The Heroine’s Journey of Skye Amber Sweet

What is the best thing that I love about my work?
 
I absolutely love being a full time artist and muralist because it allows me to stay home with my children and be creative at any time I feel I need to express.   I love to paint in many different styles and keep growing with experimentation and emotion.All my art is emotional and I have a deep connection to my art as I transcribe emotion into the feeling in all my pieces manipulating it for emotional release.
 

What is my idea of perfect happiness?
 
 
My perfect happiness in mind is being loved by my husband and my two kids.  Happiness is love for me and with that everything else is always set up to be magic. 

What is my greatest fear?
 
My greatest fear in life is the loss of love.  I live to love and for love and if I did not have it I would not have a purpose. I am not a fearful person when it comes to anything else because I believe that fear holds you back with many things so I try to live life to the fullest and not let anything hold me back.  

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself?
 
I find that I am too giving and too emotional.  I feel too much and I connect to much which hurts me.  I find that I share and help many people and causes around me and am run thin at the end of the day.  People take advantage of my kindness, my honesty and my deep connection with myself and others.  Although I give a lot, I tend to lose with many things in my life.

Which living persons in my profession do I most admire?
 
I admire many people and love seeing strength, will and new ideas from these people.  However, I admire Jason Ostro very much due to his organization, knowledge, professionalism, kindness, vision, determination, artistic value and proactive creation.  You never hear a single negative thing out of him and he truly helps others and that is important to me in our industry when it comes to admiration.  

What is my greatest extravagance?
 
I would say canvases and paint.  My husband always makes sure I have art supplies no matter what and even when we are having a difficult month financially.  He believes in me and my art and supports me with all my artistic endeavors. We spend a lot of money on art and the supplies along with it. 

On what occasion would I lie?
 
As much as I want to say I dislike liars, we have all lied at one point or another in our lives.  I will not lie to my family or friends even if it may hurt their feelings.  I believe truth in all things always leaves no room for guessing with people who surround me.  I do lie to myself sometimes but it is more assuming a sale rather than lying.  I like to tell myself that I sold something in my head and many of the times that lie becomes reality within the same day.  Positive thinking is important to me.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work?
 
I dislike that I cannot reproduce any of my art if I tried.  My art is so emotional that it is as if once the thought is set down on canvas, it is what it is and there is no going back.  I do not like most of my art and very hard on myself because I want to grow and get better and better and feel I lack so much technique I am selling myself short. 
 

When and where was I the happiest, in my work?
 
I was the happiest in my canvas art from 2012-2015 when I was highly inspired living at the beach in Newport and had just started painting again after five years.  I loved how free and unique my art was at this time and lately I have not been able to make the same type of paintings I did in those years.  I believe it is because I am influenced in a different way with my new found love for murals.  My murals are planned which kills my inspiration for being free and spontaneous. 
 

If I could, what would I change about myself?
 
I am who I am.  I have been through so much in my life and at times have hated myself and at times loved myself.  I would not change anything about me because this is who I am and throughout my years who I was.  I have grown through the years with so much that I feel if I change something I wouldn’t be me.  I think maybe though I could get my nose fixed after being broken four times within the last twenty years, haha!
 

What is my greatest achievement in work?
 
My greatest achievement in work is my mural donations.  I am proud that I am able to keep grounded and stay humble supporting projects that help display beauty in our neighborhoods.  It is very important for me to help others and give.  It is an accomplishment to care for more than what is in my personal circle. 
 
 
Where would I most like to live?
 
I would like to live in Santa Monica.  I love the beach and miss living in Newport Beach.  I need the ocean and believe that ocean needs me.  I am most inspired when I can lay in the warm sand and hide my feet beneath the sand.
 

What is my most treasured possession?
 
My most treasured possession in my wedding ring.  I fell in love with the man of my dreams in 2014 and when he asked me to marry him there was so much love it was as if I was walking through a day dream.  When I look at my ring I always think about 2014 and how it was the happiest year of my life.  My dream since I was eight was to marry the hottest man with an amazing personality who loved me and my ring was the glue that snapped the dream into real life. 
What is my most marked characteristic?
 
I believe and have been told that my most marked characteristic of my being is my heart.  I believe that although you cannot physically see or touch it that it is prominent in my life, with all people, and my art. 
 

What is my most inspirational location, in my city?
 
I have to say honestly, our home in Silver Lake.  I say this because my kids inspire me to be better and love all things.  They are my life along with my husband and they are what keeps me working to hit new levels in my life.  
 

What is my favorite place to eat and drink, in my city?
 
I love Elf Cafe. My husband took me there a lot when we first started dating.  It is a cute quiet and hidden gem that serves the best vegan food in a romantic earthy setting.

What books influenced my life and how?
 
I absolutely love all the Brian Froud Books.  As a kid I was obsessed with faeries and David Bowie.  When I saw the movie Labyrinth and saw both in one I started collecting all the books with the art form Brian Froud.  

Who are my favorite writers?
 
I love Edgar Allan Poe as a poet, Brian Warner (Marylin Manson) for his lyrics and critiques and Tolkien for my childhood love of The Hobbit.

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day?
 
I believe I have died a few times and constantly travel.  Soon enough I will be on to the mothership for a new adventure and music will always be forever playing in my heart.  But to answer the question, I would say I would leave my body listening to Leonard Cohen, Neil Young and Sade.
 

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction?
 
I would say that my heroine would be the little girl Ofelia from the Spanish / Mexican movie, “Pan’s Labrinth” written by Guillermo del Toro!

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life?
 
Unfortunately I do not have any heroes in my life.  This seems odd to say but I have had to be my own heroine for so many years of my life constantly saving myself from the cruelties of the world I live in.  Although I help many there has not been any to help me and it is never expected.  I have found my own way and resources to take me where I need to go in life and to be positive and fulfilled. 
 

Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime?
 
I would recommend everyone seeing “Little Shop of Horrors”  I absolutely love that movie as a kid and still today!
 

What role plays art in my life and work?
 
I live, breathe and shit art all day long.  It plays a large roll in my life because it is also my business.  As a business owner and independent art contractor I stay focused by making sure I create EVERY single day even if it is a five minute sketch.  My art is our families secondary income so it is a must that it plays a large roll in my life and that I strategize daily to hit my sales goals weekly.
 

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime?
 
I would say my husband.  He loves most of my art and always wants to keep most pieces.  He not only loves my art, he supports my art and my goals.  I love him.

Whom would I like to work with in 2017?
 
I would love to work with teenagers that are troubled and in gangs and paint murals around the city.  When I was growing up in Las Vegas after moving from Hawaii I got in trouble a lot and had many friends that got me in trouble due to not having anything positive to focus on.  If I could help change someones life by showing them art and creating as an alternative I would be so so happy!
 

Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017?
 
I would love to meet David Brady and Brent Leopold.  I am huge lovers of their art and follow them closely.  I love their surrealism and compilations I could never do!

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on?
 
I am looking forward to my next four murals coming up but mainly my daughter’s school murals.  I have been commissioned to paint two this year and am waiting for the approval from the city to start! She has one more year there and it would be awesome to be a larger part of her school community.
 

Where can you see me or my work in 2017?
 
I am scheduled to paint murals in Los Angeles, Las Vegas and Texas this year!  Very excited and the news will be announced at a later time.  I also will be showing at the Brentwood Arts Festival, Painting a mural at the Urban Ocean Festival at the Aquarium of the Pacific and many other places. 
 

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me?
 
I live for passion and passion would never retire or creation would retire.  Never let your passion run short because there is so many things in life to be passionate about including love, art, family and light!
 

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story?
 
Robbie Kaye
Dina Appel
Dani Dodge

How can you contact me?
 
My Business name in the City of Los Angeles and Newport Beach is SKYEPOET
 
949.547.2361
Leave a Reply

