The Heroine’s Journey of Kate Taylor

What is the best thing that i love about my work?

My work as an artist provides me with the ability to have  the privilege and  freedom to choose my own way of how to impart my knowledge and experience as well as the privilege to appeal to attentive, intelligent, demanding audience of contemporary art lovers. I best express myself with colours and through drawing which is very precious to me.

What is my idea of perfect happiness?

I have to confess i doubt that the notion “perfect or ideal” exists in reality, happiness does though. However, I remember a certain moment in my life that I can probably relate to my idea of perfect happiness, the moment i saw my newborn son for the first time and was told he was perfectly healthy.  At that point no immense pain or fear for my own life even existed as I cared for was my little boy and his happiness.  I must confess that accomplishing my work on canvas also makes me happy.

What is my greatest fear?

It has always been and will very likely will always be the fear of my inability to help someone close to me.  I fear not to be there for my son when he needs me, this is the greatest of all.  Perhaps that is because Stefan is only one and a half years old  and still needs me. I was afraid of not being able to save people during Maidan in Ukraine. When our Heroes were shot dead, a part of me died and i still feel that pain of not having been able to prevent the deaths of those beautiful amazing people.  I started painting and gave my work to charity to help people, it partly soothed the pain of the fear of my helplessness.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself?

Inability to forget and forgive insults.

What living persons in the profession do i most admire?

Gerhard Richter whose versatile and extremely novel way of allowing the viewer to travel through portals he has created to different dimensions and fascinating alternative realities.

What is my greatest extravagance?

I cannot leave an art shop without spending every last penny on art supplies and especially on oil and acrylic paints.

On what occasions would I lie?

I tend to be quiet if i sense that I am about to face a situation where I have to lie, but if I am already in a situation where being quiet won’t help much, I would lie in order not to hurt someone’s feelings. Obviously, it will be a trifle or white lie, I cannot lie about important things.  I find it hard physically to lie, perhaps that is why it is not so easy for me to establish contact with anybody to whom I am most likely have to lie, and that is the reason why i choose the people with whom i interact closely rather than to “love all people”.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work?

I really dislike it when i don’t have a sense completion when I’ve  invested so much time and effort in what I had thought would be a great work.  Although in those cases, it is at least fixable and i can just paint over the canvas and start again.

When and where was I the happiest in my work?

I can be very  specific on this one, as i even remember the hour. It was in June 2012 at 4 in the morning  when I first started painting with oil. My husband and I were renting a flat in the historical part of Kyiv. The atmosphere of the area and the new experience with paints allowed me to discover a new way of expressing my feelings.

If I could, what would I change about myself?

I would grow a million layers of skin in order not to even care about some people’s impoliteness or intolerance and their bad manners.

What is my greatest achievement in work?

A couple of my paintings were sold at a very high price and all the money was given to help wounded soldiers and to help defend Ukraine from the Russian invasion. I consider this my most important achievement. Knowing that my art has helped save lives makes me feel happy, it was one of the best ways for me to express my gratitude to our soldiers for defending our country.

Where would I most like to live?

I am happy where I am, I have realised at some point that my close ones and myself can create a cozy atmosphere wherever we live. I would miss Ukraine if we had to leave my country.  I used to live in the USA and I loved it there, but I felt homesick on numerous occasions.

What is my most treasured possession?

My wedding ring. I have never had a proper wedding, not even a nice dinner party with friends after we got married in the registration office. But I tend to think it doesn’t matter. My husband and I had financial troubles at the time and couldn’t afford a proper wedding, or a ring for me. What matters is that my husband got me a ring much later and we are doing great now.

What is my most marked characteristics?

I tend to think I am too talkative. I might irritate some people because of this.

What is my most inspirational art location in my city?

It has always been anywhere by the river.  Kyiv has a fantastic river where you can swim, close to the city centre. The Dnipro river gives me strength and inspiration, I used to spend my summer holidays by the river and it is everything to me.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink in my city?

There is a restaurant in the city centre called UnderWonder, I like it for its design which resembles the interior described in Carrol’s Alice in Wonderland and certainly for the cuisine which can surprise your taste with relatively simple but quality food.

What books influenced my life and how?

Frankly I am not sure a book cannot influence somebody’s life. In my experience of book reading I have discovered vast majority of fictions or real life stories either resembled what I have experienced in life or something that resonates with what I have heard before.

Who are my favourite Writers?

At present, I am fascinated with the works of Paul Auster.  My all time favourite is The Moon Palace as well as many others. I am now reading “4321” published this year.

You only Die Once, what music would i listen to on my last day?

It would be the music I listened to every day when I was little. My father was a great rock guitarist and he used to practice for 6 hours every day.  So I would probably pick Led Zeppelin and Jimi Hendrix.

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction?

Martin Eden from Jack London’s book.

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life?

It is the Ukrainians who defend their land, they are fearless and brave people who defend my baby boy’s sleep and our seemingly peaceful life in the centre of Ukraine. I admire people who are kind and strong and whose success is well-deserved. I admire an amazing artist and the President of The International Academy of Arts ,Christina Katrakis, whose life is worth writing a novel about and who is a role-model for me.

Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime?

As with books, it’s is hard to pick just one but one that comes to mind now is “71 Fragments of a Chronology of Chance”.

What role does art play in my life and work?

At the moment it plays a rather significant role, as it means I have the ability to make my voice heard and it now allows me to help others, as it becomes my profession too.

Who is the greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime?

My family and friends all support me, but mostly my husband who has to deal with a creative person on a daily basis.

Whom would I like to work with in 2017?

I would like to work with a prominent curator to help my works to be seen by more people. And my dream has come true. A curator from Germany and an author on art history and the theory of contemporary art is making my dream come true.

Which people in my profession would I love to meet in 2017?

I would love to meet amongst others, Gerhard Richter, Anish Kapoor, Ai Weiwei, Jeff Koons, Theaster Yates, Tania Bruguera, Cindy Sherman, Yoko Ono and Yayoi Kusama.

What project in 2017 am I looking forward to working on?

I am already sketching for my solo exhibition in Germany.  It is an amazing opportunity for me to allow my works to travel to more countries and be seen by a wider audience outside Ukraine.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017?

The next chance will be at my solo exhibition in Germany, for which I am preparing this spring.  The exact dates are still to be finalised (early June) but the location is a fabulous hotel in Germany near Berlin called “Schloss Ziethen”

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” means to me?

I would say, if someone is lucky enough to be able to work at something they enjoy doing their passion for doing it will never retire.  Boredom and lack of love for what you are doing kills any project.

Leave a Reply

