The Heroine’s Journey of Camille Cier

What is the best thing that I love about my work?

What I love the most about my work is the people I meet, the encounters I have made.  Having the honor to create these intimate portraits allows me to enter into their world, and inversely, them into mine.  We can interrogate the world around us by sharing stories.  Pictures are just that.  Stories.

What is my idea of perfect happiness?

I’m not a big fan of the word perfect, as I don’t really believe in one notion of perfection. I think a weakness can become the strengh of many around us. What makes me happy is the world around me and the person in front of me. Imagine, an early morning sunrise, a pure crystal blue lake, and there I am, shooting red-haired woman whose wakes up and goes swimming every morning before work. – The pure simplicity of nature

What is my greatest fear? To loose my view

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself?

Shyness

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire?
I have long admired the photographer Diane Arbus .
She used to be the top model wife of her husband, but switched her mind to social photography. Diane Arbus chose to change her way and be an actor of her life.
I like to see the evolution of an artist like an intimate diary.
I am actually working on one for my next show which will take place in September.
What is my greatest extravagance?
Love 

On what occasion would I lie?
I don’t.
What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work?
There are two things.
First off, The loneliness can sometimes be intense. One creates and retouches alone. I wish I could work in team, like a magic duo, to have more active feedback.
The second, magazines and galleries have a difficult time promoting young photographers and artists.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work?
I received a proposal to exhibit and do show in a fresh fish shop. I decided to work on the concept around mermaids.
On the day of the opening, I saw the iron curtain rising slowly up … The rock band playing inside, with my photographic works presented between glass, and fish…
The atmosphere was so dense that it stands today as my best show.
If I could, what would I change about myself?
Perhaps the fact that I can be timid.
Although my way to express myself the photography, sometimes I might not see an opportunity in front of me because of this.
What is my greatest achievement in work?
All my work, is based on female situations. It is part of me, it is my situation. 

Where would I most like to live?
I would like to live in two places. My work place is where I live Montreuil, a city just next to Paris. And I dream of having a small house in the Pyrénées mountains one day.
What is my most treasured possession?
Ownership makes you a prisoner of society. I now think the society is changing by landing your house , your car,…
But the only thing I love to own is my camera for sure … and I dream of changing for a Hasselblad.
What is my most marked characteristic?
As I backpacked around the world, I learned how to react to any problem with peaceful interaction. I would say that I am a pretty resourceful individual, which helps a lot in photography for finding new ideas with less consumption. In a way I could say that I am ecological photographer. 
What is my most inspirational location, in my city?
I love the Mélies. The Movie theater of Montreuil bears his name as he lived there.
What books influenced my life and how?
Without hesitation I will recommend “The Parfum“of Patrick Süskind.
This book release your sense of the smell. It is the only sense that it is direct connected to your brain.
Unless the view of photography will be connected to?
Who are my favorite writers?
Virginie Despentes 

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day?
“Let’s dance” of  David Bowie

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction?
Wonder Woman

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life?
Angela Davis, Aung San suu, Beatrice Dalle ,Virgine Despentes , Simone de Beauvoir,  Patti smith … Some heroes must have escaped me here as well….

Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime?
Persona de Ingmar Bergman 

What role plays art in my life and work?
the art and my life are simply in fusion. 

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime?
i don’t have … 😦

Whom would I like to work with in 2017?
Feminine magasine: Paulette, Muze, Grazia, Vogue …
Travel Magasine : I heart

Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017?
I want to work with other artists :
Alexandre Liebert , Virginie Despentes(writer) , Camille (singer)
And publish a Book
edition Filligrame

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on?
woman , woman , woman 

Where can you see me or my work in 2017?
Comme to my  show in september in Saint Macaire 

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me?
Passion is life 

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story?
Trinidad Mc Auliffe and  Judy park 
How can you contact me?
Leave a Reply

