The Heroine’s Journey of Kristen Grunewald

What is the best thing that I love about my work?

I love when I get into what I call the “flow.” It’s a connection to something very spiritual and that is when my creative juices flow naturally without any forced thinking.

What is my idea of perfect happiness?

Having good people around me who I love and doing what I want when I want.

What is my greatest fear?

Having someone I love pass away.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself?

My impatience. Patience does not come naturally for me and I constantly have to tell myself to relax.

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire?

I see some incredible artists on social media. I admire those who are putting their art out there and are sharing it with the world. Talent is God’s gift to you. Your gift is sharing your talent with the world. Be generous with your talent!

What is my greatest extravagance?

My art supplies. If I need or want paint or brushes or canvases or a new laptop to draw on, I buy it. I also splurge on real perfume. I love scents and I love Chanel perfume.

On what occasion would I lie?

I do not like to lie. I believe telling the truth is the best choice but everyone does lie at some time. I would lie to avoid hurting someone’s feelings or when it’s the best option to help someone out. Mark Twain said that if you tell the truth you never have to remember what you said or did. You simply have to tell the truth. It is so much easier to live this way and it feels better.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work?

My procrastination. I usually do not simply sit down and get to work. I start busying myself with nonsense for about an hour and then I get to work. Is this my process or just a way to avoid the work for an hour? I think it is procrastination. Once I start working then I don’t want to stop.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work?

I am happiest now.

If I could, what would I change about myself?

My impatience. I am working on it. I need to get back to a meditation practice to calm and center myself.

What is my greatest achievement in work?

I think it’s where I am at now. I have put in years of work. I have honed my skills up to this point. I have gone through the frustrations of not being able to paint or draw something correctly and I pushed through it and kept at it until I succeeded.

Where would I most like to live?

On a tropical island. It would most likely be in Hawaii. I lived there when I was a teenager and I love that casual lifestyle and I feel best being near or in the ocean.

What is my most treasured possession?

People are not possessions so if I can’t name a person then I would have to say it is my art studio. I feel best when I am creating there.

What is my most marked characteristic?

My tenacity. My ability to go through hard times and challenges and survive. To never ever quit and to turn a challenge around and not let it destroy me but instead let it make me stronger and better as a person.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city?

The Getty Center in Los Angeles. It is amazing!

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city?

I like local family owned diners. I do not like superficial establishments. I like comfortable places where you can talk to the waiters and waitresses as if they were people you knew. I have a place called Bobby’s nearby that has been around since I was a kid. It is one of my favorites.

What books influenced my life and how?

I stumbled across the book Illusions by Richard Bach when I was in my 20’s. Reading it changed my life. This book made me realize that life is really just a play and we are the directors of our own lives.

Who are my favorite writers?

Richard Bach. Stephen King (the king of scary, creepy stories!)

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day?

It would be classic rock and roll from the 1970’s. The Eagles, Crosby Stills Nash and Young, Jackson Brown, and Bob Seger to name a few.

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life?

I love strong women and smart men. I don’t think actors in Hollywood are heroes. I don’t admire these entertainers. I think most actors are not too bright. I admire the people who are actually living real life and making a difference. Kellyanne Conway is a woman I admire. She is smart, strong and the first female presidential campaign manager in our American history. I admire people in my life. I see their struggles and I see how strong they are for pushing through those struggles.

Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime?

Forrest Gump.

What role plays art in my life and work?

Life is art. I see everything around me as art. When I drive in the morning I look at the morning sunrise and I am breathless as how beautiful the sky is. That is God’s art, God’s canvas. I love being able to take photos with my phone because I see art all around me, everyday.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime?

It is my partner and best friend, Gary McKenzie. I believe we need to choose people around us who challenge us and make us better. Gary is definitely that. He challenges me and pushes me and I don’t always like it (sometimes I hate it) but it makes me a better person and a better artist.

Whom would I like to work with in 2017?

No one particular person comes into my mind. I hope to be surprised as to who I will meet this year.

Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017?

I would love to meet anyone is the art industry who is inspirational.

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on?

I am obsessed with crows. I have a series of abstract paintings that I am working on called In My Next Life I Want To Be A Crow  or The Raven. I hope to complete this series of paintings this year. An image just popped into my head of a crow on a city skyline as the sun sets. Now I have to paint it.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017?

On my web site at www.kristengrunewald.com and on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter at “KristenUlla

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me?

Paint what you feel. Write what you feel. It has to be authentic. You have to feel it to create it.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story?

Jane Kelley, Carol Penum, Sky Crawford, Carol O’Connor (these are strong, intelligent women)

How can you contact me?

e-mail me at: www.kristenulla@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

