The Heroine’s Journey of Sabrina Cadini

1) What is the best thing that I love about my work? 
The creative and emotional aspects. These can be found throughout the event and wedding planning process with my clients: meeting and getting to know their story; creating a personalized vision for them that includes different elements and traditions; putting together all the little details that will bring the vision to life for a memorable experience; being part of their special day. I still cry when the bride walks down the aisle or during the first dance!

2) What is my idea of perfect happiness? 
I think happiness is a temporary state. I consider optimism a very important disposition because it’s responsible for your happiness. Optimist people see the positive side of things or situations in their life and, by doing so, they’re more inclined to find a positive solution that will generate happiness.

3) What is my greatest fear? 
Losing people I love (family members, friends) due to disease or accidents. I feel this is something that I can’t control or prevent and it makes me anxious.

4) What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? 
Perfectionism. It gets in the way too often. I’m becoming better at this thanks to live video that I added to my marketing strategy a couple of years ago. Live streaming made me realize that making mistakes and being vulnerable actually creates better relationships with my community / clients

5) Which living persons in my profession do I most admire?
Inspiring, charismatic and creative people. One in particular is Sasha Souza, founder of Sasha Souza Events. She is passionate about color (like me), she is a constant innovator in our industry, and her bubbly personality (I saw her speak at a couple of conferences) is contagious.

6) What is my greatest extravagance? 
I’m a tireless nail lacquer collector. Every season I buy the latest collections and I have all the bottles on display organized by color. Funny thing, I rarely wear colored nail polish!

7) On what occasion would I lie?
I might be lying to my clients on their event or wedding day if something doesn’t go as planned. It happened rarely in my career (I attribute this to careful and thorough planning) but, in some cases, I had to deal with emergencies or last-minute changes and my clients never knew about it. Part of my job is to provide a memorable experience for my clients and, on those occasions, I put on my “game” face, kept calm and did what was needed to bring everything back to normal.

8) What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? 
I find myself working seven days a week: event planning Monday through Friday, event management and meetings with clients during the weekend.I usually take Mondays off but I’m still working on something for my business. Thankfully, I’m very good at taking breaks and dedicating time to myself every day.

9) When and where was I the happiest, in my work? 
Every day brings new happy moments. These could be meeting new people, reaching new goals, starting new challenges and working on new exciting projects for my clients. One of the reasons why I love my job is that every day is different and it brings variety to my work flow.

10) If I could, what would I change about myself? 
I would probably dare more. I’m extremely cautious and respectful of people and sometimes this stops me from taking risks and pushing my limits.

11) What is my greatest achievement in work? 
Being considered a role model in my community and in the industry, this means I inspire others and help them become a better professional.

12) Where would I most like to live?
I like the hectic pace of a big city (I’m originally from Milan, Italy) however, sometimes I dream about on a peaceful island in the middle of the ocean where time stops. I think living in San Diego is a good compromise: it’s laid back, it has warm weather year round and beautiful scenery and, at the same time, I enjoy its vibrant culture and eclectic neighborhoods.

13) What is my most treasured possession?
I have to admit, my tech tools! Phone, tablet, computer – I would be lost without them! I use them every single day for both of my jobs (event planning and business coaching). I truly enjoy technology: it brings us closer (I communicate with a lot of clients online via virtual meetings) and it makes our lives easier when used in the right way.

14) What is my most marked characteristic?
I think my smile, it works in any situation

15) What is my most inspirational location, in my city? 
I serve on the board of the San Diego Botanic Garden, a non-profit organization in North San Diego that features different natural habitats with plants from all over the world. I’m the event producer for their Gala every September and, whenever I’m there, I feel extremely inspired. I love being surrounded by nature and that location is definitely on top of my list.

16) What is my favorite place to eat and drink, in my city?
A few years ago I made some changes to my lifestyle including foods that I eat. I’m very careful to avoid sugar, gluten and dairy in order to feel better and increase my productivity. There’s a tight connection between body and mind and, by following basic principles, you can feel and perform better in your personal, business and physical areas. Life-work balance tips are included in all my business coaching programs.
With that in mind, it’s always quite challenging to find a place where I can comfortably order food however, Tender Greens never disappoints! It’s a restaurant chain that focuses on the farm to fork philosophy with local and fresh products. Their salads are fantastic!

17) What books influenced my life and how?
Le Petit Prince (The Little Prince) holds a special place in my heart. I first read it while studying French in high school and I fell in love with it. Even though it’s considered a children’s book, it is filled with a lot of wisdom that we, as adults, should listen to more often. It taught me to look at things with the eyes of a child: always willing to learn, being inspired, removing judgment or attitude, using imagination and creativity, appreciating the simple things in life.

18) Who are my favorite writers?
~Francis Scott Fitzgerald
~Isabel Allende
~Andrea De Carlo

19) You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day?
I would probably go with a classical piece such as the ethereal Claire De Lune by Claude Debussy.

20) Who is my hero or heroine in fiction?
I have a favorite actress who brought different heroines to life in her movies: Audrey Hepburn. She embodied timeless class and style. She was fun, brilliant, elegant, talented, and generous. I loved her in different roles throughout her career from Holly Golightly in Breakfast at Tiffany’s to Sabrina (my name – a coincidence?) in Sabrina, Ann in Roman Holiday (which got her an Oscar), Eliza Dolittle in My Fair Lady, and more.

21) Who are my heroes and heroines in real life?
My mother has always been a huge role model: she is a strong woman but also very caring, loving, giving. She taught me invaluable lessons about life, family, career. I learned how to be grateful, forgive others, value family, and to be a person of integrity.

22) Which movie would I recommend to see once in a lifetime?
So many choices! I’m currently more and more attracted to Wes Anderson’s movies for their unique and distinctive visual style. My favorite one is The Grand Budapest Hotel for its fabulous cast and characters, settings, story, and music.

23) What role plays art in my life and work?
Art is inspiration for my work whether it’s from architecture, music, dance, painting, writing, photography. When I design an event or wedding for a client I always try to involve all the senses with color, sounds, textures, flavors, and I draw inspiration from different forms of art.

24) Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, and partner in crime? 
My husband has definitely been very supportive throughout my career, he’s been encouraging me in difficult times and celebrating me in good times. The life of an entrepreneur is not easy and he’s always been by my side

25) Whom would I like to work with in 2017? 
Being an event planner, I would like to be part of a huge production such as the Academy Awards and their after parties.

26) Which people in my profession would I love to meet in 2017?
One of my dreams is to put together a tour where I get to meet and mingle with event and wedding professionals in different countries. It would be very useful to see where we stand and give tools / ideas / solutions to improve our best practices and raise the bar in our industry.

27) What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on?
I’m working on a couple of online courses for wedding professionals: “How to achieve life-work balance in our busy day” and “How to create a foolproof wedding day timeline”

28) Where can you see me or my work in 2017?
My websites:
Event / Wedding planning – http://ladolceidea.us / Blog: http://ladolceidea.wordpress.com
Business coaching – http://sabrinacadini.com / Blog: http://sabrinacadini.com/blog
I will be speaking at the upcoming Let’s Plan Conference in Florida between July 18-19, 2017 on The Importance About Vendor Relationships

29) What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me?
I completely agree! If you’re not passionate about what you do you will never achieve your goals. This is true especially for entrepreneurs who, like me, own their business and they’re responsible 100% about it. We are our business, we create opportunities for our business, and we let it flourish if we have the passion. It’s a passion to solve our clients’ problems, it’s a passion to inspire others, it’s a passion to satisfy our dreams, it’s a passion to change the world thanks to our skills and services or products.

How can you contact me?

*Event / Wedding Planning*
Website: http://LaDolceIdea.us
Email: sabrina@ladolceidea.us
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/ladolceidea
Instagram: http://www.instagram.com/ladolceideaweddings
Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/ladolceidea

*Business Coaching for Wedding Entrepreneurs*
Website: http://SabrinaCadini.com
Email: sabrina@sabrinacadini.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/sabrinacadinicoaching
Periscope: http://www.periscope.tv/sabrinacadini
Twitter: http://twitter.com/sabrinacadini
Instagram: http://www.instagram.com/sabrinacadini
Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/sabrinacadini
Snapchat: http://www.snapchat.com/add/sabrinacadini
LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/in/sabrinacadini
YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/sabrinacadini

BOOK
Co-Author, “Insiders Know-How: Running Your Own Business (Thought Leaders Edition)”
My chapter is titled “Learn to love your body for maximum productivity”
http://sabcad.link/bk16a

Leave a Reply

