The Heroine’s Journey of Chloé Mons

What is the best thing that I love about my work?
Total freedom. I just have to listen to what I feel deeply and truly, without any king of censorship, and to make some music with it.

What is my idea of perfect happiness?
Love and art. To be with someone who understands me and who with I can exchange everything without any filter; and making my art the way I want.
What is my greatest fear?
Poeple I love disapearing from earth.
What is the trait that I most deplore in myself?
My impatience and my radicality. Both can be great for some situations, but they are difficult to live with. For exemple, impatience makes me suffer often! I’m always on a hurry in a world to slow for me! With the time, I learn to be more souple, like a cat!
Which living persons in my profession do i most admire?
They are so many! Here are a few one: Blixa Bargelt, Nick cave, Joanna Newsom, Kate Bush, Emmylou Harris, Iggy Pop, Damien Jurado, Bonnie Prince Billy, Anna Calvi …
What is my greatest extravagance?
Being totaly happy when I have three sides in my life: The love of my man, being a mother, being an artist. This is for me the normal and happy life!
For more concrete extravagance, I have no limit in buying pairs of boots! I have too much, i still buy some and I can spend a loooot of mony in it!
On what occasion would I lie?
To preserve someone I love. Sometimes truth is less important than the happyness of someone. It’s very very rare but it can happen.
What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work?
Commercial part. I’m an artist, but as I am independant, I have to face everything and the commercial part too. Sometime I would love someone to do all that for me!
When and where was I the happiest, in my work?
Impossible to choose a moment.I love doing concerts, but I evn love more the writing. Everytime I am with an instrument, with my lirycs written in front of me, looking for a melody, trying things…it’s pure happyness and light. Nothing else matters.

If I could, what would I change about myself?
Being more social with my work maybe… Often I’m very tented to stay in my own world, playing piano for myself for hours. But the world is wide open and the music has to travel and touch poeple.
What is my greatest achievement in work?
My last album “ALECTRONA”, produced by Blixa Bargeld who is a fantastic artist. I loved to work with him in Berlin. It was also an album in french, after many in english, and I wanted to mix chamber music and rock’n’roll. All that is in this album and I’m very proud of it.
Where would I most like to live?
Exactly where I live. In Paris. It’s a beautiful city full of history, not so big so you can walk all over the place, but with many interesting poeple, many artists, and when you have this feeling everything can happen anytime.
What is my most treasured possession?
My piano. It sounds like it is haunted!
What is my most marked characteristic?
Phisically I have long blonde hair and Mentally, I am a 2000 years old lady.
I always felt that way, even when I was a child. I’m an old soul.
What is my most inspirational location, in my city?
My house, where I work. The fact that it is so hidden, like a house in the woods in the middle of Paris is very inspiring. Like a secret.
But I often have ideas of songs when I’m in the bus, crossing the city, looking at all those poeple walking in all those streets. So many lifes, so many possibilitys…
What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city?
For a special drink, the Hemingway Bar at the Ritz Hotel! For a cool japanese lunch, le Marché des Enfants Rouges. For a special diner, Le Petrelle. For a café, any parisian brasserie with a terrace where you can smoke!
What books influenced my life and how?
My first shock in litterature was Henry Miller when I was 15. Sexuality and art! Now I stoped reading fictions a few years ago. I prefer poetry, diarys, biographys, correspondances. Real life!
Oe of my favourite book is Werner Herzog’s diary “Conquest of the useless”. Even the title says everything.
I also love every books from Pascal Quignard who mixes life, history, philosophy, poetry, mythology. “Vie secrete” is one of my favorite. He helps me to live. In the middle of the night, you can take it, read a few lines and it gives you confort. So precious.
Who are my favorite writers?
Pascal Quignard, Jacques Prevert, Walt Withman, Henri Miller, Louis Aragon…
You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day?
Songs for Liquid Days from Philip Glass.
Who is my hero or heroine in fiction?
James Bond.
Who are my heroes and heroines in real life?
Calamity Jane, Phoolan Devi, Mohamed Ali.
Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime?
“Pierrot le fou” de Jean-Luc Godard
“L’avventura” de Antonioni
“Au bord de la mer bleue” de Boris Barnet
“L’aurore” de Murnau
What role plays art in my life and work?
Art is the main thing. Art is the filter I need to live. Without art, I would be dead since a long time. It gives sense to everything, every move I do.
Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime?
I am not a criminal. I’m just an artist.
Whom would I like to work with in 2017?
With Chris Eckman and I will for my next album!
Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017?
I don’t know. In generaly, If I meet people, there is a reason. I’m not a “fan”, I don’t care to meet someone, even if I admire him or her, just to meet. The important thing is to create. So if I think of someone I want to create with, I’ll do everything to meet that person.
What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on?
My next album, produced by Chris Eckman who is a great musician and singer. And a play for theater around french actor Jean Yanne.
Where can you see me or my work in 2017?
On internet, with my name. Or you can listen to my music, by internet, CD or vinyles! If you are in France, you can see me in concert, or on theater.
What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me?
For me, as long as you are in life, you are passionated . If Passion disappears, I die.
Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story?
P.J Harvey, or Anna Calvi.
How can you contact me?
Via FaceBook.
Leave a Reply

