The Heroine’s Journey of Gabrielle Jarzynski

What is the best thing that I love about my work?  
My freedom of expression.
Ma liberté d’être.
What is my idea of perfect happiness?  
The mirage from a lost life. 
Le mirage d’une vie perdue. 
What is my greatest fear?  
To lose my family.
Perdre ma famille.
What is the trait that I most deplore in myself?
Being practical. 
Ma lucidité. 
Which living persons in my profession do i most admire? 
Honest and freedom people. 
Des personnes honnêtes et libres. 
What is my greatest extravagance?  
Leaving my job in order to write, create, dream and publish. 
Quitter mon travail pour écrire, produire, rêver et éditer. 
On what occasion would I lie?  
Maybe on such occasion…
Peut-être à ce genre d’occasion…
What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work?  
The wait.
L’attente. 
When and where was I the happiest, in my work?
At the end of each of my projects. For example in March 2017: my first exhibition in Paris at the Point Ephémère. I created an audio & visual installation with the musician Rémi Lavialle. 
À la fin de chacun de mes projets. Par exemple en mars 2017, ma première exposition à Paris au Point Ephémère. J’ai créé une installation sonore et visuelle avec le musicien Rémi Lavialle.
If I could, what would I change about myself?  
My empathy
Mon empathie. 
What is my greatest achievement in work?  
Each of my projects with different artists is a great achievement. For example, La Mue, an art book with the photographer Lucie Linder.
Each of my published texts is also a great achievement, latest for example, Un vendredi matin, published by A-Over éditions and illustrated by Smith Smith (Fred Drouin) 
Chacun de mes projets avec différents artistes est un grand accomplissement. Par exemple, La Mue, un livre d’art en 25 exemplaires numérotés et signés avec la photographe Lucie Linder. http://gabriellejarzynski.bigcartel.com/product/la-mue
Chacun de mes textes publié est également un grand accomplissement, par exemple le dernier, Un vendredi matin publié par A-over éditions et illustré par Smith Smith (Fred Drouin)
Where would I most like to live? 
Anywhere with my family. 
N’importe où avec ma famille. 
What is my most treasured possession?
My freedom. 
Ma liberté. 
What is my most marked characteristic?
My melancholia. 
Ma mélancolie.
What is my most inspirational location, in my city?  
It depends of my feelings, of the instant, of my ongoing projets. 
Cela dépend de mes émotions, du moment, de mes projets en cours. 
What is my favorite place to eat and drink, in my city?
Presently, my favorite place is on the site of my atelier, at the Grands Voisins, Paris. There is a restaurant & bar, La Lingerie.
En ce moment, mon endroit préféré est sur le site de mon atelier, les Grands Voisins, Paris. Il y a un restaurant et un bar, La Lingerie
What books influenced my life and how?
L’histoire de l’oeil by Bataille & L’écume des jours by Vian. 
Who are my favorite writers?
Bataille, Cocteau, Plath, Duras, Sade, Michaux, Pasolini, Rimbaud, Eluard, Apollinaire, and many others!
Bataille, Cocteau, Plath, Duras, Sade, Michaux, Pasolini, Rimbaud, Eluard, Apollinaire, et beaucoup d’autres encore!
You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day?
Probably my discover playlist of the week on spotify. 
Probablement ma playlist découverte de la semaine sur spotify. 
Who is my hero or heroine in fiction? 
Dana Scully and Paul Spector! 
Who are my heroes and heroines in real life?
My daughters. 
Mes filles. 
Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime? 
Le mépris, by Godard.
Le mépris, de Godard.
What role plays art in my life and work?
Art is a vision, a perception inside and around me. It’s a disturbing feeling in which I learn to express myself and to share it with other people. 
L’art est une vision, une perception à l’intérieur de moi et à ce qui m’entoure; c’est un sentiment troublant avec lequel j’apprends à m’exprimer et à le partager aux autres.
Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime?  
My husband and my children, some friends, some readers, some publishers, some artists.  
But for the partner in crime, especially my friend Caroline. 
Whom would I like to work with in 2017?  
I would like to keep to develop audio and visual installation and why not to write a novel. 
J’aimerais continuer à développer des installations sonores et visuelles et pourquoi pas écrire un roman. 
Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017?
The artistic director of « Fondation Cartier » in Paris. 
Le directeur artistique de la Fondation Cartier, Paris.  
What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on?  
Two art books: one with the artist Eric Demeslis and the other with the artist Jean-Guillaume Kuhn, published by Philippe Miénnée publisher. 
And probably other surprises around visual poetry, radiophonic creation.
Deux livres d’art: un avec l’artiste Eric Demeslis et le second avec l’artiste jean Guillaume Kuhn publié par les éditions Philippe Miénnée. 
Et probablement d’autres surprises autour de la création sonore, radiophonique. 
Where can you see me or my work in 2017?
In my atelier at the « Grands Voisins » in Paris with the collectif « Au Nord ». 
You can to follow me on Instagram, Vimeo & Soundcloud. And also discover more in details on my web site & my bigcartel. 
A mon atelier chez les Grands Voisins à Paris avec le collectif Au Nord. 
Vous pouvez également me suivre sur Instagram, Vimeo ou encore Soundcloud. 
Si vous voulez découvrir plus en détail mon travail il y a aussi mon site & mon bigcartel. 
 
What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me? 
Roller coaster, impossible to move.
Des montagnes russes, impossible de les déplacer.  
Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story?
Caroline Mercier, singer and Isabelle Cochereau, artist.
How can you contact me?
Thanks to my mail gabriellejarzynski@icloud.com 
Leave a Reply

