

What is my most marked characteristic?

I am a bit of a goof ball at times. I like to laugh and have fun. Oh and I may be a wee bit stubborn at times.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city?

The most inspirational place where I live is sitting on the beach. It calls to me and reminds me of a time I lived on Cranberry Island, Maine. There is something mystical about the place that I still dream about it even after 20 years of being away from it. I guess that is why it was inevitable that my book series takes place there.


What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city?

I don’t eat out much but I found a new place called GUSTO’s in Moncton that may have caught my attention. It’s an Italian spot where the food is wonderful and the ambience is so alluring that it is a definite repeat location the next time I decided to go out for supper.

What books influenced my life and how?

I only started really reading for fun later in my life, there weren’t many books in my parent’s home growing up and I was always too busy doing everything else to slow down long enough to read but now having read The Mortal instruments and the Twilight Saga, they helped spark the desire for my own creations. Now I am addicted to Sarah J Maas and her Court of Thorns and Roses series. The way she captivates you and pulls you into her world makes me want to be a better writer.

Who are my favorite writers?

Oh wow, there are so many. Well here are just a few that I have become addicted to: JK Rowling, Cassandra Clare, Sarah J Maas, Marissa Meyer, Stephenie Meyer, Dan Brown, Veronica Roth…there are just so many.

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day?

Hmmm, now that is a tough one. Maybe some Six:AM, and breaking benjamin then mix Ed Sheran in there somewhere with a bit of Ruelle. Yeah, that ought to do it.

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction?

I am pretty wrapped up in Feyre and Rhysand from Court of Mist and Fury right now. I absolutely love who and what they are, especially together.

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life?

The everyday heros, like our police force, our fire fighters, our nurses and doctors, but I think mostly they are those rare folks out there that do random acts of kindness…just because those simple acts of kindness can save a life sometimes.

Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime?

Well for me I adore Good Will Hunting, so I guess that would be the one.

What role plays art in my life and work?

I live in the country so for me nature is my art and it grounds me—pulling me back in when the world starts to spin too fast. It also makes me realize how lucky I am to be allow to live in such a pristine part of the world. I see art everywhere, so I can’t help but be inspired on a daily basis.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime?

My oldest daughter, of course. My ever ready cheer leader for everything I do. But I have a small group of beta readers that have become my greatest weapon to ensure I carry on with my dreams. They are my life support when I worry about the whole writing journey I am on. Without them I would be lost. Thank you guys, I love you all.

Whom would I like to work with in 2017?

In my dreams, I would love to work with a movie company. One that fell in love with my world and needs to make it appear on the big screen but in reality, I would love to work with a group of readers and authors alike that are trend moving, and have the energy to grab attention in the marketing world of books.

Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017?

I would love to meet some veteran authors who have figured out this crazy book business and have a few tips of knowledge that they could share about Marketing.

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on?

I am looking forward to finishing up my manuscript and working with my editor on completing my next book in time for a launch, hopefully sometime late summer or before winter of 2017. Then begin book 3 and 4 because I have so many other ideas that I want to get on paper.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017?

Anyone can find me online, just search for Kade Cook on WordPress, facebook Twitter, goodreadsor just click on one of the links below. I have links to everything I do on these sites as well as where to buy my book. (amazon.com, amazon.ca, Kobo, Chapters/indigo.ca, Pronoun)

https://kadecook.wordpress.com/

https://www.facebook.com/kadecook.author/

https://www.goodreads.com/Kade_cook

Places my book is available for purchase:

https://www.amazon.com/dp/0994867808/

https://www.amazon.ca/Grey-Covenant-Shadows-Kade-Cook/dp/0994867808/

https://www.chapters.indigo.ca/en-ca/books/grey-the-covenant-of-shadows/9780994867803-item.html?

https://www.kobo.com/ca/en/ebook/grey-20

https://www.facebook.com/boutiquemystral/

https://books.pronoun.com/kadecook/

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me? I believe it is passion that stirs the coals of our soul’s fire, once you have that fire it will never ever truly leave you. There is always a spark waiting to ignite a fire within. You just have to feed it.
Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story?To tell you the truth, I think that every creative heroine is a good choice to talk to. Each and every one of us are different and have something to offer from our own perspective. We all have something of worth to contribute.
How can you contact me?If anyone would like to come join in on my journey they can easily send me an email at kadecook.author@gmail.com or come find me on any of these links and drop me a message. I am always happy to hear from readers.
Leave a Reply

