The Heroine’s Journey of Danielle Futselaar

What is the best thing that I love about my work? 
I love to create and use my imagination. My illustrationwork allows me to do these things.
What is my idea of perfect happiness?  
My idea of perfect happiness is being able to do the things I love best, which means i am quite happy right now!
What is my greatest fear? 
To lose the people that i love is by far my greatest fear.
What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? 
What I dislike most about myself is my insecurity. As I am getting older I am starting to get less insecure, but still I am more insecure than i probably should be.
Which living persons in my profession do i most admire? 
There are so many incredible illustrators and designers, so i have many people in my profession whom I admire, but perhaps the ones I admire the most are Brian Froud and Jean-Baptiste Monge.
What is my greatest extravagance?  
Well, perhaps my greatest extravagances are my travels to the USA (12 times, and hopefully more to come!)
On what occasion would I lie?
I don’t think i lie very easily at all, but there are occasions that i don’t tell how I feel or what I think, because i know that the person i talk with would disagree or be hurt.
What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work?  
Having to make invoices. It’s an inevitable part of being self employed, but i dislike that the most.
When and where was I the happiest, in my work?  
The most exciting time was when last year it suddenly became big national news that I create art for NASA and the SETI Institute. It was very exciting and a bit overwhelming to be on radio, television and in newspapers and magazines.
If I could, what would I change about myself?  
A wee bit more discipline would be nice now and then 😉 
What is my greatest achievement in work?  
I got to do so many beautiful projects. I am so thankful for all those things, that it is difficult to make a choice. But illustrating for NASA and the SETI Institute and illustrating the covers of the George children’s Books series (written by Lucy and Stephen Hawking), I think i am the most proud of that.
Where would I most like to live? 
Unfortunately it’s much to expensive, but if I could i probably would like to live in San Francisco. It’s my happy place.
What is my most treasured possession?
Life.
What is my most marked characteristic?
That I am addicted to illustrating. Once i start illustrating i don’t know when to stop.
What is my most inspirational location, in my city? 
The woods, because that’s where my house is, right between big oak trees on the edge of the town.
What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city?
Oh, that’s a hard question in a city with so much restaurants. There’s a.o. Stan & Co, De Boerderij, Arnheym, Iveau, Barleys, Ramblas, etc, etc and all of them are wonderful places to eat, drink or both!
What books influenced my life and how?
As a child i borrowed “The World of the Dark Crystal” by Brian Froud from the library. I was so impressed by the images and the symbols. That book has influenced me greatly.
Who are my favorite writers?
Jules Verne, J.K. Rowling, Roald Dahl, Remco Campert, Renate Dorrestein, Robert J. Sawyer and Thomas Olde Heuvelt
You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day?
At this moment i would probably choose Snow Patrol and Novastar.
Who is my hero or heroine in fiction? 
My fictional heroes are: Jacob Kowalski, Yoda, Dr. Lao (from the movie “7 faces of Dr. Lao”) 
Who are my heroes and heroines in real life?
My husband Anton, Jill Tarter and Seth Shostak (both from the SETI Institute) and my parents. They are each my hero in their own way.
Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime? 
Of course i have to say ‘Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them” because it’s an amazingly beautiful fantasy movie that takes you away to a world of wizardry and magic. Another movie I loved seeing was ‘The Secret Life of Walter Mitty”.
What role plays art in my life and work?
A very big part. It’s my life. Without art i would not have the career i have today.
Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime?  
My husband, of course. It’s incredible how he has been at my side through thick and thin.
Whom would I like to work with in 2017?  
I love to work with inspired and excited people who can boost my creativity to a higher level with their enthusiasm.
Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017?
Well, it’s only fantasy, but since i illustrated the covers of the George Children’s Books series by Lucy and Stephen Hawking, I would surely love to meet them!
What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on?  
I’ve started working on various children’s books and I look forward to all of these book-projects to continue to work on, but if all goes well I will also be writing and illustrating a book about the universe. In combination with the work i do for NASA and the children’s books i illustrate, that would be a crowning achievement.
Where can you see me or my work in 2017?
Online you can see my work on my website (http://www.artsource.nl) and my blog (http://artsource-danielle.blogspot.nl).
What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me?
I will never stop illustrating, it’s not a job, it’s part of who i am.
Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story?
Sophia Drent (writer)
Nienke Pool (writer)
Iris Compiet (illustrator)
(and Nathalie Cabrol, but i already gave her name)
How can you contact me?
Leave a Reply

