The Heroine’s Journey of Serena Potter

What is the best thing that I love about my work?

What I love best about my work is that I learn something from each new piece, whether about myself or my process.

What is my idea of perfect happiness?

My concept of perfect happiness changes depending on my needs at the time. After an exceptionally busy time teaching and in my studio, perfect happiness is renting a lovely flat, overlooking the Thames River, in a village outside of London, where I can sip tea, return to mindfulness by watching the steady flow of the current, or walk through the village, and explore the countryside. Perfect happiness is a combination of quiet, rest, exploration and discovery.

What is my greatest fear?

My greatest fear is being average.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself?

The trait I most deplore in myself is my tendency to beat myself up when my body forces me to rest.

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire?

Kathryn Jacobi is an artist who I greatly admire for her work ethic and her diversity of creative mediums. She is a great force, in a petite form.

What is my greatest extravagance?

My greatest extravagance is iced soy latte’s, and vintage handbags.

On what occasion would I lie?

I have a tendency to speak candidly, to the point that I am sure I have made others uncomfortable. The only time I might lie, is if the truth is hurtful or harmful and non essential for the other person.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work?

I don’t dislike anything in my work.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work?

I am the happiest in my process, when I have resolved the hurdles, and can step back and put on the finishing touches, pushing and pulling value, punching in a little saturation or detail, leading the eye through the composition.

If I could, what would I change about myself?

What would I change about myself, well, my nose is a bit crooked…

Where would I most like to live?

I think Southern California is a great place to be an artist. We need more higher end gallery and exhibition opportunities for representational artists, but the community here is great. I love where I live, as long as I can travel.

What is my most treasured possession?

My most treasured possession…no idea really. It’s all just stuff in the end.

What is my most marked characteristic?

My most marked characteristic is my effervescent personality, ha!

What is my most inspirational location, in my city?

My most inspirational location in my city is my bed.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city?

My favorite place to eat or drink in Fullerton is Dripp for coffee, Pepe’s for potato tacos.

What books influenced my life and how?

Gone with the Wind, a book and movie that taught me to never give up! Scarlet wasn’t always smart, but she had passion. I read all the time, audio books in my car and studio, hard cover in bed. Awakening by Kate Chopin really moved me, and was in part the inspiration for a painting by the same name, can view on my website. It is an early feminist novel, about a woman who rebells against the rolls that society has assigned to her. I’ve always been a bit of a rebel.

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day?

I would listen to my daughter playing the violin.

Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime?

Everyone should see The More The Merrier. It is the funniest movie of all time and we all need to laugh.

What role plays art in my life and work?

I teach art and when not teaching art I am creating art or thinking about creating art. So…a big role.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime?

My husband is my greatest partner in crime. He understands my process, my need for space, my need for a long drive to work out ideas, my need for help with photoshoots, scouting out locations and objects for my references.

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on?

I have been working up to a particular painting for about six years now. I had the idea, but not the complete vision or the skill to pull it off. I am finally ready to do this painting. The composition is nearly ready. The unveiling will take place in January 2018.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017?

You can see my work at the Neutra Institute Museum in June, at Arcadia Gallery in Culver City in December, and always online at serenapotter.com Studio visits are welcome, just send me an email to arrange a time. Follow me on instagram at serena_muse

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me?

Passion never retires…it changes as we change and respond to the shifts in our life story, but it’s always there in one form or another.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story?

Cynthia Sitton is a real artist heroine. Her story is one of overcoming many challenges and done so with grace.

 

Leave a Reply

