The Heroine’s Journey of Robyn Alatorre

What is the best thing that I love about my work? When I am painting, I lose myself in the process of creating. I forget all about my frustrations and hardships in my “other life.” Everything disappears except the canvas in front of me.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? A paintbrush in my hand and an impending creative challenge.

What is my greatest fear? My greatest fear is that I am the person that I chastise and criticize during periods of insecurity.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? I dislike my perfectionism, and the idea that I cannot immediately achieve my artistically technical ideal.

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire? I worship the technical abilities of Alex Gross and Ron English.

What is my greatest extravagance? Buying “series 4” paint and kolinsky sable brushes.

On what occasion would I lie? I would lie if it would help someone I love.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? I never seem to have enough time to complete the projects in a timely manner.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? Right now.

If I could, what would I change about myself? I would like to shut off the inner hyper-critical voice inside of me.

What is my greatest achievement in work? When I complete a painting that I feel I have done my best in every aspect of the creation process.

Where would I most like to live? If it weren’t for the incredible opportunities I have in Los Angeles, I would live in Rome or Paris.

What is my most treasured possession? Artwork that my son and daughter created when they were growing up, and gave to me.

What is my most marked characteristic? This is easy, my weirdness and wild imagination.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? Any gallery where stunning and original work is displayed. When I feel the creative energy of another artist, nothing inspires me more.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? I have a great fondness for ethnic food of the most uncommon variety.

What books influenced my life and how? Other than my favorite classics (To Kill a Mockingbird, Lolita, or just about anything from Kurt Vonnegut) I am a science fiction fanatic. My most treasured reading experience is when a sci fi author is able to create outrageous scenarios all in the context of a new reality based on the foundation of science. I create paintings in the same manner: building a new world based on classical painting techniques.

Who are my favorite writers? Kurt Vonnegut

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day? This is corny, but I get all emotional when Don McLean’s Vincent is played. Other than that, I’d like to listen to something upbeat and danceable.

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction? Scout Finch—that child has some big ovaries!

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life? My husband, my parents, my true close friends.

Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime? When I saw American Beauty, by myself in a theatre and on the cusp of my forties, it came to represent a turning point in my life—one in which I allowed myself to be my own person. This is when I forgot about what was “practical” and became an artist.

What role plays art in my life and work? It makes life and work meaningful.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? It is not all the same person. It would be my mom, my husband, and my best friend.

Whom would I like to work with in 2017? I would like to collaborate with other surrealists.

Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017? Alex Gross

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on? I am working on a dual piece with a good friend. She is doing a portrait based on her Mexican American background, and I am doing the same with my urban-waspy background.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017? Apart from this show at the Neutra, I’ll be showing and the The Hive, bG Gallery, and I’m waiting to hear from other places!

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me? We are compelled to do the things that our soul is craving.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story? There are so may creative heroines in this show in which this interview is based on. I am sure Peter will be amazed with their stories.

How can you contact me? See my website: robynalatorre.com; reach me by email at robynala@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

