The Heroine’s Journey of Elisabetta Piras

What is the best thing that I love about my job? The best thing that I love about my job is that it is different every day. Sometimes I’m focused on only one aspect of my job, whether it is teaching music, concerts or writing articles, but it’s never such a long time to get tired of it.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? Perhaps it is something that can be defined as “freedom”: doing what you want to do, when you want, with whom you want, where you want …

What is my greatest fear? Look at me in the mirror and not recognize me, not just physically, but also in a metaphorical way, psychologically and in behavior.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? Impulse, unfortunately I am not diplomatic. Over time, I noticed I was capable of having a fairly efficacious relationship, but only in situations that are congenial to me. In situations of real concern I can not mediate between what I think and what is diplomatically correct to say and act, even though theoretically it is clear to me !!!

What living people in my profession do I most admire? It’s hard to say …. we should define what we mean with “admiration” …. I really admire my teachers, those who taught me the things that make the musician, the musicologist, the teacher who I am; I admire their craft and their professionalism. I admire a lot of musicians with completely different features, who may not have the same artistic consistency, but with intelligence strike every projects they undertake. Not least, I also admire those musicians who believe in arduous projects, or explore new techniques and themes, or work with limits, therefore they study and engage more and better than others. It’s always admiration, but it’s a different type of admiration.

What is my greatest extravagance? I often change words, modify names of people and things, adapt proverbs, then I use it all naturally, creating new ways to say.

On what occasion would I lie? I could lie to protect someone I love, or to make not suffer anyone I care about. Sometimes these two things coincide …

What is the thing that I dislike most in my job? I don’t like having to persuade constantly people that music, especially in its performance aspect, is a real job for me. The didactic aspect is recognized more easily, even in the regularity of an economic feed-back, but not always in the depths and in the values that this incarnates.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? The moments of greatest happiness in my work were those in which I had the opportunity to play with others and to travel.

If I could, what would I change about myself? I cannot think of something isolated I would change about myself…at least not something profound…. often think I want to change something in my lifestyle, for example being more punctual, quitting smoking … Small things that sometimes annoy people around me.

What is my greatest achievement in work? I can not say, every time it seems to me to have reached a goal, this moves away. Every time I do something important, after just inserting it into my cv, it seems to me a normal thing. To be honest, at the moment I consider my greatest achievement to be in the state to refuse works that I do not like.

Where would I most like to live? In a seaside city.

What is my most treasured possession? My big big big Petrof piano….my parents gave it to me when I was very young.

What are my most marked features? I think I have two marked characteristic: the first one is a sort of sarcasm, that allows me to overcome, in a playful way, what is difficult for me to deal with, or that annoys me, or that makes me suffer; The second is the determination, somewhat selective, but when present, very marked.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? At the moment I live for long periods in Turin, here my inspirational place is the riverside, just below my lodging. I spend long periods in two other cities: in Cagliari, my home town, where my place of inspiration is the immense and beautiful beach of my city, and Bologna, where my place of inspiration is Piazza Santo Stefano, a beautiful medieval square.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? When I’m in Turin, I love going to an old, family-run winery on the suburbia, where it’s possible to drink their own wine and eat typical and good Piedmont food … a very informal place … very relaxing ….

What books influenced my life and how? I read a lot, both for work in musicology and for the pleasure of doing so. Many books have influenced my life, both humanly and professionally, the book of philosopher Umberto Galimberti titled “Il corpo” (“The body”) has recently impressed me. The book intriguingly deepens the role of the body in relation to human history, culture and psychology. Somehow, subtly, it has changed my way of seeing people around me, feeling them and understanding them. Besides this, the way the book is written, the way of argumentation, have given me a new impetus in deepening the social issues that I think.

Who are my favorite writers? I do not have any favorite writers, I tend to love books in themselves …. I have not met yet a writer who did not disappoint me with a book …

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day? All four Brahms Symphonies.

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction? Maureen O’Hara in “Gone with the wind”.

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life? I do not really think about somebody’s terms of heroism.

Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime? The Lord of the Rings

What role plays art in my life and work? Being a musician, music clearly has a totalizing role in my life. Besides that, I try to keep in mind all the artistic expressions, both in aesthetic and existential terms.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? Certainly my friend / sister with whom I share many things and many crimes since university time

Whom would I like to work with in 2017? With a singer, with wind instruments

Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017? I would like to meet a good manager, someone who can give me effective advice to enhance my projects.

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on? I look forward to work on the new phase of the research project I have been working on for two years, on the implications of the relationship between music and movement in relation to learning music

Where can you see me or my work in 2017? In the near future, in Italy in chamber music concerts in duo and other wind instruments ensemble; in Spain and Portugal to present my researches

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me? This sentence means for me that passion, if true, is never tired, because it regenerates with experiences and interest, and above all in the quality of the actions with which it is expressed.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story? I think it’s nice to know about heroines dealing with so many things, that have an idea of art expressing various types of activity.

How can you contact me? The easiest and most immediate way is the social network, the one I use most is facebook

Leave a Reply

