The Heroine’s Journey of Dulce Stein

What is the best thing that I love about my work? I love The Flow. When I am curating I am in an altered space of my own, where I listen only to the art and my heart.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? Pursuit. The idea that I can work hard to accomplish something I want is my idea of happiness.

What is my greatest fear? Suffering of others. To know that people are suffering and not be able to do anything about it. The lack of compassion.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? my disdain for money.

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire? I admire all creatives minds. No favorites yet.

What is my greatest extravagance? I buy art materials but I am not an artist. I just collect them.

On what occasion would I lie? I lie to myself only when I know I must. I do not lie to others, including my children. This is a difficult trait to live with.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? The money part. I wish I had a venue where I could offer exhibiting space and studio space to artists for free!

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? I have been my happiest at The Neutra Museum Gallery in Silver Lake California, where I have exhibiting space to over a thousand artists so far.

If I could, what would I change about myself? I would change nothing. Change comes with time. I admire all the hard work that over time has change who I am today.

What is my greatest achievement in work? My discipline. I have learn how to be effective curator by trial and error as well as intensive and active hands on work. My greatest achievement/gift is my passion.

Where would I most like to live? I love the home where my children grew up in. I would love to stay in that home.

What is my most treasured possession? The love for my children.

What is my most marked characteristic? My courage to overcome obstacles and tragedies.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? DTLA bright lights as I see them when I travel on the freeways.

What is my favorite place to eat and drink, in my city? My favorite dive bar is a place called The Game. My favorite restaurant is The Pantry.

What books influenced my life and how? As a child I would read only the classics, the bible and word by word of the dictionary. Now I love to read psychology/science./vampires

Who are my favorite writers? Ann Rice

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day? Madonna

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction? Lestat or Lasher by Ann Rice I also like Ann of Green Gables. Who are my heroes and heroines in real life? I admire all people.

Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime? The Notebook

What role plays art in my life and work? Art plays every role in my life. It is my father, my mother, my friend, my children, my lover, my doctor and my home.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? Dion Neutra my sponsor, Marko axt my parten in crime, my family are my greatest fans and helpers.

Whom would I like to work with in 2017? EVERYBODY! I look forward in working with all those that come to The Neutra!

Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017? I am always delighted to meet new people. Each new friend brings a new opportunity or a new idea.

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on? I am working in several “secret” projects at The time BUT I am looking forward of Talking Art L.A launching 2017 via youtube!

Where can you see me or my work in 2017? You can find me curating at The Neutra Museum Gallery Tuesday and Thursdays from 4-8 PM 2379 Glendale Blv. Silver Lake

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me? What those words mean to me.. Passion is my a heart beat, curating is my passion.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story? Sheere Rose, Betty Brown, Maria Palacios… so many of them. I think Peter should invite everyone! There is a heroine/ hero in each one of all of us!

How can you contact me? You can contact Dulce Stein at dulcenstein@yahoo.com

Leave a Reply

