The Heroine’s Journey of Marie – Pierre Durand

What is the best thing that I love about my work? The best thing that I love about my work is seeing my models smiling when they leave the shooting set, or when they are moved by the work we had done.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? The secret of the happiness it’s to learn to forgive oneself and the others. For me it’s the only way to peace.

What is my greatest fear? I am afraid of not living enough.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? My huge lack of discretion.

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire? I admire the sensibility of Harley Weir, the eccentricity of Tim Walker, And the softness of Vivianne Sassen. And a lot of other artists…

What is my greatest extravagance? Be able to have completely crazy dreams and remember them in the morning.

On what occasion would I lie? Sometimes I lie in order to impress people, but must of the time, it’s just exaggeration.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? The lack of consideration towards photographer’s job

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? I remember a day, in Dakar, when I took the last photography of my project in front of the sunset, I was surrounded by my models and we were happy together. I thought… This is the best part of my job.

If I could, what would I change about myself? My childhood

What is my greatest achievement in work? My biggest achievement is “Dakar Fashion Trip”, a photo report realized in 2016 for the visibility of the African women in the advertising.

Where would I most like to live? Everywhere, as long as it faces the sea

What is my most treasured possession? I have not.

What is my most marked characteristic? Hypersensitivity

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? My bed

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? Anywhere my friends are

What books influenced my life and how? « Le petit prince cannibale » a book written by Françoise Lefèvre, she wrote a beautiful portrait of his son, who is autistic. She wrote the pain and the beauty of the most absolute love we can feel for somebody. This book inspired me a lot.

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day? « requiem pour un fou » a wonderful song written in 1976 by Johnny Hallyday.

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction? I don’t have heroes (…)

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life? (…)except in real life, and I call her « Mom ».

Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime? « Mister Nobody » by Jaco Van Dormael

What role plays art in my life and work? Art repairs.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? I don’t have greatest fan, or sponsor, but my best partner in crime is my photographer friend Louise Carrasco.

Whom would I like to work with in 2017? I would like to work with all the interesting people I already met and the others I’ll met this year.

Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017? I would really love to meet Jean-Charles de Castelbajac, even if it’s not a photographer.

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on? I have a collaborative project with a friend designer and a project about the separation of a couple.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017? In my website : http://www.marie-pierredurand.fr

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me? It means that : As long as there is life, there is a hope. And as long as there is a hope, the passion survives.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story? My very creative friends : Tom Peyton ( French designer ), Louise Carrasco (photographer ), Anyfa Chanfiou and Anais Rogers.

How can you contact me? You can contact me by telepathy or by mail at : mariep.durand@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

