The Heroine’s Journey of Beatrix Carlotta

What is the best thing that I love about my work?

Self-expression. As an artist, especially performing and writing, I get to express the things I need to.

What is my idea of perfect happiness?

Being OK with myself. I currently feel to fully accept myself for better and worse, respect my needs, my set backs, my self-expression would be happiness.

What is my greatest fear?

I used to think being unheard or unacknowledged was my biggest fear, but now feel my fear is being misunderstood. To put love, art and interest in connection out into the world, and have those intentions and messages misunderstood.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself?

Comparing myself to others, or allowing the negative to outweigh the positive and damage perspective.

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire?

Too many to list! I admire artists like Marnie Scarlet, Moniasse, Cynth Icorn, Syban, Apple Tart, Monsterlune. I admire women in event organizing like Kim Williams and Mistress Absolute for their perseverance and longevity in such a difficult industry for years. I admire those who succeed with their impressive work, and still maintain dignity and respect towards their colleagues around them, creating a sense of community, rather than competition.

What is my greatest extravagance?

Fabric. I don’t need more, but I will have more please.

On what occasion would I lie?

To protect someone.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work?

I dislike the competitive nature of the industry influencing or tampering with the art itself.

I also dislike that I can be very critical and impatient with my self and my process, which I’m trying to work on.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work?

In spite of ups and downs, now. I’m happy now. I’m standing up for my work, being clearer with my art, my goals and my voice. It’s a hell of a life, but I’m happiest now.

I’m happiest in my art studio, or at Resistance Gallery.

If I could, what would I change about myself?

I’m trying to change my self-doubt and apologetic nature.

What is my greatest achievement in work?

I’m really proud to still be here in spite of my work often not fitting into the industry. That currently feels like a huge achievement! Starting my event ‘Fetish Theatre’ would be a visible result of this type of achievement.

Another would be the years I spent managing and writing for the femdom show at Club Pedestal, contributing towards breaking down stereotypes about how we see women in dominant positions and women in fetish all around.

Where would I most like to live?

It was a huge goal to live in certain places when I was young. I used to make plans and long to be a ‘citizen of the world’ in that sense. One of those goals was London, and I’m currently nearly ten years a Londoner. The other city that I have a connection to for years is Amsterdam. It’s still a life goal to live and work there.

What is my most treasured possession?

If I have to pick an object based on importance in my life, I’d say my ‘Bruv’ (brother sewing machine)Possessions and I have a confusing relationship! There is no object that can compete for my affection over my loved ones. That being said, I’m a fetishist and a very ritualistic person, so I apply much meaning to objects, and have many I treasure through sentiment because I feel they attach me to others.

What is my most marked characteristic?

Whether or not they’re marked, I’d say recurring themes involve narrative and feminism. As a performer my characteristic is story telling and scene-setting. As a fetish costumier (with a latex allergy) the characteristics of my work involve alternative fit and fabrics, deviating from what’s normally seen as ‘fetishwear’, especially for women.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city?

Other than my art studio or garden, Resistance Gallery. The art community that houses genuine connection between the very varied humans who exist and create there.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city?

My home/garden. I love to cook. But to choose a location, I’m an Eastender, and whatever neighborhood I move to in East London I look for my local treasure. My current would be Tippy’s Cafe.

What books influenced my life and how?

Art, culture, history, photography, fashion books and magazines had a huge influence. I collected Vogue growing up, forming a relationship to black and white fashion photography. I love biographies/autobiographies of artists. I love costume history books. Three books I like to keep in the mix – ‘Being Dharma’, ‘Fetish Fashion – Sex and Power’, and ‘Respect for Acting’.

Who are my favorite writers?

My favourite comedy writers who also write dramas are Louis CK and Charlie Brooker. Dark, sardonic, beautifully and painfully realistic perspectives.

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day?

Motown.

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction?

Ms. Vita Boheme, Lucille Ball, Maureen Johnson.

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life?

My Mother, Nina Simone, PJ Harvey, Margaret Cho, Madonna, Bjork, Cindy Sherman, Eiko Ishioka, Vivienne Westwood, Stephen Fry, David Attenborough.

Which movie would I recommend to see once in a lifetime?

To Wong Foo, Thanks For Everything, Julie Newmar.

What role plays art in my life and work?

Art plays a role everywhere in my life. I can’t help it, and often wish I could turn that off, but I need it everywhere.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime?

I’m very lucky to have people who have supported me and taken any interest in my work. That little collection of ‘fan’ support ranges from promoters or gallery owners I’ve worked with, to people who are members of communities where I perform, to friends and family who’ve taken interest in my art, to my Mom or my Husband.

Whom would I like to work with in 2017?

Mostly performers and photographers I’d like to collaborate further with. This year has been very important to me regarding reaching out and working with other artists, and I’m proud of how it’s gone and very keen to keep that going. I’m always wanting to create more conceptual work with photographers and filmmakers, and always wanting to connect with performers to expand collaborations as a writer.

For example, Farrukh Hyder is a videographer I’ll be collaborating further with soon in 2017.

Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017?

A lot of them! I don’t always get to ‘network’ as one is meant to in this line of work. I’d like to cross paths with many people in my profession whose work I’m familiar with, but perhaps not met properly in real life.

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on?

‘Fetish Theatre’ and ‘BC Couture’. This year I began hosting and writing a physical theatre kink drama production, which I’d begun writing years ago when I first started out in London. Getting that show out there has been wonderfully inspiring, tiring and rewarding, and it has rightly turned into my passion project. I’m also finally getting my conceptual couture collections to a point where they’re being acknowledged; so another huge goal for 2017 would be having a fashion show, expanding my costumes beyond stage to the catwalk.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017?

Resistance Gallery, Club Pedestal.

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me?

Passion is neither a job nor a choice. It’s something innate and organic, with no stopping point other than death. It may kill me 😉

(I suppose even then, others can pick up the torch and run with that passion)

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story?

Amy Kingsmill, Syban, Jess DeWahls, Kim Williams, Mistress Absolute, Apple Tart, Lolo Brow, Lily Snatchdragon, Moniasse, Izaskun Gonzalez, Katlyn Mercedes (aka MissMeatface), Heather Bandenburg, Snake Fervor.

How can you contact me?

My artist’s page or by email. https://www.facebook.com/Beatrix-Carlotta-220006873542/

beatrixcarlotta@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

