The Heroine’s Journey of Maria Vickers

What is the best thing that I love about my work? The best thing about my work is doing it. I love to write and push the boundaries of my imagination, to create stories that will pull people in and capture their attention. In 2010, I became very sick and disabled. Writing has helped me to cope and find a purpose again.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? I don’t think there really is anything called perfect happiness, however, I do think that you can find happiness even in the hardest of times. Being at peace with yourself and who you are, loving yourself, knowing the person you want to be and striving to reach your full potential will help you find happiness even when it seems nothing is going right. You will still struggle and feel down, but no one can bring you down if you know who you are.

What is my greatest fear? My greatest fear is death. After I got sick, it hit home that I’m human. I know that sounds silly. But anything can happen at any time in our lives. We need to live while we can. I fear death coming before I’m ready to go.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? I have faults, like anyone else, but I don’t know that I deplore any of them. They are part of who I am. I am trying to work on my time management and procrastination because I think they can be better, but I think deplore is too strong a word. I accept who I am. I even accept the fact I have to use a walker, and I used to deplore that.

Which living persons in my profession do I most admire? There are so many authors that I admire out there right now. Being brave enough to write a whole novel and then publish it, takes guts. Some are good and some are bad, but regardless, the author had the fortitude to persevere. I look up to Julie Garwood and a few other authors, but I admire anyone who follows through with their dream.

What is my greatest extravagance? I splurge on a couple of things. I get a monthly Loot Anime Box from Loot Crate. Not what you were expecting? I’m a huge anime geek. I also travel to go to book signings.

On what occasion would i lie? I try not to lie. On top of writing, I also beta and edit for a couple of authors. I have to be honest because this is their baby. It isn’t always nice or easy, but it is necessary.

What is the thing that I dislike in my work? The thing I hate most about my work is marketing. It is time consuming and I want to spend my time writing, but if I want sales, I have to market myself.

When and where was I the happiest in my work? When I’m working on my books, I’m always happy. Sometimes I need to take a break and go to a coffee shop, park, or restaurant to write or edit for a change of scenery, but as long as I can write, I’m happy. Unfortunately, with my health, I have to take a lot of breaks and it takes me a while to get a book finished, however, it is always worth it.

If I could, what would I change about myself? The one thing I might change is my weight. Not for vanity reasons, but for health. That said, I am happy with who I am, inside and out.

What is my greatest achievement in work? My greatest achievement is hitting the publish button. The numbers and rankings will always change, but I did what some thought I would never do, I published a book. Multiple books.

Where would I most like to live? I don’t know where I would most like to live. I miss living in Texas, but I can also see me writing in a cozy cottage in Scotland or Ireland, or maybe even somewhere on the beach.

What is my most treasured possession? I would say that my most treasured possession is my dog, Spencer Tracy, and my mind. When I’m stressed or not feeling well, he is there to comfort me and make me laugh. I also say my mind because it’s where my ideas for my stories come.

What is my most marked characteristic? I think my most marked characteristic is my inherent need to help people. I want to help and I want to pass on my knowledge.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? I honestly don’t know what the most inspiration location in the St. Louis area is for me. In Texas, it was a park where I could hear the trees rustle as the breeze blew. Since moving, I haven’t found that one spot that’s mine yet. Lately though, I have been sitting out on the back deck and reading. Maybe that will be my spot.

What is my favorite place to eat and drink, in my city? My favorite place to eat and drink would be Thai Rama. I love this place and the food is spectacular.

What books influenced my life and how? I’ve always read a lot, and I think books can imprint on you, but I wouldn’t say they influenced my life. My teachers, family, and the people around me influenced me more. But there are a few authors that I read and wanted to emulate like Jane Austen, Agatha Christie, and Julie Garwood.

Who are my favorite writers? My favorite writers are Julie Garwood, Jane Austen, Charles Dickens, Agatha Christie, Ella Frank, and Kindle Alexander.

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day? On my last day, I’d like to listen to Frank Sinatra and Bing Crosby. Bing has always been my favorite singer.

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction? My hero or heroine in fiction…I have too many to name. I used to want to be Heidi or Elizabeth Bennet or Miss Marple. I also loved how Carton in a Tale of Two Cities gave up his life for the woman he loved to be happy. I like a hero or heroine who is flawed, because that makes them more real.

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life? Teacher, police, firemen/women, military personnel, and anyone who struggles and overcomes. After getting sick, I met a lot of people in the different support groups. Some gave in to their disease, but most found the courage to push through and find a new way to live. These are my heroes.

Which movie would I recommend to see once in a lifetime? I would recommend everyone watch Casablanca at least one time. Even if you don’t like old movies, it is a great movie to watch for emotions it invokes and the cinematography.

What role plays art in my life and work? Art inspires me on a daily basis. Sometimes I will stare at a picture or painting and try to imagine the location and what is going on in the scene. Other times, it helps me to imagine my muses. One of my favorite cover photographers, CJC, showed me some of his pictures from a shoot one day. One of the pics called out to me and became my story By the Book.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? My family and friends are my great fans and supporters. My best friend, Joyce is probably my partner in crime and has been for years. But through the indie book community, I’ve met readers and fans of my work, and they’ve embraced me and cheered me on.

Whom would I like to work with in 2017? I would love to work with so many people in 2017, that I can’t pick just one person. I think that was one of the reasons I decided or organize an anthology that will be released in 2018.

Which people in my profession would I love to meet in 2017? In 2017, I would love to meet Julie Garwood, Kindle Alexander, Leslie McAdam, Connor Jay, Cody, TankJoey, Christopher John, Karen Marie Moning, and the list goes on and on. If/When I meet them, I will fangirl just like other fans would.

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on? The project I’m most looking forward to working on in 2017 is the one I’m currently working on, By the Book. It is my first M/M gay romance and will hopefully open new doors for me. I’ve always loved the genre and want to branch out into it.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017? You can see me in 2017 at Romance on the Lake on 6/24, SaSS on 7/8, Black River Book Bash on 8/5, and Ignite Your Soul on 9/30. My work can always be found on Amazon and is free on kindle unlimited.

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me? “Passion Never Retires” means that true passion never goes away. It always burns within you. Sometimes you may get lost, but it is always there. I’ve always wanted to write, but life got in the way. It took me a few years (and getting sick), but the passion is still there and burning brighter than ever.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story? I think Peter should invite Z.B. Heller, Kindle Alexander, and JC Santo. Each have dealt with their own strives and are pushing through.

How can you contact me? You can contact me under the following links: Email: mvickers.author@gmail.com Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/mariavickersbooks/ IG: @authormariavickers Twitter: @mvauthor Amazon: http://tinyurl.com/mvickersamazon Goodreads: http://tinyurl.com/mvickersgoodreads Bookbub: https://www.bookbub.com/authors/maria-vickers Newsletter: http://eepurl.com/cvH8tX Join the Love Seekers: https://www.facebook.com/groups/1362108480474447/ Here are my books: Another Chance: http://a.co/aagTvwU Exposed (Book One of the Love Seekers Series): http://a.co/fQAdVt6 Redeemed (Book Two of the Love Seekers Series): http://a.co/7vZZpCi By the Book: Coming soon

Leave a Reply

